We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in Costa Rica!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Howler Monkey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Cabuya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was amazing! It isn't fancy, but it's comfortable, clean, and RELAXED! From the moment we got to the hotel we felt like we were home. (If home was on the beach and had monkeys swinging overhead!) We only wished that we could have stayed longer.
Jim (the owner) was friendly and helpful...his relaxed and kickbacked demeanor helps create the atmosphere of hanging out in your best friends backyard.
The pool was refreshing, the views spectacular, and the room was clean and comfortable. There wasn't a tv, or air conditioning. But who goes on vacation to a beautiful country like Costa Rica to sit in their room and watch tv?? As for air conditioning, we did what the Costa Rican people do...we opened the windows and turned on the fans...was comfortable in no time!
The hotel was just far enough out of town to get away from the "crowds" but close enough to drive into town for dinner and our scuba diving tour. It truly was a little slice of heaven!
The people that have posted negative reviews on here need to get their heads checked! This hotel was perfect! If they want all of the ridiculous unnecessary comforts of home while in another country, maybe they should stay home and watch the Discovery channel. Or perhaps go to one of those all inclusive hotels that cater to the spoiled Americans. Go there and stay on the resort, and don't you dare leave the resort...you might accidentally soak up some cultural experiences...
Thank you for your hospitality Jim! We had the best time...staying at your hotel was one of the highlights of our trip!
Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The cabin in front of the pool has the best view of the ocean!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaBruney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for The Howler Monkey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 184 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place was great! The cabins where awesome consisting of a fully equipt kitchen,3pc bath, and sleeping for at least 6 in some cabins The view from your bedroom is so beautifully tropical you feel like your in a postcard The owner is very friendly and willing to accomondate.The experience of waking up to the monkeys in the morning is forever branded in my memory as one of those stories you tell friends about your holidays.And if your looking for a little more excitement at nite you can just head over to Motezuma.Remember your in the jungle Baby!
Thanks for memories Jim Kathy

Room Tip: This beach is on the rocky side....bring some water shoes
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

For those of you that like to get native when you travel.... I wish there was a hotel like this in more than just the Nicoya Peninsula, Costa Rica. The Howler Monker Hotel in Cabuya is a dream come true. Jim the owner lives on the premises and you're damned lucky when he's around. He makes everything on his property available to you, snorkeling gear, surfboard, spearguns, bicycles, four-wheelers, etc, but he is a world of knowledge on the entire peninsula, offering a full education on trees, plants, fruits, insects, wildlife, and just how to live in the jungle. NO charge!
Each cabina is like a mini apartment. Your bedroom is a spacious a-frame above your open kitchen, dining area, and bathroom. The bedroom has a little dresser for your things and a fantastic overhead fan that surprisingly makes it chilly throughout the night, which always makes me sleep better. There are monkeys, iguanas, hundreds of parrots, ducks, chickens, and one chick I might add, as well as his dog Roxanna that frequently pass you by as you lay out on the hammock, or sit poolside. It's never too hot around the room as there are beautiful trees shading your spot, and just beyond them, about twenty paces, is your very own beach. Here the sun rises just for you and you'll hear the entire jungle around you wake up together as it lights up the day.
The pool was immaculate and did not feel like there was a drop of chlorine in it. We were able to walk easily to either the Super David or Super Chico (Two grocery stores) both of which we wouldn't have known about without Jim. He also took us to a farmer's market on Friday in Cobano so that we were able to cook locally the whole time we were there. It was really satisfying to open all of the shutters and just cook some vegetables in an open kitchen while listening to the birds and monkeys hang right outside above you. Also with the four-wheelers you can take the main road just about four miles to Montezuma for a good time, some yoga, and some overpriced trinkets for those that you left in your hometown.
The Cabo Blanco Reserve might be the closest main attraction to the Howler Monkey hotel and so worth it. After you enter the reserve, it's about an hour to get all the way down the sueco trail to the private white sand beach but absolutely breath-taking. You can reward yourself with a delicious smoothie and or dessert from a wonderful bakery called La Panaderia just down from the hotel and on the way to Cabo Blaco. They might have made the best smoothies I've ever had.
There's a local fisherman named Tito, who comes by the hotel selling a fresh catch just when you're thinking about what to do for dinner. Jim will set you up with a nice fire and foil to put on top of the grill and it's almost as if you caught the fish yourself and are prepared to live like this for a good long time. Jim may ask for a piece but he'll hook you up with a cold beer or even better a howler monkey cocktail, but he'll keep you laughing and remembering why you came to paradise in the first place. He's never forgotten.

Room Tip: There's no one room that is better than others. It depends on how many people you are traveling...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay a few days with your family and visit the Nicoya peninsula. The place is not a 5 stars hotel, and I have to admit that we threw away a rusty bowl for cutlery. Other than that, and unlike what I read from other visitors, we found the place perfectly clean, including the cabin, the shower and the swimming pool. We were there in July 2012, a couple and 2 kids, and had a great time, despite the spiders, crabs and other crawly little things. If you hate bugs, monkeys, birds, coconuts, kayaking, wonderful sunrises over the ocean, not being surrounded by people that look and think like you… in other words, if you hate the jungle and the best Costa Rica can offer you, do not go there. Do not miss Cabo Blanco, just a few miles from Cabuya. We met a great guide in Montezuma, Armando Castro (tel: 86 54 23 92), who took us through Cabo Blanco and around Montezuma. He is particularly good at interacting with kids. Last, but not least, Jim the owner of the Howler Monkey, is a really charming and I would say rather original Irish man. He is always available to help you out with anything and to share with a coffee or a good conversation about life, science, music, monkeys, the ocean and all those things that matter when you are in place like this.

Room Tip: The cabin in front of the swimming pool has a great view, otherwise the one on the right is very goo...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Santi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The people rating this place as terrible are missing the whole point of the adventure. Go back to Club Med or visit a zoo if you want the mall experience. Cabuya is a quiet town and with the exception of the wildlife, the hotel is very tranquil. Jim has kayaks, bikes, and masks/snorkels for use which we took advantage of to explore some amazing fish off of Isla Cabuya. We kept the windows open and woke up with the sunrise and the sound of dropping fruit from the monkeys in the trees overhead. I highly recommend it for the adventurous traveler who doesn't need things to be spotless.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calijewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights can honestly say that they were the most relaxing three nights of our trip. When I read the other negative reviews of this place, I immediately know that the people who wrote them are not people I'd like to travel with. We obviously have different opinions about what acceptable levels of comfort are. "No towel swans on the bed" - this is seriously how you're going to judge your stay?

This a perfectly peaceful place to stay, aside from the howler monkey alarm clock : ) Jim was a gracious, interesting, and down-to-earth host He made us feel right at home, and then got out of our hair. The cabinas had exactly what you need, and nothing else.

If you want to stay somewhere that feels off the beaten tourist track, where you can take a leisurely evening stroll along quite local roads to small restaurants for dinner and come back to slip into the pool and listen to the howler monkeys settle in for the evening, this is the place for you.

If you're seeking some over-sanitized resort experience, with gleaming chrome and towel swans on the bed, better keep looking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennislees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Oh My God, first off, we had the A frame, directly in front of the swimming pool, beyond which was the ocean. The place itself is located in a quiet area, with terrific sights and sounds. The beds were comfortable and clean, the kitchen adequate and the bathroom clean and everything worked fine. I slept there last night so I assure you my perception of the place has not changed because time has passed by. Jim is such a chill guy. He has kayaks, bikes and other recreational equipment you can use free of charge, which is a huge bonus because everywhere else they charge you for everything, including using the bathroom, no exaggeration. Im reading some of these other reviews and I am just baffled. Like I said, I was there yesterday and yes there is a bathroom, there is a bbq area. And seriously Swans on beds?? really? If you want a place that is not going to have insects crawling around I suggest you look elsewhere, actually I suggest you stay in San Jose and not venture out anywhere unless it is to one of those Golf clubs. But if you want a feal of the real Costa Rica, that Pura Vida that is so advertised go here. There may be insects around, he has bug spray, ask for it. You dont find something adequate, ask for it, Jim is always around. Our only regret is that we could not spend more time here, we spent the night before in Montezuma, which turned out to be a complete waste of time and money. Definately go here, and please be prepared to go into Nature and not a disney park, enjoy your travels ;)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
0.4 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
418 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
575 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howler Monkey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howler Monkey Hotel

Address: El Yugo, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cabuya
Price Range: $43 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howler Monkey Hotel is located in Cabuya, a few minutes from Montezuma. Each cabin is located around the refreshing pool, just a few metres from the beach. It is walking distance to Cabuya Island, a unique cemetary island. Cabuya has 2 grocery stores and a few restaurants within walking distance. We offer four cabinas with an ocean view, a private bathroom, a private kitchen, fans and nice outdoor dining patios with hammocks. Free wifi, laundry and parking are included. Guests can also use the hotel snorkel gear, kayaks, surfboards and bicycles. You can enjoy your day lounging in your hammock, around the pool or take a short walk through the plants and flowers on the hotel grounds to the beach and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Howler Monkey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howler Monkey Hotel Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing