We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Dragon Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragon Inn Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nice design, but poor maintenance. The air cond takes quite long to cool the room. There were garbages floating around the resort. The aquarium also not maintained well. The worst thing is, the wifi is not free!! RM20 for 1 day of wifi access is a little bit to much for me. Breakfast was ok..dont expect too much staying in this hotel. I would recommend to stay not more than 1 day..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mny1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 131 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Itz on of my fav style hotel.... Tis plc sumthing difnt from other hotel.the room n all furniture made by wood only....simple n great things. I just chose to be in sea side view room.itz center of d hotel.infnt of my room got a smal balcony n slping chair....omg i realy enjoying my day thr..spcly at nite..... Itz realy best plc to budget people.thy can get a great things { price cheap but d view of room n hotel lik luxury }. Dont forget to taste seafood near tis hotel...there got along chinese seafood shops u must taste it. Dont wry itz halal shops.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I just stayed a night at there. Overall the hotel is nice, view is great, don't put too much expectation for the breakfast, no free wifi.
As Semporna just a small town, so nothing much to see and walk around there. Don't worry about dinner, there are plenty of restaurant near to Giant, especially the restaurant opposite to Guardian. the seafood is cheap and delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We booked 2 nights in the dorm but decided to leave first thing in the morning. What a horrible place. The matrass is thin and dirty, the boards of the bed are broken and the lights outside are so bright it looks like it is daytime during the night.

For 1 big room with 30 or so beds, there is 1 Fan (big) on top of the ceiling. It was so warm!
Oh and I did not mention anything about the SMELL... The Dragon Inn floats above the water and everything is open. Semporna is a dirty town you can imagine how the water smells and what happens at night.

Room Tip: Maybe the other rooms are better, but I should go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

By Borneo's standards, this hotel is quite pricey but the rooms are lovely - spacious and all wood, sleeping above the water is relaxing. The ensuite is half open-air and it's nice to shower on a wooden deck over the sea.
The wifi is terribly expensive.
We didn't realise there is nothing to do in Semporna itself and wouldn't have booked more than one night here before going to Mabul island if we'd done better research. I recommend not hanging around here but if you have to, Dragon Inn is just outside of the busier centre a 10 minute walk away which ensures peaceful sleep and prettier views.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel provides basic amenities yet slightly comfortable enough to sleep. The food was not so great but there's plenty of choices that you could choose from for ala carte. Breakfast was pretty lousy. They only served 2 hard boiled eggs and toasts for each person. My friends and I only stayed for a night here before going to Mabul Island.

There were some souvenir shops at the hotel but the price was quite expensive. Besides, it was kind of a long walk to reach the lobby so please bear with it if you have large baggage.

WIFI was definitely not free. You have to pay RM6 for 1 hour, RM13 for 3 hours or RM20 for 1 day.

It was sad to see garbage floating around and being a nature lover would make you feel guilty having to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fir3bolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

If not really necessary, don't stay in Semporna. It's a dirty and stinking city, full of rubbish everywhere; the floating hotel Dragon Inn is safely far from the worst part of the city, it's quite new and the rooms are wide and clean but....the city is dirty and cockroaches and mice come until here as well! Be careful!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dariaindub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
0.2 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
18.9 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
414 reviews
0 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
2.3 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Inn Resort

Address: P.O.Box 168 | Jalan Kastam, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Price Range: $41 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Semporna
Dragon Resort Semporna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing