We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel to stay in Semporna!”
Review of Sipadan Inn 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sipadan Inn 2
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Reviewed January 18, 2013

All hotels/hostels in Semporna are within walking distance to each other. When you get to sea-front town of Semporna, it will be easy to find the place you reserved.
This is Sipadan Inn 2, which is different from "Sipadan Inn".
It has about 10 rooms with balcony facing the water.
We paid a premium, still acceptable, for 4 nights stay in sea-view room.
On the balcony, there are two chairs and a small table for you to enjoy the sea view, which is exactly the same as the hotel pictures offered.
The room is cozy and tidy.
As you came here mainly for scuba diving/snorkeling, staying somewhere comfortable is quite important for energy recovery.
Maybe next time I travel to Semporna, I will choose to stay on an island. But I would absolutely recommend Sipadan Inn 2 if you prefer to stay on land and take daily boat trip to visit different islands.

Tips: Public transportation is not available from Tauwu airport to Semporna. It will be best to reserve a van for pick-up thru the place you stay. If you fail to do so, you can also try your luck to walk out of airport to share the vehicle with others.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea-view are the best choice but it will be very noisy with the glass door open when spee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiongjiayue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 76 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

In the first night we had a standard double room with sea view which was ok, clean, mid size. We paid 150 RM.
In the second night, we changed to an executive double room which are much more spaceous and looks quite nice. With a discount we paid 170 RM.
Below the rooms are Restaurants on the seaside, not too noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnymab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

During our trip to Mabul Island we had to endure a night in Semporna, which was probably the worst town we have visited!

We managed to book ourselves into the Sipadan Inn 2 which is a good hotel, close to the waterfront and jetty. The staff we're quite young and noisy at times but helpful. The room was a good size with AC, The wifi only worked whilst in reception - This may not be the case for all the rooms.

If you unfortunately have to stay in Semporna for a night then this is a good option, but if you can I would skip this town and head straight to the islands.

Room Tip: Some rooms upstairs have balconies with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

During my stay in semporna I have been to many other different hotels but this one is the best.the staff is very friendly,rooms are really very clean.it is very close to jetty and diving stores.i can not say bad thing about this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is new, and not bad at all, we had a VIP room, we have booked by Agoda and it was not expensive. It is like an average 3 stars hotel by the European standards (this is hard to find in Semporna City!). To be honest, the city is ugly, dirty, smelling bad. The staff is young and friendly, the rooms are clean.
In the hotel there is some bad smell, but not so bad as in the nearby market! It is close to the jetty so it is good place to stay if you go for diving in the islands near Semporna.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My friends and I spent 10 nights staying in this hotel while on a diving expedition last month.

Paying RM100 per room (which is only RM50 each for two people sharing), this is indeed a value for money accomodation as it only cost approximately SGD$20 per person per night. You will definitely can't find any budget hotel like this price anywhere in Singapore!!!

Amenities may be simple and basic in this hotel, but at least the rooms are clean and hot showers are provided with 24hrs air-conditioning.

The room may be a bit small, but no complaints there since we are out most of our time doing dives in surrounding islands and are completely exhausted whenever we come back to the hotel.

What this hotel lack of, or in fact what Semporna town lack of, is a place for us to have a good body and feet massage!

The service staffs are also helpful, patient and friendly when we asked them for location of the ATMs, reccomendation of restaurants for dinner every night and also shops where we can get our mineral water and tidbits.

Definitely, a good place to stay with reasonable pricing in such a new, clean and good hotel!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea are nicer but more expensive than a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanatic_Diver84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I booked two rooms. They upgraded one to VIP because of a mistake/overbooking due to the Lepa Regatta Festival. The ordinary room has no view; i.e. windows facing interior. but the VIP one has balcony facing dragon inn and the sea. The view from here was superb, and I think the actual rate is not expensive. As we were in Semporna partly to watch Lepa Regatta (kind of festival of traditional boats), we could watch the event easily from our room. Breakfast is not served.

Snorkeling at Mabul and Kapalai island can be done as a day trip. Not quite for Sipadan as it has a limit of visitors and thus early booking is required; and expensive too.

Room Tip: Go for the VIP Room during Lepa Regatta. Even at other time, I think the scenery from the balcony is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAS3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
0.0 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
0.0 mi away
Wanderer's Inn
Wanderer's Inn
#1 of 8 in Semporna
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipadan Inn 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Inn 2

Address: Block B, Lot No. B11 - B14, Semporna 91307, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Price Range: $27 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sipadan Inn 2 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sipadan Inn 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing