We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great diving school”
Review of Big John Scuba

Big John Scuba
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Semporna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A small company with a BIG heart.. and passion for customer safety and satisfaction.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great diving school”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Awesome diving spots, very nice people, good instructors, diving gear in good condition, food is ok and rooms are basic.

Helpful?
5 Thank BasWonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    27
    6
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sibu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“He gives his 100% for your satisfaction”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We feel blessed that we heard about Big John scuba,
before going to Semporna we asked many questions by mail and he always reply very fast and clearly with great honesty, compare to other places that where evasive and more expensive.
We dive five days in a row with Usman his divemaster who has microscope insted of eyes, he spot the smallest stuff and is a very nice and professional man!
John just want to make you happy, he is aware that has is not the biggest company in Semporna, but he sure has the biggest talent to satisfied you.
John and Usman are a great team, we are going back to Semporna and there is no doubt that we will go dive with him. The only thing that John want is to make you happy and to share his loving of diving.
Thanks John!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Shawarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semporna, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Personal dive company with small groups!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was lucky to have stepped into Big John Scuba shop after the hostel I stayed had failed to organise us the dive courses we were promised before. i felt immediately that these guys know what they are doing so decided to dive with them for couple of days! I made a good decision there!

With small group as just me diving I was given the best possible diving instructing. Not quite like some other companies in the area with their boats full of people and hassle. All of the staff were really nice and helpfull which I found very good as I had not done diving for several years and felt a bit confused about it all! I believe this is the best value for money in the town! Very affordable prices! Even though my boyfriend fell ill in the middle of his open water course and could not do the dives, he was not charged for the whole price of the course, which we found very nice!

Small company, great benefits!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Noora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“IF YOUR FRANTICALLY LOOKING FOR A GOOD DIVE COMPANY THEN STOP LOOKING!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were looking into a couple of dive companies when we were in Semporna and we came across BIG JONHS SCUBA and were so glad that we did, it was the best experience we could have asked for he is the most down to earth guy we have ever met.
Whether your there to do a course or a fun dive you will have a unforgetable experience regardless Big John knows these waters better than the back of his hand, on our first day we done 3 dives and we lucky enough to come across 9 green turtles and abundant amounts of fish.
If your looking for a relax day with no strict schedule then Big Johns is the answer, we will definitely be back and be diving with Big John hopefully soon.

Overall, Big John is a very welcoming and hospitable guy and will make you feel comfortable in the water no matter what.
THANKS BIG JOHN FOR THE EXPERIENCE OF A LIFE TIME.

Sam and Anthony.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tawau
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the very best”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

to make this easy... "once you go, you will come again"
good service, nice to view, and many more...
i join them empty but back in full... why??
they even teach me how to swim... and that was fun..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank edwin930310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big John Scuba also viewed

Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 
Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 

Been to Big John Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing