We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came for 4 days stayed for 6 weeks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celebes Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Semporna B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Came for 4 days stayed for 6 weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We came here on the suggestion of a Dive Master we met on the sea dragon liveaboard in Thailand .

I spoke to one of the owners Guido who sorted our booking out and gave us the low down on Pom Pom Island. We booked an Air Asia flight to Tawau where we were met by Lynden, Celebes driver, and more in a brand new mini bus we were transferred to a hotel in Semporna and taken for dinner by Guido. The next morning we were again collected by Guido and Lynden who drove us to the jetty were the resorts speedboat was waiting. After a 45 min journey we arrived on Pom Pom a tiny lil island amongst many others in this area of which only 3 have resorts it was simply as you would expect on a picture postcard white sand turquoise sea n palms.

This is NOT a 5 star luxury resort rather a real dive resort with good facilities and lmitless diving available all included in your price 3 boat dive each day and as many shore dives as your dive computer allows you

All the rooms are really lovelly, spacious, comfy with lovely beds, high level of cleanliness, AC and hot showers n 24hr electrity. There is a super helpful and lovely housekeeping staff of EnEn, MiMi, Roseta, Sars, and Asoy always on hand to keep you in drinks food and anything you need

I decided to do my rescue diver course which in truth was mere pennies more than my stay alone would have been!!!!

I could not have asked for better, my instructor Nural was an absolute gem a fantastic teacher, and someone with a genuine love of diving, her job, and perhaps most of all teaching; my course passed like it was hours not days

So much so that we both decided to stay and do our DiveMaster from the bottom of my heart it was the BEST bit of the whole trip 3 weeks of hard work that felt like 3 weeks of fun with good friends - and I can guarantee if youre keen to learn and wanna do this Nural will teach you far beyond the content of the manuals, she is an endles source of information and help and if she cant answer a Q she will research or talk to her connections and find out for you. Nothing was too much trouble and we learnt the course n twice as much besides be it boat and sea knowledge photography advice local knowledge you name it we covered it .

Stayed over 5 weeks and made a friend from our tutor, gained a Pro qualification, had amazing dives, a beach paradise and total peace and quiet when you wanted it be warned tho this really is a desert island NO shops bars clubs or spa its the simple life just sea sun amazing diving and good good people

A special thanks again to Nural , tutor,mentor font of marine knowledge and now I think safe to say good friend

Mark and Fi

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sparxta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
19
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Celebes Beach Resort is a glimmering pearl, located east from Semporna. Me and my dive buddy stayed here for 5days and 4nights and we really enjoyed it! This place is so calm and peaceful with marvelous surroundings, white sandy beach and crystal clear blue water.

The diving is very good, rating 4/5. My scale is in comparison to Similian islands (Thailand) and Sipadan islands (Borneo) which I would rate as 5/5. Lots of macrolife and big turtles in numbers.

Life is so easy at Pom Pom, you dive whenever you feel like it, then just hang around at the beach or in the common area and chit chat with other guests and staff.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, thanks Guido for setting everything up, really appreciate your thorough email replies. A special thanks to Nurul and Peter at the island who made our stay very pleasant, for you guys nothing is a to large request, whether, wanting to use your computer for a whole day or requesting to do a night dive 8.30 in the evening! =D

This place has a great deal of potential! There are two development areas at CBR that I would like to share which would make it even better. The food is OK 3/5 but could be much better and the room standard is also OK 3/5 but in the whole, things written above make almost the whole deal anyway!

Some info for those of you wondering if there is a high season in Pom Pom, because I did! My conclusion is that some days you get rain some days you get a lot of sun but Borneo has a rainforest climate so this weather seems to be the same all year around!
I give my full recommendation to Celebes Beach Resort, and I would love to go there again someday!

//Matte & Natte, Sweden

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matand30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

The big plus of this resort is that it finally gives divers possibility to stay in this island group and not fork out a fortune. The value is very good especially if you get a dive expo (e.g. MIDE) deal and get to do 3 boat dives a day + unlimited shore dives. The island is small and uncrowded making it a nice change from its busy neighbour Mabul. The food and accomodation is good; don't expect a sophisticated resort Mataking style but you'll have all you need to enjoy yourself. One thing that could be better is shower and toilet flushing; we provided these and few other minor improvement comments to the management and it seemed we are being listened to attentively which is a good sign.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Celebes is simply a private and beautiful island to be on. On sunny days you get the breathtaking view of the shades of the sea. Diving here is another amazing experience as the you dive with dedicated divemasters and knowledgeable instructors. My friends and I were priviledged to have Instructor Nurul to guide us throughout our Advanced Open Water Course. She was incredible! So were Heather, Peter and Jerome!

Several islands to visit around Pom-Pom but Mataking Island has to be our favourite! We did a wreck dive at Shipwreck Post and enjoyed seeing a great barracuda, a school of trevallys as well as a school of batfish among others. We saw turtles during each dive, some small some big. We even saw a sleeping turtle during our night dive at Cleaning Station, the shore dive right in front of Celebes. Everything about this place exceeded our expectations and although still in its infancy of a year plus old, Celebes has a lot to offer for divers and couples who love privacy nested on little Pom-Pom Island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissNissaSufian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is really an incredible place, when the first time i came here with my family i enjoy it very very much! Simple the best place for diving and really a good place to just sit back and enjoy the beauty made by our mighty GOD!

thank you celebes beach resort, we had an memorable moment and i wish to come back again! <3

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xionid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Part of me doesn't want to write this review as I don't want the secret to be let out of the bag! We were there in August and had an amazing time - if you want to eat, dive, rest and dive some more this is the place to go. Great diving, friendly atmosphere and your own slice of paradise. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_mguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

It was the greatest experience I had with Celebes, with a wonderful place to live in. I don't even feel like going back at all. Diving was great and manage to see Pigmy seahorse. Nice place, nice people.. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAH135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
0.3 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
18.7 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
23.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
6.0 mi away
The Reef Dive Resort
The Reef Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Mataking
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
18.9 mi away
Best Bunk Beds
Best Bunk Beds
#3 of 21 in Semporna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebes Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebes Beach Resort

Property: Celebes Beach Resort
Address: 1 Romantic Beach | Pom Pom Island, Semporna, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Semporna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebes Beach Resort is a new secluded two stars resort located in the Celebes Sea. The resort is based on Pom Pom Island where the peaceful white sandy beaches seem endless and the waters are a perfect turquoise blue.Whether you are interested in an idyllic beach holiday or experiencing a new quality of diving. Celebes Beach Resort has it all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing