We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sipadan Scuba

Sipadan Scuba
Ranked #7 of 15 things to do in Semporna
Certificate of Excellence
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Too crowd, too small place to have a rest in the island, but the gov have to do this to protect the environment. The beach is write, full of lots of shrimps in the shells. The water is so clean that I'v never seen it before. So the boat was like floating in the air without reaching the sea. The fish schools were beautiful and there were plenty of them and various species of the fish, I must see the fish species is the most among all the island and diving site that I've been to. Saw lots of sharks and leopard shark, also lots of sea turtles. But no big guys, you know, the big shark or the whale shark because we went there in Nov.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Han Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    19
    11
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great diving poor customer care”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

The diving sites are amazing!! Sipadan is really a must-do and I highly recommend to stay in Semporna than in Mabul for two reasons. The first one is that it is cheaper and the second one is that the islands around Semporna are better than the one around Mabul but Sipadan of course. So if you are based in Semporna you can dive in Sipadan and in the islands around but if you stay in Mabul you will stay around Mabul.

Regarding Sipadan Scuba, l think they just want to make money and nothing more. When you are booking online you have a lot of hidden costs and some of the packages are at the end not available. The website is a nightmare and you cannot book anything unless you book the accomodation with them.

The divemasters were really amazing. They were very friendly, professional and knew a lot about sealife. They were really good at spotting rare fishes and interesting stuff. However in the middle of our stay the boss fired three of them because some new divemasters completed their training and agreed on working for free in order to know better the diving sites and the sealife. This a typical exemple on how they run their shop only to earn more and more money. However I think this politic is widely spread in every diveshops. They have the monopole on the licenses for Sipadan and people really want to dive there so they allow themself to do anything.

So go diving in Sipadan and around Semporna but be prepare to pay more than anywhere else in South-East Asia and don't expect a good customer care. However for us the dives were so amazing that we rapidly forgot about everything else.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank neuhaus_benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sipadan delivered on expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have done 75 dives now, but Sipadan is definitely in the top 5! Lots of sharks, turtles, plenty of other fish, great coral and we saw a devil ray and manta ray too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Wow..... pristine reefs, over 40 sharks in one day, turtles galore, masses of colourful reef fish and schools of Jack, Barracuda and bumphead parrotfish. This place is insane! By far the best reefs I have ever seen which shows that marine protection does work. I was lucky and got a permit because someone dropped out but to be sure you can get a space book ahead!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Amazing site. Hard to find a better anywhere in the world. You will see so many things, like sharks on any dive and other big fishes and Turtles,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanRoman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sipadan Scuba also viewed

Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 
Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 

Been to Sipadan Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing