We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Team and 2nd visit for SJ!

Visit around end of Oct, water temperature and all dives sites are great, except on the visit to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
laualex96
,
Hong Kong, China
Great diving

As a last minute booking I was lucky to get a spot diving with Scuba Junkie as they limit the... read more

Reviewed September 17, 2018
Letitia92
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 341 reviews
  
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
206
45
16
6
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
45
16
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mabul beach resort dive shop turtle hatchery dorm room open water marine life office staff upstairs bar safe hands excellent stay special thanks friendly atmosphere my girlfriend beautiful creatures work hard coffee tea these guys
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visit around end of Oct, water temperature and all dives sites are great, except on the visit to Sipadan island with very rough and thunder weather in the morning session.

Max and Assof (sorry! maybe wrongly spell) organized very well and knew the dive sites too and we all managed to experience the barracuda tornado from sea bed to the surface, and of course the jack fish schooling of 10K (I thinks as at least 300 M touring) while drifting.

All the staff team with saving the ocean mindset, not just in briefing but also pick up fishing net.

Thanks for Kunding, Jacky, Dionne, Kid, Salah, Nor, Man, Ashrul,

Reminder for divers:
-be prepared for drift diving,
-long pants to avoid some stings as very rich marine micro-organism,
-and blue diving.

Thank laualex96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A real "we are the only game in town" attitude. Act like you're stuck on the island and will die without them (which is badicallybyrue).

Examples:

-Guests left bobbing on a boat off a dock without breakfast while crew eats in front of them.

-Any request is met with "our policy is..." (unspoken f-off)

- Boat dives replaced with beach dives without warning or compensation

-certified divers forced to undergo recertification if not dived for a year. Only told of this once paid and already on island. No one cares if you've been diving for 20 years. No refunds.

-$6 USD for a beer at the resort bar

-Very efficient at getting people in and out; no personal touch or accommodation for special needs.

Highly recommend going with one of the other operators. The dive sites will be the same but you won't be treated like garbage or a pinata from which $ spill out.

Thank eatsteak2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

As a last minute booking I was lucky to get a spot diving with Scuba Junkie as they limit the number of people within their dive groups. The boat ride to the resort was not the best with the weather being against us. Due to the weather being so poor we were limited to dive spots close to the resort but as it was the first day of diving this wasn't an issue as I hadn't been to them before anyway. The first dive was disappointing as the visibility wasn't great however it improved throughout the day. I had Nash as my Dive Master and we had a great day. He's fun, friendly and humorous whilst remaining professional. For the second day I had Malique who was also great. Both were very knowledgeable abour the dive sites and the marine life we encountered. The diving was well organised and the DM's are happy to choose dive sites according to what you'd like to see. They also help to fill out log books at the end of the dive. Overall I had a fabulous time with Scuba Junkie, both diving and at the resort.

Thank Letitia92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a great experience with Scuba Junkies and can’t recommend them enough. We both had zero prior experience diving before we signed up for the 4D/3N Open water course with one day of fun diving and an additional day diving in Sipadan. Once we got off the boat in Mabul, we got geared up and started our course with Georgia and Sam. They were very patient instructors who did a good job making sure we were comfortable throughout the course. The first day is very long but well worth it to push through. The second day gets a lot easier and you will feel very confident doing fun dives once you have your certification after the completion of the course. On North Kapalai and Sipadan, we had great experiences diving with the dive masters and were able to see lots of marine life. All the instructors and dive masters do a good job of being fun while also staying professional at all times. We stayed in an A/C room which ended up being nicer than either of us was expecting. Food was tasty and plentiful with cake and coffee/ tea being offered throughout the day. Front desk helped us plan our trip to Sepilok post-diving and provided recommendations on where to stay and transportation options. Great experience and service all around and such a good way to be introduced to diving. After having some bad customer service experiences at previous places on our trip, it was extremely refreshing to have the experience we had at Scuba Junkies.

Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

I spent four days and three nights in Mabul in July 2018, and it was an absolute joy from start to finish. After a dodgy night in Semporna I was picked up at 8am and taken straight to the jetty in Mabul where we were given our kit and went off to the first set of dives. The diving itself was brilliant - unfortunately I didn't get to go to Sipadan but Mabul and the surrounding areas provided some lovely diving. The operation was so well run - considering how busy it was there were no delays and every morning and afternoon our kit was waiting for us on the boats when we went out. The food was great and the staff were fantastic - Simon and Nor were brilliant dive masters and made every dive both enjoyable and safe. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

If I was rating the dive instructors and boat drivers alone, I would award this company five stars. My partner and myself used both the Kota Kinabalu and Semporna SJ dive centres. The office at KK was amazing- staff were very professional, lovely, and helpful. Even when they got a power cut half way through a transaction they made sure we received our in voice and receipt. However, the Semporna office was a different story. I stayed at the SJ hostel in Semporna, and paid for my stay at the office which is across the street. I also paid for a day of snorkelling, and both me and my partner paid for our advanced dive courses and Jetty fees all at the same time. We came into the office the next day, and were told that we hadn’t paid for our accommodation, which of course we both knew we had. From the beginning I was treated very poorly by staff, as if I was trying to steal from them. We were told that if we had paid we would have a receipt, when we had not received reciepts for any of our transactions. Our words were not believed at all, and very little effort was made to investigate the issue. It was extremely unprofessional. Having worked myself as a customer advisor for 6 years, I have had similar issues and have never treated customers as liars regardless of whether I believed them or not. Staff at the office checked their accounts in the back and informed us that “the books were balanced” so there’s no way that we could have paid. Later that day when diving I was telling other divers of our experience, and one of them informed me that the same member of staff I was having an issue with, had over charged him for a room, but again there was no evidence of this as he was not given a receipt either, and be money was missing...

Upon speaking to a member of staff at the hostel (who was lovely), he mentioned that this sort of thing had happened before and to insist they look at the CCTV. So my partner went into the office and we paid for our accomodation for the second time to show that we weren’t trying to get away with out paying and asked them to look at the cctv. Very reluctantly they agreed. Of course upon our return after a day of diving, they had checked the cctv and then miraculously found our receipt for paying for our accommodation, proving that we weren’t lying. The staff members did apologise, and their attitude towards us changed immediately (as they were no longer treating us like liars). The thing that upset me was the way we were treated- we were very understanding as of course we are human and mistakes happen. It’s a shame because this company do create environmental and conservation work on Mabul, but I can help but be left with a bitter taste after this experience.

Special shout out to Along and Noel- you guys are amazing teachers and great guys.

1  Thank rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Just had a 5N 6D stay at Scuba Junkie and it was an amazing stay! So well organized and the staff so friendly and knowledgeable. Diving was incredible. Even though visibility was not the best (from a few weeks of windy conditions) we still saw so much! Our Sipidan Day was definitely the highlight and our dive master Simon was the absolute best part of the trip. Really love how Scuba Junkie are really focused on conservation & eco-friendly interventions at their resort. Will most definitely return!

Thank chrisottmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

I did the 4 day minimum dive package to get a day diving at Sipidan. Personally I think Sipidan is a little over-rated but I couldn't fault the local scuba junkie dive crews (and boat captains) for their knowledge, enthusiasm and customer care. Dorms were clean and quiet with only 4 to a room and the food in the restaurant pretty good. Upstairs bar can get smoky and could do with a designated non-smoking corner but otherwise I was very happy with choosing scuba junkie for my mabul-sipidan diving (try and spend all your nites on mabul because semporna is not very pleasant)

Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

I really, thourougly enjoyed my time at Scuba junkies. I'm not just reviewing the diving sites as this is not Scuba junkie exclusive, but I'm talking about the whole package (dive guides, organisation, food, ...)

SJ is a big, busy dive center, but it has a great organisational flow and a very personal approach. You will not dive in very big groups, but in smaller groups which take close attention to doing good briefings, finding good stuff underwater and taking good care of you afterwards. I havent heard a single bad thing about any of the guides, and all the ones I dove with have been magnificent and entertaining.
Shout out to AG, Man, Bibi & Nor for making sure I stayed alive under water! (And I saw some pretty awesome things)

Communication and booking has been very clear and easy. They were very patient with all request and repeating questions.

The lodge is perfect. You arrive, all meals, snacks and basic drinks are included. Food was good - I loved having fruit at every meal, and the soups were also a nice change. I was staying in a dorm and even though its pretty warm, the room is filled with fans so you can have a comfortable sleep.

Organizationally everything was very clear, never a dead moment.

After each dive, the guides will (usually) sit down with you and go through a picturebook of all the things you should have seen on your dives. That was really really cool! 

Thank PJ_Delbecque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

We booked on with Scuba Junkie in KK for two days of fun dives around Mabul Island. It was an amazing place to dive and the island is beautiful..
The Scuba Junkie team were super helpful on arrival and set us up with gear. I felt very safe on all the dives and they helped us out along the way Andy pointed out to all the sea creature big and small.

Highly recommend these guys for diving around Semporna Archipelago...

Thank guys for a memorable stay and excellent diving...

Thank _saskia_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews