We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and equipment”

Scuba Junkie Diving
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Semporna
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good service and equipment”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Made 13 dives with them in four days. Excellent divemasters and good equipment. They leave to sereral different islands each day and so you'll never visit the same place twice (unless you want to). Dived also with another company in Semporna (for Sipadan), but service and organisation at Scuba Junkie were a lot better. Would dive with them again, when I return for a second Sipadan trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank agebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    48
    18
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Dive Operation”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough nice things about this entire operation. I will try to break it down to help future travelers make the big decision of where to dive in South East Asia. This was the last week of 24 days of diving in Bali, Komodo, Thailand, and Borneo.

Dive site quality:
- Incredible biodiversity, flawless clarity, and a great variety of dive types (wall, muck, reef, etc).
- Large pelagics and unusual macro opportunities at most sites.
- All sites were interesting, some sites around Mabul Island were a little tame.

Dive Guides:
- Audrey is the best dive guide I have ever had, 9 dives in total, all perfect.
- I have no critique for her, Scuba Junkies is lucky to have her on their staff.
- Very careful, very safe, and very attention to detail, she took us on unforgettable dives.
- Super cool and fun person in and out of the water. My wife and I really enjoyed her company. Thank you Audrey!!!

Management:
- The management goes above and beyond to make sure the guests and divers are well taken care of with coordinated schedules to make sure you see everything Mabul has to offer.
- The entire business is run efficiently and with great sensitivity to the divers needs. Also the food is top notch, thank you!
- The island of Mabul and the interaction with the environment and Native people is an interesting story. To sum it up briefly, Scuba Junkies is taking the high road and that alone is reason to support their business.

Sipadan:
- Schedule a trip to Sipadan!!! You will not regret it, don't travel half way around the world and miss out on what may be the best dive of your life.
- This a Blue Dive site, if you are not comfortable with that then stay around Kapalai, Mabul, Sipadan Reef, etc...
- The dives get deep here, expect 115 feet.

Sipadan vs Komodo vs Bali vs Belize vs Hawaii vs Thailand

This is a much debated question. In my opinion Hawaii is the least impressive, the rest all have a pretty serious argument for best diving in the world. Komodo is unforgettable and if I had to dive only one place the rest of my life it would be there. But all things considered Sipadan is commonly listed as the best dive in the world for good reason, Jacques Cousteau wasn't kidding.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Luccathefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“High expectations”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Planning the next trip and came across SJ and others offering Sipadan and more for a diving experience
These guys really know how to work with customers
They deliver information quickly, answer questions and offer advice , when asked, on other travel options
Most importantly they listen (read?) to what you're looking for and don't try to sell you up into other things
Kay dealt with me from whoa to go and has set a very high bar for the rest of the team
Looking forward to the adventure

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjukes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect end for a holiday”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I highly recommend the place. I stayed 4 days at Mabul resort and I have nothing to complain about. Food was good, staff was friendly and experienced, and resort was nice. Full 5/5 without a doubt.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tommi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect day of diving”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic day diving with scuba junkie.

First of all, massive thanks to our dive leader Gav. Despite being an Arsenal fan he was just about alright. Actually, to be fair I'll have to grudgingly admit he was professional, enthusiastic, fun and all in all a thoroughly top bloke. the moment we were on the boat he was keen to get to know us and talk about the diving. He taught us new tricks underwater and was great at pointing out the wildlife, particularly jackfish!! When we surfaced he also took the time to give us advice on how to improve our diving and went through fish charts with us.

The dive sites we went to were very diverse (we got to do a wall dive, artificial reef and drift dive) and full of marine life so we had an exhausting but amazing time. The equipment was all very good too.

With an excellent lunch and really low prices thrown into the mix as well this truly was a fantastic day diving

Helpful?
2 Thank dandcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scuba Junkie Diving also viewed

Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 
Semporna, Semporna District
Semporna, Semporna District
 

Been to Scuba Junkie Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing