We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transit hotel to Mabul & Sipadan”
Review of Seafest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seafest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in February 2012 during a transit from Tawau to Mabul Island for a dive trip. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the jetty and the shophouses where most of the dive shops are located.

The hotel is average, with clean rooms, simple basic rooms which are clean but not luxurious. The hot shower and airconditioning worked well.

There is a swimming pool on the second or third floor - I did not swim in the pool but a picture is included in my review if you're interested to see what it looks like.

There is an adjoining alfresco restaurant over the sea that serves great satay.

Wifi is available free.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyMatter_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

This architect's nightmare which completly fails to blend in with the neighbouring fish wharf, offers everything you would expect from a professional 3 star hotel. I have nothing to object about the rooms, cleaning, friendliness or efficiency - the hotel lack any sign of personality, though.

I came without a reservation - the lobby reception was friendly and I was handed a list of the different room options and prices to figure out which I would choose. Room was clean quiet with a good bed, and with a complete lack of personality - this could be a 3 star hotel anywhere in the world. Checkout was quick and friendly.

Breakfast: Buffet with different asian and western options. Eggs made to order.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gkfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The seafest is conveniently located right across from the jetty if you are here to transfer to an island resort. The hotel outside looks good, inside is in desperate need of a refurb and some elbow grease wouldn't hurt either. Nothing awful, no insects or rodents. Sleep quality was fine. I would stay again for one night. The breakfast is Asian, quality only fair. I did not visit the pool or gym, and am sure I stayed in the "old part" since a recent reviewer mentions a "new wing."

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is the second time i check in to this hotel. The hotel has extended since, with a new wing and a swimming pool. Also visited the gym, the gym is spacious and clean. Although the hotel has aged a little, it is still one of the best hotel in town. Thumbs Up!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiveHarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in the hotel in July, 2012. The location is great and the room is ok. Well, what do you expect in Semporna.? This is by far the best compared to the other hotels in town. The area is nothing to be excited about. This is probably the one and only reason why you visited Semporna and the Islands- To relax and scuba dive. The food is authentic and the Quality is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a value for money and comfortable hotel for a night stay.

Good point:
1. money
2. huge room with cold aircond
3. nice toilet
4. near to the jetty
5. nearby sundry shop and restaurant

Thing to consider
1. slumpy bed
2. smaller tv

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

**stayed in December 2010**

It's good for it's location as a connection to Mabul and Sipidan, but otherwise it's just a dreary old hotel. Rooms are just ok, worn out, a bit shabby. Breakfast was ok.
It seems that most of the people staying here are just passing through so they accept the mediocrity of it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antzu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
18.8 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
413 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
2.4 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.3 mi away
Best Bunk Beds
Best Bunk Beds
#4 of 26 in Semporna
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanderer's Inn
Wanderer's Inn
#1 of 7 in Semporna
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafest Hotel

Address: Seafest Hotel Jalan Kastam, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Price Range: $40 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Seafest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafest Hotel Semporna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing