We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean and nice. Go for it!”
Review of Sipadan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sipadan Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Braunschweig
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, clean and nice. Go for it!”
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We arrived a day earlier than we actually booked our hostel and went to Sipadan Inn cause our hostel had no rooms available. Our ensuite room was really clean, good size for the bedroom as well as the bathroom. The whole hotel has a very modern style, free wifi on the room. The price is much cheaper compared to the public rates (no diver discounts) of those dodgy hostels and we would have gone back instantly if we wouldn't have received the diver discount.

Only the breakfast is a bit too simple - almost no choice, but it is tasty. However the location cannot be better - in the heart of all dive operators, bars and restaurants. Next time we'll go there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eulinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    65
    44
    17
    5
See reviews for
9
67
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I got a standard room here for two nights and enjoyed my stay very much. It was just a clean room with beds, a TV (only 3 of the 9 were in English -- HBO, ESPN, Star Movies), and a decent bathroom. Free wireless internet but extremely slow! Staff is not too strong in English and not the most outgoing, but not a big deal in my opinion.

The best thing about this hotel is its location for divers. It's very convenient if you're going to Mabul/Sipadan the next day. It's right around the corner from Scuba Junkie, Billabong Scuba (aka Bahrman), and I think it even runs it own shop called Sipadan Scuba (aka North Borneo).

There are decent places to eat within walking distance, my favorite being Mabul Cafe across from the corner. The food is delicious and they're open from 11:30am-11:30pm (try the chicken with BBQ sauce set meal for 8rm). For breakfast, I went to the cafe (Al-Jazeera or something) for roti.

I will be staying here again the next time I'm in town, and I would definitely recommend this place to my friends.

Tips for hotel guests:
1) The shower is a bit tough to use -- you have to turn the switch on outside (2nd from the right) and have the showerhead at the right-most setting in order for the water heater to work.
2) For the aircon, you have to turn on the right-most switch, then use the remote next to the window, behind the shades.
3) The hotel does not have extra plug adapters for your laptop, phone charger, etc. Walk 15 minutes to the Milimewa Superstore and buy them there for 3.50rm each.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed in an ocean view room which had only a view of a building site with a family living in it and builders staring into our room. The staff had a very basic grasp of English and were pretty useless with little customer service skills. There was no WIFI access in our room, just 2 PCs in the cold noisy reception for you to stand at with a time limit of 30 mins. The only good thing about this hotel is its closeness to Sipadan Scuba who I'd like to say were an amazing dive school and without a doubt worth going with. Please note none of the local shops sell wine or cheese which was a huge disappointment to this cheese and wine lover!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_KittenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Semporna hotels

New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised at this place - we hadn't prebooked anywhere and just rolled up. It's really new, clean and comfortable. For the money, you can't beat it. Semporna is small so you can easily walk to loads of eateries, bars etc....I'd stay again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable place to stay after a long day in the water.

  • Liked — Price, nice and new
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Ok, we flew into Tawau and had a 1 hour drive (yes, he drove pretty quickly!) to Semporna - transfer was organised by Sipadan Divers as the hotel only directed us towards taxis.

We stayed for 3 nights with a focus on 2 days of day-trip diving at Sipadan and Sibuan, so all we wanted from accommodation was something clean, with a good shower and a comfortable bed. We got almost all of the above. Our standard room with tea and coffee making facilities was clean and had a comfortable bed. But the shower head sprayed in all directions other than where it was supposed to! A few laughs later and a bit of ducking and weaving, we struggled through - not such a big deal.

The staff were friendly, but didn't promote any local activities or facilities. We are pretty independent travellers though and had pre-booked our diving days anyway (essential to pre-book for Sipadan as daily numbers are limited), so it didn't really matter.

No breakfast is included, but they have free wifi in the rooms and 2 free computers in the lobby. They also let us store our luggage for free after checking out.

About the area: Semporna is not a pretty place - it's a fishing town - but it has character and is very easy to walk around. The markets are easily accessible to get fruit, there's a nice walk out on the jetty and, after paying a small fee, where you can see fish of varying sizes in netted off areas, and there were a couple of good places to get food. For breakfast we'd go to the small Indian place about 50m from the hotel for coffee and roti, and the Turtle Tomb Cafe was fantastic after a day of diving - huge cheap meals! One word of advice - we wanted to eat at the seafood restaurant on the jetty until we realised that the toilets "flushed" into the ocean about 10m away from where they "store" their seafood - in nets in the water...

We found out after we arrived that the Orang Utan sanctuary was approximately a 5 hour drive away when we thought we could do a half day tour there. So for our last day of non-diving due to flying in the afternoon we were at a bit of a loss until Fast Eddie from Sipadan Divers suggested and organised a trip to caves about an hour away where swifts nest, and to a beautiful park with waterfall.

To summarise - this hotel and this town aren't the reasons you come to this part of the world - it's the first class diving (complete with swirling shoals of barracuda and more green turtles than you can poke a stick at!). If you want 5 star luxury, stay at one of the island resorts, if you want a clean bed and to save your $$ for the diving, then stay here!

  • Liked — Clean and centrally located
  • Disliked — Crazy shower head!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie-Curly-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Islands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Stayed for one night en route to Mabul. The room was tiny (a standard room was all that was available) but it was spotless and the beds were comfy. The shower was also good, which was a nice surprise. I think this hotel benefits from being new - it doesn't have a worn feel.

The only downside were the staff, who were the only unhelpful people I met on the trip. A couple of the guys were actually quite rude. Oh well, it was only one night.

I think next time I would stay at the Sea Fest because it is opposite the jetty where the boats for the resorts on Mabul leave - there was a mix-up with our pick-up from the hotel for the boat and I think it would just be easier to walk across the road from the Sea Fest rather than worry about this again.

There is a good place to breakfast on roti around the corner from the Sipadan Inn - everyone is there having roti so you can't miss it. Wouldn't recommend the Mabul Cafe (or similar name) for dinner though.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, value
  • Disliked — Some of the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinAfrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

It was really by chance that I stayed at this hotel, my partner & I were looking to snorkel at Sipadan Island, but searches on the internet only seemed to come up with diving hotels/trips.

In the end I wrote to a great guy called Jerry @NORTH BORNEO DIVE & SEA SPORTS [mailto:diving@northborneo.net], who advised they did snorkeling trips, and picked up from the Sipadan Inn, which was located next door.

The hotel itself is incredibly reasonable for what you get. Ok it perhaps lacks "warmth", the reception, hallways, and rooms are tiled & just a little spartan, but it was easy to understand why it was designed this way. Primarily it would be used for divers & snorkellers, and this means you are going to get people going in and out with sand and water on thier equipment/bags/clothes, etc. So it makes sense really to make everything as easy to clean as possible.

The room we stayed in was a little on the small side, but it had a large tv (with HBO and Cinemax), and was very clean and modern. The bathroom was also very up to date with a power shower, which frankly was a god-send after a days snorkelling.

We met a lot of people on our trips, who had booked with other hotels rooms in Semporna, and most seemed to be very unsatisfied with them - especially those staying at the Dragon Inn (apparently the water from the shower goes through a hole in to the sea!)

I think over all, the location, quality, & price, makes this hotel a perfect choice for anyone who wants to do some diving or snorkeling & I would highly recommend giving it consideration. For some it might be worth noting that it had free wi-fi, although there were plenty of places in Semporna you could get on to the net, if you didnt have a pc.

Also, check out the Mabul resturant accross the street - amazing atmosphere & great prices.

  • Liked — Very clean, modern, and up to date
  • Disliked — Staff seemed a little less friendly than in other places we had stayed, but still helpful none the less.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank species
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
0.3 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
271 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
2.3 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
404 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.0 mi away
Wanderer's Inn
Wanderer's Inn
#1 of 7 in Semporna
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipadan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Inn

Property: Sipadan Inn
Address: Block D, Lot No. 19-24, Semporna, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sipadan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sipadan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sipadan Hotel Semporna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing