We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay albiet an unfriendly receptionist”
Review of Sipadan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sipadan Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Jurong, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good stay albiet an unfriendly receptionist”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Sipadan Inn was good.
Paid 110 MYR for 2 pax / 1 night

It was located near the main part of Semporna. There was Guardian and Watson nearby. In addition, there was a hypermarket Giant just a 3 minutes walk away.

The place was well furnished. Room looked neat, aircon working good. The bathroom especially was huge. Wifi was working seamlessly. Heater worked well and the place was clean


However, upon arrival, we were greeted by this receptionist who didnt talk to us, nor bothered to smile. She took our particulars and gave us our keys without pointing out the direction.

Also, I was very cold throughout the night. The blanklet given was not think enough. It was just a thin piece of linen coupled with a layer of towel. It wasnt sufficient for me.

All in all, I would still recommend for a short 1 night stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seexuanbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    65
    44
    17
    5
See reviews for
9
67
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Sipadan Inn is a mid level hotel in the ugly town of Semporna. If you don't dive with Scuba Junkie, like us, this hotel is a fair deal. Clean rooms and the staff is friendly. It's a 10 min walk from the bus station and about 3 min to the dive places. Make sure you book your Sipadan permit in advance. We had lucky to get some from Borneo Unlimited 2 days before. If you read this a couple days before and you don't have a permit, I guess those guys are your best bet. If you go to Semporna without permit you should know that this isn't a place where you want to wait on your permit for a couple of days. Although, diving in paradise is maybe worth it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was very clean. It was one of the nicer looking hotels in Semporna. The aicon worked perfect the water heater worked (yet the water pressure sucked at night). Great place to stay. You get complementary tea, coffee, bottled water, and toiletries.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SparklesSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, OH
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here one night as a transit hotel between my diving on Pom Pom Island and Sipadan and getting back and forth to the airport in Tawau. The hotel was fine and met my needs, clean with a nice shower. The bed was a bit stiff...but hey..I wasn't picky at that point. Just staying the night. The staff were nice to me at check in and the WIFI worked fine. Didn't eat anything in the hotel. Did eat at some local places but just for roti and smoothies. I didn't care for Semporna, it is just way too dirty for me. The trash is everywhere including that they thrown it into the sea. I could not believe how much trash is floating in the water here. My reco would be to get in and out of Semporna as fast as you can and go to some of the more beautiful areas that you came to Borneo to see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A good overnight hotel if you are heading to the islands
Value for money, rooms are basic wif not consistence wifi service.
Restaurants are lots around .
There is even Giant, Guardians n Watson on walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chewpeiyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawau Division, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Is a shop-lot-kinda hotel. Small, trying to look cosy and hey failed! Water supply is damn bad and the air condition need some serious maintenance. Hotel staffs are not well trained, kinda rude.

If your main reason to check into this hotel is to put your bags, take a shower and a few hours of sleep with a minimum budget, this will be it! Other than that, let's forget about it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank danielwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

unlike offshore resorts, recommendable accommodations in Semporna generally have the following features catering to divers: compact with a reasonable price as divers go out early and return late, neat with powerful hot shower so that divers can enjoy spa-like massage when getting rid of salty sediments, an in-room safe for storing valuables when divers are out at sea, and close distance to dive shops and the jetty. Sipadan Inn has them all.
We stayed there for 4 nights as part of our PADI course package with Borneo Speedy Dive. At the beginning of our four night stay, things were a little messed up when we arrived because of inefficient communication between the dive shop and Sipadan Inn, so we had to compromise and change to a king-sized room rather than an intended twin room. For the rest three days we did got a twin room after strong complaint. Service is mediocre although the inn is in good physical condition, may be it was due to the extremely high season when thousands of Chinese coming for national holiday.

Room Tip: twin rooms can be tight during high season, double confirm your booking just before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qing0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
0.3 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
267 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
19.0 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.0 mi away
Wanderer's Inn
Wanderer's Inn
#1 of 7 in Semporna
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipadan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Inn

Property: Sipadan Inn
Address: Block D, Lot No. 19-24, Semporna, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sipadan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Sipadan Hotel Semporna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing