We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic place”
Review of Fountain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountain Hotel
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Its located at a perfect location. Just loved the overall experince...the place gives u a very romantic time together withur luv. This is the best place if u are looking for quality time nd peace from your work place
176291242

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shachip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Spent family outing at hotel. The food was very very good. Typical authentic Gujrati food. The waiters in restaurant were very good, felt as if a elder person in our home is requesting to eat more. Staff is very co-operative. Hospitality was very very good. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The biggest complaint is that while booking they never mentioned that they will charge us for room service,which was added in the bill.It was 1400/- Rs. for a 3 day stay!This is not for your regular room service but,for general uses like cleaning the room etc. They charge you luxury tax and other taxes by writing on a piece of paper, but,seem surprised when asked for a bill. So, I personally think there is wholesale cheating going on regarding the taxes. Personal opinion only. Otherwise, a good experience, will definitely go again.The hotel is very good,with spacious rooms.We had booked 4 bed rooms from 13th of November for 7 persons. The view from the hotel is very good.The rooms were good and clean. The staff of their quaint old fashioned dining room is very courteous and helpful. The food is quite good for a veg. hotel. Breakfast varieties are less, but lunch and dinner have a good menu.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mukul_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms from 12th - 15 Nov 2013 and we were totally satisfied with the spectacular location and great food. Rooms were spacious and clean. Service was quick and unobtrusive. Only hitch was the non availability of hot water post evening but considering the other pros, we were willing to overlook this issue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Vrunda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Offers a good combination of the old and the new. The views from the garden especially at Sunset are really lovely. Still has the quaint warmth of old Mahabaleshwar in parts. The newer rooms are nice and large good for a family wiht kids too. Decent place and being in Mahabaleshwar the value propsition is completely different! Good venue for groups and enough activity around too, Would need your own transport to really enjoy the hotel as a base to explore the hills. Approcah is a nice drive through a nice forest road which evokes memories of the past. The other approach is through town so you have best of both worlds. Nice place not very classy but possibly great for groups. Did not get the chance to try the food and beverage options but the little opportunity that we had, the staff was very helpful and service standards were friendly. Recommended...definitely.

Room Tip: Try for rooms wiht a valley view - make sure you ask for it else could end up in below average rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THT9036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Hi guys, stayed in October 13 with family. We booked anex rooms with sit out. We found rooms spacious but not to the mark. Also the property was too old and no notable activities. We can call it an old property not heritage. Heritage property has different grace. Also the dining hall was a nightmare. Old wooden can netted chairs, steel thali and bowls. They served cold drinks in steel glasses too. Very annoying. Food menu too needs drastic changes. It was a shock to have such food menu from the management which runs restaurant like Soam in Babulnath.
They should increase recreation facilities too. It was really weird to see resort staff sitting in front of your rooms and staring at you.
We asked our travel agent to cancel booking at the time of check in but wasn't possible. Resort people upgraded us to club rooms to make our stay bit pleasant.
As we have stayed earlier in Summer Plaza Resort, Panchagini we were led down by Fountain hotel in food, property, amenities and activities. Only USP is a location. Rooms were quite good too. But food was miserable.
So overall I will rate it 2 out of 5 and rate it overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nehalzaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was a pleasant trip to Mahabaleshwar at Hotel Fountain. It was fantastic experience and i recommend this hotel. The rooms very neat and tidy. Out side natural view was amazing.It was fantastic stay.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piyushshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.3 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
1,075 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
603 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#9 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#7 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Hotel

Address: Opp. Koyna Valley, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: $68 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing