We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too old property, needs uplift.”
Review of Fountain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountain Hotel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too old property, needs uplift.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Hi guys, stayed in October 13 with family. We booked anex rooms with sit out. We found rooms spacious but not to the mark. Also the property was too old and no notable activities. We can call it an old property not heritage. Heritage property has different grace. Also the dining hall was a nightmare. Old wooden can netted chairs, steel thali and bowls. They served cold drinks in steel glasses too. Very annoying. Food menu too needs drastic changes. It was a shock to have such food menu from the management which runs restaurant like Soam in Babulnath.
They should increase recreation facilities too. It was really weird to see resort staff sitting in front of your rooms and staring at you.
We asked our travel agent to cancel booking at the time of check in but wasn't possible. Resort people upgraded us to club rooms to make our stay bit pleasant.
As we have stayed earlier in Summer Plaza Resort, Panchagini we were led down by Fountain hotel in food, property, amenities and activities. Only USP is a location. Rooms were quite good too. But food was miserable.
So overall I will rate it 2 out of 5 and rate it overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nehalzaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    59
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
85
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was a pleasant trip to Mahabaleshwar at Hotel Fountain. It was fantastic experience and i recommend this hotel. The rooms very neat and tidy. Out side natural view was amazing.It was fantastic stay.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyushshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel has the perfect location - away from the hustle bustle of the market and the crowd, at the same time accessible by a 5 minute walk through a long winding beautiful road with a mini-lake on one side.
The rooms are very tastefully built and luxurious. Apart from the private camp fire and garden area at the back, the swimming pool and the surrounding open grounds in the front are situated at the edge of the mountain with a beautiful view.
They serve delicious vegetarian gujarathi food. Staff was pretty welcoming. The property is well maintained and best in Mahabaleshwar. I have stayed there twice and both experiences were totally relaxing and pleasant.
Best part - the nice luxurious rooms and the view of the valleys from the edges of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewildandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel was Ok. You could probably get a better hotel for a little extra $. Food was good. Service was typical for average/below average hotel. Recreation room has broken ping-pong table and pool table. Cleanliness is ok. Hotel is about 6 on a scale of 1(Bad) to 10 (Very good).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Room we were provided was very spacious, nice and well maintained. Over all, property is very well maintained and is quite famous for its food and Hospitality. Stayed there for 2 nights and never faced any service issue. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Best property to stay in in case you prefer Vegetarian food. Hotel is located little away from Market place so you would enjoy this place if you are looking for a quiet break and otherwise, Main market is hardly 1 to 1.5KM and the road is in very good condition.

I would recommend this hotel for the spacious rooms, Quality and Variety of food, great hospitality, Location, Value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We (I & my wife) stayed between 14th June to 16th June, just as it started raining cats & dogs in Mahabaleshwar, we checked into an Executive room, which was just above the Semi-deluxe room category, we were surprised at the size being dismally small & not exactly the value for money we had hoped for , nevertheless we had hoped for an open scenic view outside the room but to our second disappointment, the window opened to a wall outside.
The Hotel has a vintage look & the restaurant serves 90% good Gujrati food.( If you are not the sweetmeat kinds, you would not like it more than a day). Service is one low points, since it is managed by untrained professionals especially for the room service ( it took us 4 phone calls & 30 mins before we could get our evening tea reheated), few of the staff in the restaurant are non-courteous with responses like "Kya Hua " in case you are asking for Salt at your table which would sound appalling if you are a frequent business hotel types .
Overall was an Ok experience, high points being location & good food. We also did some research to find that there were club category rooms which I understand are around 10-11K/ night which are large & open up to a good view. Bottom line - If you are the business Hotels types looking forward to a similar experience for your family with similar features in "this" Hotel, I would not recommend it !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aghoshbph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

About Room:
Stayed during March, 2013, we were 6 people. Booked two deluxe rooms (assuming rooms will be so small). To my surprise, rooms were really big enough to put one more king-sized bed on floor in addition to the TWO king-sized bed that were already there in each room. They had provided us two adjacent rooms on the 1st floor, the wise they had made was this: Though both rooms were having its own main entrance door, both rooms were interconnected with an internal door from inside the room itself. So, during day time we kept the internal doors open so easy for interactions etc. Sitout was big enough to accomodate 6 people and view of valley and swimming pool from there was amazing. Beware of monkeys though. No A/C in 1st floor rooms where we stayed....fans are in good condition...though we felt sultry in the night and do not dare to keep the windows open because of monkeys:-)

About Food:
Food was great (like gujarati thali for lunch, mixed varieties in the dinner like chinese, fried rice, roti/subji) and breakfast like south indian, poha/upma etc). Lunch buffet is rememberable and they served completely at our table (just like Rajdhani/chokki dhaani hotels) - no self-service. The Strawberry Shirkand was amazing. Goes with puri very much:-) However, dinner & breakfast are self-service buffet. Since we had couple of Sr. citizens, the good part for us was the tasty lunch and very decent dinner/breakfast at the hotel itself. The food package is inclusive in the room rent. Value for money with no doubt.

About facilities in this hotel:
Swimming pool was little dusty and leaves were all over. No life-guard during operating hours and during 2.30pm to 4.30pm when were there in the pool, we did not see any one coming to pool (or even near the pool). With that we were little scary as there is no life guard. Pool is okay and the valley view from the pool is a great relaxation. Indoor games are just carrom and table-tennis. If hotel is more than half-booked then you may end up waiting in queue to get your chance to use these. Not so nice, Hotel management needs to improve this indoor games experience.

There is a meduim sized open area where kids can play cricket/badminton (of course, with a full valley view). Ample car parking is available. Free of tension while parking:-) Great relief to me.

The boys work in the restaurant will quietly ask you (mostly during dinner time) whether you want your car to be cleaned before morning/overnight. Looks like they do this UNOFFICIALLY. They expected Rs.50. I said ok and told them the car number which they just remember and gave a water wash in the morning. But they did not clean it as I expected. So, stress them to clean properly with dry cloth on mirror/glass windows etc. Looks like they are not aware of techniques of car cleaning. Probably they are learning, please teach them a little when you get a chance so next time we can get a good car wash:-)

About staff:
Staff were ok to me. Not so good, no rude behavior that I had seen during my stay. They need to be trained to be nicer though.

Surrounding area:
Hotel is very quiet and located in a secluded place though it is just 3 minutes drive away from the Mahabaleshwar main market. You can shop some nice designer(?) chappals (mainly for girls) as far as we shopped. For men (and all) you cannot miss the OLD bakery (quite a big bakery so you can easily notice - forgot the name, sorry!) on your right-side of that markey road. You have to climb on few steps to enter the bakery - Get some baked food, really different taste - you would enjoy - Try their carrot/dates/banana muffins. This shop is closed during afternoon time (I guess from 1pm to 5pm or so).

You can visit Tapola (~25kms go further from this hotel). If water is there you can go for boating. Ok for one time for kids. Road is very narrow so it may take 1 hour to reach there.

I wish to visit once in a monsoon season. That should be a great experience in my opionion. Not sure though.

Room Tip: Ask for the valley view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh_baboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.3 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
1,002 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
1,203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Hotel

Property: Fountain Hotel
Address: Opp. Koyna Valley, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Fountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing