We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home converted to hotel - Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savoy Village
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Home converted to hotel - Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It is a home converted to hotel... Rooms are big but not maintained properly. Had s stuffy smell that comes in monsoon season!

Had problems with hot water in the morning. But the staff promptly supplied them from some other rooms in buckets!
Breakfast was served in a tent outside - Was edible.

Just okay for a nights sleep. Good location - But not recommendable. Take of u r on shoe string budget

Room Tip: Family rooms are big - can easily accommodate and 6 can just squeeze in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harisreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    50
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I searched all over the net including all the sites and zeroed on to this hotel as per my budget. Being a off season that is rainy season , getting a booking was not difficult. this hotel is bang on the entrance the market near the petrol pump. Its a avg place with basic aminties , On the price of ard 1400/- not bad. But if ur travelling as a couple then i would not recommend it becoz its too open and airy as property is vintage pattern like huts. But if ur travelling with family and children then its good. lot of space for parking and children to play. We were provided complimentary breakfast which was ok. Service is good and staff is warm and concerned. Overall is fine experience .

Room Tip: Take front facing rooms if with family and garden facing if as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rktontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

What does one look in a vacation..For me, it is a change from my routine life and that I got from my last outing to Mahabaleshwar.The hotel is centrally located.Close to the market and on ground floor.Very convenient for my parents and for my sister and me.We both went shopping and our parents were happy not being asked to be tagged along.They were happy watching their favorite serials on the TV.It was very surprising..that in a budget hotel there was DishTV in all rooms and showing nearly 300 channels.Staff was very helpful and best part , food was very good.The whole stay a complete value for money.
Two days..completely charged ..and back to work.

Room Tip: The frontside family rooms have a verandah to sit.At the back the couple rooms are located with have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wouldn't suggest anyone to visit this property unless you are really money conscious nothing except for the location is comforting about this property...rooms were humid...electrical fittings were broken...a grandma fone never worked...bathroom had no/little water...absolutely a no no if you are going with your partner...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
7 Thank Vishnu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent 3 days in May 2013. Location of the hotel is good but rooms are not well maintained. Ventilation in rooms is very poor. Breakfast was above average. Hot water through tap runs only couple of hours, and if climate is cloudy on previous day then hot water runs only for about half hour (due to Solar Water heater). During summer the temperature inside rooms rises to uncomfortable level due to poor ventilation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Sameer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel is placed near to market but still in a calm area. Rooms are very big and well maintained. The hotel is looking like a small vilage surrouned by lots of trees. There is also a small garden and play area for kids with jhullas(for swinging). Food at Panjabi restaurant inside the hotel is also good. Overall experince is good. The only problem I saw is, I stayed at room no 5, the fan not well placed over the bed and the mattress in bed is bit tilted.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SudarsanPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at Savoy Village between 11th-14th April, 2013.

We took a non-AC double room. There's one table fan fixed at one corner. Even in the summer, we didn't have to use the fan in the nights as it was cool inside.

There is car parking space for about 6 cars. There are 10 rooms in this hotel.

Pros:
- Friendly staff. Owner Mr. Aseem Kumar and manager Mr. Pai have been very helpful.
- Good food (We only had veg.)
- Very homely ambience with a garden. Reminds us of a village home.
- Walkable distance from Venna Lake (~2 KM)
- Just 200 meters walk to the central market. (However, no busy environment or noises in the hotel. Feels like you're in a jungle).
- Playing space for kids.
- Not expensive.

Cons:
- We found water in the bathrooms to be "slightly" problematic. It takes 15 minutes to fill up a bucket of water.

I recommend this place if you are looking out for a reasonable, homely and decent accommodation in Mahabaleshwar.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front side have a verendah and chairs. The rooms at the backside have a garden in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rokashv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
5.8 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
5.9 mi away
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
#34 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hirkani Garden Resort
Hirkani Garden Resort
#5 of 104 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mulberry Inn
Mulberry Inn
#6 of 104 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Village

Property: Savoy Village
Address: Next to Club, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing