We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and food, average rooms”
Review of Hotel Gautam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gautam
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed January 28, 2014

As has been written by the others the pool side rooms are avoidable - the furnishing is just about average, the superior rooms would be better (though may be more noisy)

The good part about this place is the service, the location, play area in general and the food for sure.

Not so good part - we experienced a missing piece of luggage on transfer from our vehicle to the rooms on check in.

Would we go back to Gautam - yes - but would stay in the superior rooms and monitor transfer of luggage a little more!

Room Tip: Avoid pool side rooms
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gautam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 131 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel Gautam is a very nice property with good staff. They serve good jain & vegetarian food. We wanted to spend our time in a good property as we were travelling with senior citizen & toddler. Gautam is pretty close to Wilson point and Mahabaleshwar market. Superior Rooms are huge and clean with good space inspite of an already fitted-in extra bed. There was puppet show arranged in the night and small bonfires in the lawn for seperate small group gatherings. The garden is well done with lots of play material for the toddlers and kids. The also have provision for indoor games like carrom, chess and TT. All in all a good place to stay and unwind at Mahabaleshwar :-). We got a good discount for booking through GOIBIBO.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior rooms on the 1st fllor, good spacious rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mamtajmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I'm just back from Mahabaleshwar after staying at Gautam. Having stayed at their Lonavala counterpart I very much regret booking the "pool side" room.

To elaborate -- everything about this room was ordinary. And the price was a hefty 4500 INR. From being situated in isolation the room gives a claustrophobic feeling.

The quality of furniture was horrendous, especially the cheap plywood and the use of painted iron interleaved.

Moreover, toilets did not have tissue paper. Curtain linen was down market. TV was so 1999 that most of the channels had noisy blurry video (whatever is the terminology).

The paint was inferior with no design the wall. Not to mention the bed linen did not look clean even when changed.

In short, pool side room are not worth their price, and you should opt for superior room (or higher -- recall there is a Premium room) if you want to keep your sanity.

Why the heck is a fridge kept is beyond me; provide quality in other stuff already present.

Parking space too was abysmal.

Some good points:
- Prompt service
- Lip-smacking food
- Organisation of entertainment shows in Community Hall
- Garden area is scenic

Room Tip: I have mentioned it before and I will mention it again- avoid pool side room.
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank CravingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was a very good experience at hotel. Good service and food quality. Location, quality of service and cleanliness is good. Pool side room is avoidable. Other than it is fine, I can recommend the same.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Jwalant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We came across Gautam from TripAdvisor.
It is indeed a nice property with very good staff and vegetarian food.
We wanted to spend our time in a good property cheaper than Ramsukh and we must say it was a good option in the end. Gautam is pretty close to Wilson point and Mahabaleshwar market.
Food is vegetarian and lunch is complete Gujarathi Thali. Those who enjoy having Thali from Mayur / Panchavati Gaurav would get similar experience here.
Superior Rooms are bigger with extra bed however the Poolside Rooms are also good enough for a couple. (depends on your budget and liking)
There was puppet show arranged in the night which we didn't go and also bonfire at separate places in the lawn for everyone which we enjoyed for hours.
Check in Time is at 1100 hours and Checkout Time is at 0900 hours however the staff is flexible and courteous enough in case you need some more time. Mentioned the timings here because the Gautam website states incorrect checkin / checkout times which we have reported already to the hotel.
All in all a good package you can have in Mahabaleshwar!

Room Tip: Superior Room 122
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manikanth_mxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Staff at Gautam Hotel always makes you feel warm and special. The scenic valley view is very nice. Hotel gets a bit pricey in peak season with room rates almost doubling but that is understandable given that its a seasonal business.
But a wonderful place over all!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRBathia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Superior rooms 1 on ground floor with outdoor sitouts and another on 1st floor with a relatively bigger room and extra bed.

Nice set up with lots of open space,
Sitting areas children play area, good view, cosy rooms with a/c and heaters. Extremely well behaved staff, prompt service. Clean rooms and bath.
Location is good and easy to find.

Cons: mattress needs improvement. They are hard and certainly not comfortable.
Food options very limited, though good food. Only bufffet and package. No Ala Cart. Evershine Keys resort is a 5 min walk has good ala cart options

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank anupambhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.3 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
1,225 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#9 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
1,023 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
695 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#25 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gautam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gautam

Address: Gautam Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: $61 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gautam 3*
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing