We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort except Food”
Review of Valley View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley View Resort
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Resort except Food”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Resort is good, especially if you take the rooms on the back side (which is the actual valley view). It is neat and clean inside (ignore the surroundings, which may not be very attractive). They have a swimming pool, ground to play / hangout, a pure veg restaurant, have some indoor games like Chess, Carrom boards, Table Tennis etc.

Rooms are good, except the Food - the package we had taken was inclusive of breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Though they have good varieties (of Veg only) their food upsets (bloats) the stomach.

I would suggest travelers to take this Resort, except their food (unless they change).

Room Tip: Rather than taking the front side rooms, take the rooms with the actual Vally view - on the back sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tilakgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for the feedback on your stay at Valley View Resort. We appreciated for you sparing your valuable time and writing a review. We are grateful to get an opportunity to extend our hospitality. We thank you for the appreciation of the resort. The Veg. food served was not to the liking inspite of the variety, as reviewed. The veg. food served is prepared as to what the guests look forward too. We would have been glad to serve the food to your liking had it been brought to the notice our food & beverage executive. The review and feedback is a lesson for us for bettering what is being offered today.

We once again thank you for the feedback and patronizing Valley View Resort and look forward to the same in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    108
    45
    9
    17
See reviews for
133
73
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had been to Valley View a few days back with a few college friends, and I must say, the resort added to the memories of one of my best trips ever! We were put up in the Super Deluxe AC rooms, which were very comfortable and had a cozy and warm feel. The best part was the balcony which overlooked the valley. What a view! We sat there aimlessly for hours, just chilling and letting the beauty and peace seep in. And then there was the spa and the indoor pool to relax the nerves which were literally crushed due to hectic engineering schedules. We would usually wind up the evenings in the game room, which can ensure to cost you a definite 2-3 hours without even realizing. Walking through the hotel, I really liked the way it's been done up. The only thing I felt missing was non-vegetarian food, which could be an added luxury, but I must add that the vegetarian fare did make up for it! It was delicious. I would definitely recommend everybody to visit this place when going to Mahabaleshwar!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yash1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for patronizing Valley View Resort. We acknowledge and appreciate your feedback. We are glad we have been able to provide you and your friends a memorable stay. We thank you for the positive feedback on food; the rooms, one of its type in Mahabaleshwar and the only temperature controlled indoor swimming pool of Mahabaleshwar. We once again thank you for your positive feedback. Feedback from our guests makes us strive harder. We look forward to extending our hospitality to you and your family in the future.
Regards,
Team Valley View Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Visited with family for a short vacation. The decision to stay at Valley View Resort was the best inspite of the reviews. The food, the ambience, service are of highest quality. The facilities, specially the indoor pool were a boon to unwind. Made full use of it. The staff was friendly, courteous and ever willing to serve with smile. The room in which we stayed, Deluxe AC- was well decorated and comfortable with all amenities for a comfortable stay. The Super Deluxe AC category is the best with a private balcony over looking the valley. Overall good value for money. The only sore point was the approach to the hotel through narrow, winding & congested road. Otherwise it was one of the best vacations we have had. would certainly recommend and suggest to our family friends to stay at Valley View Resort when holidaying in Mahabaleshwar.

Room Tip: Would suggest to opt for Super Deluxe rooms to get real feel of hill station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NONIE92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you very much for the feedback on your stay at Valley View Resort. We are glad to have been able to make your holidays memorable one. Thank you very much for the appreciation of rooms, food, facilities. This feedback would certainly encourage us to still better our services.
Approach is in issue which is beyond our control. We are in constant touch with local authorities for its improvement.

We thank you once again for the feedback and look forward to your patronizing Valley View Resort in future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
480 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 941 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

i stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Done my booking prior to the trip because of peak season. Was bit worried about the services as
the reviews which i read wasn't very good for it. But when i reached there, i found this hotel extremely good, clean and good staff.
Room was spacious, washroom wasn't very spacious but clean with clean bath towels and other items. View want very good as i selected standard one,
but was nice. the best part of this hotel was its restaurant. Food was just great, pure veg. Thali and buffet types alternatively. Serving staff was
extremely good.
This hotel has its swimming pool, spa and good parking lot. game room was also there equipped with pool table, TT table, caroms etc. I liked the hotel, will definitely come
again and can easily recommend this hotel for every kind of traveler.

Room Tip: swimming pool is in front of hotel door. in next building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalbahadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for patronising Valley View Resort. We acknowledge and appreciate your feedback. We are glad we have been able to make your stay a memorable one. We thank you for the positive feedback on food, cleanliness, staff and the other facilities including the only temperature controlled swimming pool of Mahabaleshwar. We once again thank you for the feedback and look forward to extending our hospitality to you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Worst experience.. Maintenance is worst and management is not at all good... we stayed two days and we called the management several times for hot water ..but no one giving prompt replay ...we faced lot of disturbance from other rooms...for this one also management has not taking care any complaints...

Firstly locating the property is very difficult. Secondly tha entrance road is narrow roads... Worst thing was they have not provided any staff rooms for driver night staying .
Not suggestible for staying...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eswar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for visiting Valley View Resort. We acknowledge and appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the disturbance in the other rooms as well the problem of hot water. We will surely look into the same. Approach is an issue which is not under our direct control. The local authorities are pursued round the year for its upkeep and maintenance. Sir we do not provide accommodation for driver and the same is informed to the guest while booking. However, we provide blanket and toilet facility for the drivers.
We thank you for bring up these issues so that we can take necessary action for our betterment. The feedback from our guests makes us strive harder.
We once again apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and look forward to getting an opportunity to extend our hospitality to you and your family in the future.

Regards,
Team Valley View Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Mixed experience. I booked non AC room (Not sure if AC rooms are required in Mahabaleshwar). Room rate about Rs 6000 per night in Christmas season. Not worth of that much money. Room had outdated tiles. Iron based furniture with few rusts. From the window, you can view everything but valley. Valley view is reserved for select A/C rooms. Check room orientation while booking.

Attached photos will tell you the story of room no 117..


Front desk staff has not been co-operative by any means at all. Check out time was 10. I requested to if I can go late by an hour, they blatantly said no. My wife - 5 month pregnant - too requested but no luck. (No guest was checking in at that time).

Then my room got lock jammed (it was outdated lock). My wife and I stood at the room door at 11:00 pm night for about 20 mins, staff could not open the room. Then someone entered room from window. I learned from staff member that this happens some times (strange!!)..

With that lock episode, I assumed I had strong point to bargain for 1 hour extra check out time in morning. Guess what, receptionist denied blatantly again !!!! The manager happened pass by reception and he heard me requesting check out delay. Manager immediately agreed arranged check out time till noon. !! Manager was good guy !

Hotel food: Very good. Five STARS for that. Restaurant staff, very courteous.

I saw the Valley facing rooms - towards other side of hotel. This part of hotel is well managed (posh lobby, good elevator, clean). Rooms were with balcony facing small ground followed by valley. No other hotel can be so close to Mahabaleshwar market and such provide such a brillient view. For that, you got to select good rooms.

Room Tip: Check for AC Rooms with super delux (or some name like that) are best. Valley view with balcony. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShitalPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting Valley View Resort and giving and opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Our sincere apologies for front desk staff's response to the request. The issue has been taken up by the management with front desk manager for sensitizing the staff.

It is unfortunate for the lock of the main room door getting jammed. We apologize for the inconvenience. Deluxe Non AC rooms are in the process of upgradation to bring it at par with other rooms. Last set of rooms is pending. Which shall be taken up in near future

Thank you very much for appreciation of the food and restaurant service.

Your feedback has been taken positively with a reminder to us for improvement.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Firstly locating the property is very difficult.
Secondly tha entrance road is stingy and crowded.
The staff is arrogant and never smiles.
The rooms are old, insects moving around, no view at all.
Food is vegetarian only, more or less tasteless.
Would never go back to this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Deep_Datta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEYVIEWRESORT, Manager at Valley View Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting Valley View Resort and feed back on your stay. The rooms allotted and occupied for your stay are recently renovated which opened during Diwali period after refurbishing. Finest of materials have been used for elegant and aesthetic look. Utmost care for upkeep and maintenance is undertaken with regular servicing and fumigation. Approach is an issue which is not under our direct control. The local authorities are pursued round the year for its upkeep and maintenance.
overall your experience has not been satisfactory for which we offer our apologies. We have noted the points raised and would work hard on improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.3 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.8 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley View Resort

Property: Valley View Resort
Address: Valley View Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley View Resort is the place which gives you the pleasure, peace, joy & happiness in their emphatic services. Situated in heart of Mahabaleshwar, Valley View Resort offers the best lush green valley view enhancing your comfort and luxury. Here, you will experience a homely feeling in our extraordinary services. We are full of pleasant surprises, come reveal us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Valley View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley View Hotel Lonavala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing