We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Comfort, Elegant Surroundings, Food could be Better...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regenta MPG Club Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #2 of 111 Mahabaleshwar B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
409 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great Comfort, Elegant Surroundings, Food could be Better...”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Regenta MPG Club (MPG stands for Mahabaleshwar Parsi Gymkhana) for 3 nights (27-30 March 2013).

The hotel is on Old Tapola Road just 1.1 kms from the city main market & ST (Mahabaleshwar's main city bus stand) which houses most of the popular eateries. It is about 6 kms from the Venna Lake (main boating point), 14 kms from Arthur Seat (main valley view point), 12 kms from Old Mahabaleshwar temples, 12 kms from Mapro Farm and ~20 kms from Table Land- Panchgani.

The first impression was- a beautiful, sanguine place with lots of comfort and lovely views. More on specific aspects below:

Rooms: We stayed at one of the 10 large rooms, called "mansions", 5 of them being valley facing and other 5 facing the hotel lawns. The valley-facing rooms have a beautiful view of the city buildings nested in the mountain greenery! The room we stayed in was clean and spacious, with dark walnut wooden furnishings (in line with overall hotel theme). However the room was strictly suited for a couple, or if you are a family of 3 with a small kid who can sleep in the same bed. Rooms are stocked with a safety locker within a single cupboard (with its door carrying a full-size mirror), a wall-mounted TV (with Videocon D2H installed), a mini refrigerator, Air Conditioner, a spacious bathroom with blow-drier facility. The room also has complimentary tea-coffee making options along with a water boiler. All-in-all, a tidy, comfortable room, well complemented by a good in-room service as and when required.

For Family (we are a couple in the age group 30-35 with a 2 year old child)- a comfortable place; the place has a swimming pool (4 ft deep adults area plus a baby pool), a Spa (open until 7:30 pm), a games room (Carrom, table tennis) and a Huge Lawn which has graceful lady statues (on a cemented stage). It also has a newly installed play area for kids- swings, see-saw, trampoline, and Chinese grass for children on the wild chase (we found this to be thoughtful). The entire hotel area is well decked up with well-manicured lawns, interspersed with a variety of flowers. Overall- a great place for unwinding on a longish weekend. Save for food (see next para)- the place would be an amazing way to relax in a resort-like location and you wouldn't need to venture out otherwise. A small addition- a DART game under one of the trees too!

Food- The hotel has functional restaurant called "Tiger Trail". While the punchline goes "The Last Word in Indian Food", the food quality and taste is probably the only 'black dot' in this review. The restaurant serves Buffet breakfast (included in room rent), lunch and dinner; however after tasting the dinner on the night of arrival, we restricted our meals at the hotel to "breakfast-only", and looked for lunch and dinner outside; thankfully the town market and other hotels serve better food. While the variety in each of the 3 meals is wholesome, the taste leaves a lot to be desired. Hence some work to be done here, in my honest opinion.

Service- Reasonably High Standards. Staff are courteous and very helpful; 24-hour in-room dining actually works. Whenever we asked them to clean the room out of turn, the room was attended to promptly. The hotel gardener also offered to clean the visitors' cars for a nominal price (Rs. 50 per day).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nish_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    100
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
104
57
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Excellent place!They have maintained a lot of the old world charm in the main club house building
Cosy cottage type rooms with a sit out and a grand view of the lush forests adorning the valley, it gives one an experience that one can remember for some time.
The food- especially the breakfast- could be better considering the charges for the rooms.
The location I would say is quite strategic- close to the market and viewing points but has the necessary exclusivity.

Room Tip: Ask for valley facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shyamal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

it was my first expereince here all of stuff were nice espesially sufiyan and akib, sonam sammer had more friendly manner with me and my friends.the hotel was good and i defenetlly suggest to another my friends.i had stayed there on the 8 to 14 march. must say the view from the room was very beautiful especially the sunset. Also the property is beautiful & loved the ambience of the Hotel

Room Tip: mention piccket
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hadiPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had stayed there on the 22nd & 23rd Feb with my wife & 18 months old kid in their valley view room no.2021. I must say the view from the room was very beautiful especially the sunset. Also the property is beautiful & loved the ambience of the Hotel.The Food was great & they used to make special meals for us as we ate only jain meals. The Hotel staff was very courteous & they took great care of my small kid. We will definately stay at this Hotel again on our next visit to Mahabaleshwar. Great value for money!!!!

Room Tip: Pls select rooms facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vastupal_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

It exceeded our expectations in mahabaleshwar.... Easily one of the best in mahabaleshwar...
Serene view... Great food... Well maintained gardens and lawns... And hotel staff working hard to make your stay pleasant and hassle free...
Special mention to Mr.Sufiyan who put efforts not only for a great stay in the hotel but helped in sight seeing as well...!!

MPG is easily the best and very moderately priced Hotel in mahabaleshwar...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mesionkalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had been to MPG last week. Gladly surprised to see ourselves upgraded from Mansion rooms to Maisonette. Excellent Hospitality and special mention of Mr. Sufiyan. He is very good at his work. Loved the property, Loved every minute over there and enjoyed beautiful sunset from sit outs behind our room. Food Is ok for such hotel. Hope menu will be improved till next time. Hope to visit this Hotel Yet again

Room Tip: Definately Chose Rooms On The Valley Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prassi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very good location (near to market and close proximity to lake)..... Excellent hospitality services and wonderful stay. Food is very good... Lot of open spaces for kids.
Good value for money....We are sure to visit back & stay in this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madhavi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.2 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#7 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regenta MPG Club Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regenta MPG Club Mahabaleshwar

Property: Regenta MPG Club Mahabaleshwar
Address: 233 Old Tapola Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regenta MPG Club Mahabaleshwar 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Regenta MPG Club Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing