We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delectable”
Review of Mapro Garden

Mapro Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mapro Gardens is a garden park in the hill station of Panchgani, Maharashtra, India, situated close to Mahabaleshwar, known for their strawberry produce, and a popular tourist destination. It is host to the annual Strawberry Festival. Mahabaleshwar contributes to 85% of the total Strawberry produce in India and about 80% is consumed fresh. The Strawberry Festival encourages the strawberry cultivation in the belt. The highlights of this festival are fresh farm picked strawberry lined up on tables for visitors to eat to their fullest as well as traditional folk performances such as Shivkalin Dhol and Lezim, a high energy dance for which dancers are invited from Pratapgarh.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delectable”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I think I reviewed Mapro by mistaking it for the Mapro garden. none the less, the garden is the place to visit for every foodie worth his salt. Plenty of choice. Heady mix of squashes, juices, sweets, candies, marmalades, jams, fresh strawberry, ice cream, cakes......

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sambratalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    654
    262
    55
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place for snacks and juices”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

One sign you will find all over Mahabaleshwar and Panchgini is directions to "Mapro" gardens.
Though the place is pretty good, I think, it doesn't live up to the hype created by those bil-boards.
However, Sandwiches and fresh juices here are worth having it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sushantgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing great. Just Average”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Average food. You get same sandwitches and pizza in Bombay. Better strawberry and cream is available at other places. Too crowded. Nothing exciting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryokosha_indojin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1strover, Manager at Mapro Garden, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Here are few things about us that you might like to know, some of these will shed fresh light on your comments.

I am sorry to find our pizzas average. The fact is, indeed they are quite different from the likes of chains like Dominos or Pizza hut. While popular chains use breads that are made and frozen for months, our dough is made fresh thrice a day and each pizza is baked fresh with the bread. Wheat for the bread, along with other ingredients like tomato and bell peppers are procured locally. Farmers here refrain from using chemical additives or preservatives. Certain ingredients like potato, basil, oregano are grown in our own farms. Our jalepenos are indeed from mexico and our shitake mushrooms are from Japan, and we use vinegar to preserve them - we don't like chemical preservatives too much.
As per the Ice-cream and cream, we use no hydrogenated fat and they are really made from dairy cream. A whole lot of restaurants and even popular 'ice-cream' manufacturers cannot make this claim. These are not 'frozen desserts' but real milk ice-cream. 
I am, however, sorry that you did not have the best time at ours. If there is anything we can do to make up, do let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Best Strawberry and Cream!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you are looking for the classic Mahabaleshwar strawberry and cream, then this the place to get it. Its better prepared than the other popular joints like Bagicha. For one, their cream is not regular whipped cream but strawberry flavored and their ice cream is quite creamy and rich too.
Highly recommend a trip to the Mapro gardens for a nice a meal and some excellent dessert.
While you are buying their jams and crushes, don't forget to sample the Mazaana (Mapro's new product line) fine dark chocolate with nuts.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrunalKotecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1strover, Manager at Mapro Garden, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you enjoyed our Strawberry and Cream. We would like to let you know that out Ice-cream and cream uses no hydrogenated fat and are really made from dairy cream. These are not 'frozen desserts' but real milk ice-cream and that is why they taste rich and creamy. We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for a bite”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is great place to stop for a bite. I had the Spicy Delight Pizza and Strawberries and Cream w/Ice Cream. A great lunch. The upstairs pizza oven was wood fired which always give a great taste to the pizza.

I didn't find the prices so bad considering the portion size. Very family friendly. After food there is a nice garden to stroll through.

I would go back to this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mapro Garden also viewed

Mahabaleshwar, Satara District
Mahabaleshwar, Satara District
 
Mahabaleshwar, Satara District
Mahabaleshwar, Satara District
 

Been to Mapro Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing