We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow !!!”

Mahabaleshwar Hill Station
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“wow !!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My Mahabaleswar Experience was Just awesome !!
Guys, Pls dont miss these..
1)Elphinstone Point
2)Connaught Peak
3)Elephant's Head Point

and better avoid the Venna Lake. Nothing much to see there, infect you can have boating anywhere in country.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ofabyindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    565
    126
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Winter can be felt here during the nights.”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Perfect destination for people who love cold. The temperatures are near 7 to 8 degrees celcius during the night but warm and sunny during the night. Mahabaleshwar has many points to visit and see the sunrise, sunset, valleys, mountains, etc. from every point. Approx. 20 kms is the Famous Pratapgadh Fort Of Shivaji Maharaj. A must visit for Maharaj and fort Lovers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tribzz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a short holiday from Mumbai”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

By far the best choice of location for a short holiday from Mumbai. Very well connected by road, the 5 odd hours drive is a pleasure with beautiful roads and picturesque ghats on the way.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pranav_A_Pandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but no so good”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nice Place but all the points looks same so no need to done all points.
Climate is nice; Market place is awesome because u will find variety of products.
Food quality is normal. If u is food lover u will get limited place for best food.

One most important thing which I most dislike about mahabaleshwar is u have to pay tax.
There is entry tax for Mahabaleshwar and Panchgani per member and also per car. So u has to pay two taxes on each place. The tax collecting people are very rude and like mafias are get ready to fight if u argue with them. After that entry tax u also has to pay another tax is forest pollution tax on each point is same Per member and per car

At market area hotels do not have parking facility, so u has to park ur vehicle on road side. And hotels will not take responsibility for that. u have to park ur vehicle at ur own risk.

Beware from hotel agents
For 3 night stay u will enjoy

Strawberry is awesome

Thanks

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharadbhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome one day trip but be aware of climate of November as its hot”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Me and one of my friends has planned an one day family trip to Mahabaleshwar by car from Pune on Saturday i.e. 16th Nov 2013 as I heard that this is not the best time to visit Mahabaleshwar, However we planned to visit. We started at 07:00 AM from Pune. After 45 mins of drive we crossed pune and filled fuel then we touched first toll of Rs. 75.00 (We took for one way because as we didn't know when we will be back, however if we take round trip then it could cost us, Rs. 110.00). We left Pune-Banglore highway from WAI and took right turn towards WAI-Mahabaleshwar road, it is 2 lane road mostly ghat section. At 11:30 Am we touched Mahabaleshwar, First we have seen Lodwick Point then Elephant's head point then direct to Pratapgad fort. from Mahabaleshwar to Pratapgad the road is very zig-zag all Ghat section, I loved driving on it. From Pratapgad fort we have seen all 5 main points of Mahabaleshwar. After pratapgad we had planned to takelunch cum dinner as it was 5 PM till than. We back to Mahabaleshwar, visited local market, here I would say that This market is REALLY awesome!, where you can find so many fancy things like, footwears, appearals etc. but a bit expensive as it is a tourist place. The restaurants are really very expensive, a third class restaurant can charge you like a 3 or 4 stars hotels. However we took tea in this small market and did shopping as well as taste strawberries then moved ahead for food. As restaurants were very expensive in Mahabaleshwar so we thought to take food somewhere on the way in some good restaurant. Finally on the way we found a restaurant, food was OK and as usual a bit expensive.

Now I will come on the climate, The climate was not good as I expected. it is hot throught the day, but in the evening it becomes cool and it tell us you are on a Hill Station.

The total distance we covered around 296 KM ( Pune > Mahabaleshwar > Pratapgad > Mahabaleshwar > Pune ). The car entry tax on Panchgani is Rs. 50.00 (They asks you Rs. 50 per person if you visit Panchgani, however you can tell then you would not visit panchgani then they won't charge you.). Car entry tax in Mahabaleshwar is Rs. 150.00.

Overall it was an Amazing One day trip! Happy Holiday!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank brajesh_mehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahabaleshwar Hill Station also viewed

Mahabaleshwar, Satara District
Mahabaleshwar, Satara District
 
Mahabaleshwar, Satara District
Mahabaleshwar, Satara District
 

Been to Mahabaleshwar Hill Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing