We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mahabaleshwar Trip”

Mahabaleshwar Hill Station
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bombay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mahabaleshwar Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

They weather during the Month of May and early June is excellent, if you have your own car you can visit many points without a guide, just pickup a Map of Manabaleshwar and you can do it on your own.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank KFCBombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    554
    125
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most romantic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Mahabaleshwar is the most romantic place for newly married couple. Amazing climate, various points to see the beauty. very good market for shopping. It is nice place couples to enjoy their privacy. couples as well as families can enjoy the weather,shopping. strawberries & channas are very famous.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mithilakadam828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
287 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Unfortunately now very over crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Mahabaleshwar used to be an excellent hill station resort town. Unfortunately too many hotels have opened there and all the points of interest and the market area are jammed with tourists. Be prepared to be stuck in traffic jams on the main roads during the weekend

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cool_satchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

amazing climate.....lovely lake,,,and .....best strawberries...really cool place.....should try eating makai pattice and strawberry cream...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank harshada_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
440 reviews
280 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 889 helpful votes
“Most Attractive Hill Station Having Most View Points”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I first visited Mahabaleshwar on a study tour to conduct a tachometric survey in the winter of 1967 . At that time , after conducting the survey in the morning I used to be free in the afternoon . I used to hire a bicycle to explore more than 30 mind bogling attractions , i . e . view points . That time I thought this was the only hill station in India boasting the most number of view points . After wandering length and breadth of India , my opinion about Mahabaleshwar is the same even today .

I have individually reviewed various important view points earlier . So I mention here the few more points we explored on 5th June , 2013 .The Castle rock point offers the panaromic view of Savitri and Krishna valleys on left and right hand sides respectively . From the Monkey point , we saw the naturally sculpted images of Mahatma Gandhi's three monkeys . Savitri point has the breath choking feary view of Savitri valley .

This hill station is evergreen vast plateau with long beautiful roads and trails through the forests . Fruits like goose berries , mulberries , .raspberries & strawberries and Vegetables such as beets , carrots , french beans , raddishes .red potatoes , etc are available in plenty .

Mahabaleshwar is very famous for its medicinal honey . World famous Italian Molobice species of honey bees are reared on the flowers of Akhara , Gella , Harda , Hirda , Jamun and Pissa . the honey collected from these flowers are named after the same . Flowers of Karvi and Whayty bloom only after 7 years . So Karvi and Whayty honeys are rare and very difficult to preserve . Similarly Chanas ( Cheakpea ) flavoured like chat , chatpata , garlic , lemon , pudina , salted , tomato , etc are vying with various designs of walking sticks to attract visitors' attention .

Numerous types of icecreams and cold drinks are expert in making a big hole in one's pocket . If anything remains then there are horse riding and camel riding .

Shall I mention this is a wet place ?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dilip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahabaleshwar Hill Station also viewed

Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 

Been to Mahabaleshwar Hill Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing