We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food At its Best..!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Happy Home Mahableshwar
Ranked #8 of 106 Mahabaleshwar B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food At its Best..!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stay at happy homes for 2N, with my family nearly accommodating around 15 People, the service was excellent, have no words for the food being offered, it was marvellous, Mr. Approva took everything into consideration and planned accordingly well...you dont have a particular menu being followed here..you just say what do you want and they will make it for you..the room are quite big equipped with 32" LCD tv and cable..with a balacony ( a bit narrorw ) but also dey have a huge garden with a swing and huge place to chill out...commutting to other points are easily accessible from this hotel..would surely recommend to have the food from Happy Home if staying in Mahabaleshwar.. :) Royston Rubert

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royston_rubert22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NASIK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I searched for HOMESTAYS in Mahabaleshwar and got this hotel Happy Home ranked at no.3 on Tripadvisor. Seeing the old reviews, opted for Happy Home. It proved a Great decision. It was a family trip of Me, Wife, 1 kid, my parents and In laws.

Contacted Mr. Apoorva for booking of 3 Bedrooms. Hotel is having great combination of Old Rooms + Newly constructed rooms. Old rooms are at entrance...It looks like Old Maharashtrian Home with Verandah and constructed with stones. On the back side they have a Bungalow with 3 Bedrooms on ground floor and 1 Large Bedroom (5 Beds) on upper floor. He offered us a Big HALL + 3 Bedrooms in that bungalow. Out of which, 2 Bedrooms are nice with clean bathrooms. Only one was not so good as expected. But we stays in room only at night....So who cares.... We reached at around 3.30 afternoon for check in (follow their instructions for Roads) and surprisingly, the staff was waiting for us for lunch. They first served us and then only they had their lunch.

I must tell you that this hotel is actually for FOOD lovers and many tourists visits here only for quality food this hotel offer. In our 3 nights stay, they satisfied our taste buds with mouth watering dishes and I bet you will die for these dishes whenever you visit Mahabaleshwar. I met few of their customers who have been visiting this hotel since last 20 years.

Now Take a note of following about this hotel...

a) You might feel (with photos) that hotel is at any isolated place. But its in main area and very near to Mahabaleshwar temple, Panchganga Temple (both 2 minutes walk) & Krishnai Temple (10 mins walk). Its called Old mahabaleshwar.

b) Hotel is known for Food and loving staff. They will serve you as if you are a precious guest in their family. You might get tired by eating but they will not feel tired for preparing dishes for you. Owner himself cooks some dishes for you. They will care for small things (he grinded a Chapati in mixer for my father in law at perfection so that he should not have a problem for chewing). Non veg food is prepared at outside space of kitchen.

c) Ask for Vegeterian food if you want to fully enjoy the dishes...Also, Dont ask for a Punjabi food / dishes here...We regularly eat them in city hotels. Go for maharashtrian veg food / dishes. DO NOT FORGET to ask for KARELA FRY, CORN PATTICE, POHA, UPAMA, KADHI KHICHDI, FLOWER SABJI, DUM BIRYANI. I never ate these dishes in my life anywhere like in this hotel. If you are Non-Veg, then Malvani Style Fish / Chicken is good. In sweet, ask for SHAHI TUKDA, KHEER.... You order anything and they will say YES with smile.....

d) Do not expect rooms like a regular tourist Hotel. Here, rooms provide basic amenities. You might get disappointed at check in but when you leave this hotel you will thank yourself for staying in this hotel. Remember, Its a Homestay and it lives for the purpose of homestay. If you are interested, Owner will sit with you and discuss about Mahabaleshwar, Temples, Points, history or on any topic or even chit chat.... He himself gave Hot buckets of water in the morning for bath. He prepared Tea for us as his staff got late for some reason... It depends how homely you take it. He even called someone at VENNA LAKE and reduced our 2 hours waiting time for boating to 10 mins only.

e) Always better to have your own vehicle. Hotel arranges for a guide (Name – Ankush) for sightseeing (need to pay for him).

f) All staff (Sameer, Munna) are very caretaking and loves to serve. If hotel is full (saturday, sunday) then service might be delayed but no compromise in quality from their side. Have a faith they try their best. There is some issue with hot water at morning as they have Boiler. But don't lose your patience in the morning itself...Instead Co-ordinate with Mr. Apoorva and he will bring hot water in buckets.

My whole family decided to stay in this hotel only whenever in Mahabaleshwar. Thanks Apoorva and your team for mesmerizing stay..... (only suggestion is, fit a SOLAR WATER HEATER at the earliest).

Its really good Homestay run by Homely people.....

Room Tip: If possible, see the rooms before check in and select the one you like (on cleanliness etc). Upper b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JITUSPOST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My parent's had their 30th wedding anniversary in June 2013.I wanted to send them to Mahabaleshwar (as a anniversary gift from me & my husband). But I was worried about the hotel, and being in USA I could not properly arrange the trip for them. And I didn't want anything to ruin this gift. But I saw very nice reviews about Hotel Happy Home.Actually its a home-stay. And decided to go for it. I just called Mr Kothare once and told him my requirements and that was enough. My parents along with my 2 sisters lived in Hotel Happy Home for 2-3 days and they were really very satisfied about all the service provided at the hotel.
Their review is-They arranged free pick & drop service from bus-stand and a car for Mahabaleshwar-Panchgani-Pratapgad trip with affordable price.Food was really delicious and homely. Even hotel arranged complimentary cake and special food for my parents wedding anniversary. That was really unexpected. Staff was very good and honest. When my father offered some extra money to the staff for their great service,they politely refused to take it. This is really very rare now-a-days.
Now my parents are saying that whenever me & my husband will visit India they want to visit Hotel Happy Home with us again. It is a best home-stay for family.

Room Tip: Best for Family Stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoonamChorghade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at happy home last weekend. A treat for the taste buds really, it was really nice as a weekend getaway. With the weather not very supportive, given continuous rains and fog it is hard not to sit back and relax, what helps at such a time is company of family and friends and a cozy ambience. Happy homes provides that to quite a degree.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAbhijeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here with family in April 2013. It is located in old mahabaleshwar near temple. It is run by a very nice family. It is a home stay and rates are reasonable. Entire staff is very helpful. Fod served is always hot and spicy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul_N_Soni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking for a luxurious and indulging/expensive resort, you can stop thinking about this hotel and look out for another one. Hotel Happy Home is not a HOTEL. It is a Home. The property is a stone's throw away from Panchganga temple in Old Mahabalashwer and yet you will not hear an engine humming or the vociferous shrill of the tourists. The entrance to this home is a creaky gate and you get to park your vehicle in an open uncovered space. You are welcomed by an old colonial style home with a verandah running from left to right. It is adorned with creepers and you will immediately connect with the charm. There is a small, nice garden with lots of Balsam, Rose and jasmine flowers in front of this verandah. There are 4 rooms which can accommodate about 12 people comfortably. Again, these are just basic rooms with cots, a TV and a very modest bathroom. These rooms are in no way luxurious but they are clean and kept well.
The USP of this home is the food they serve in their dining area. The food includes both veg and non-veg options and a food connoisseur will appreciate the Malvani style of cuisine. But, the best part of this home is not the home itself or the food, but the owner of this home- Apoorva and his staff. He is very sensitive to your needs and lends personal attention to all your moods/whims. He provided us ICE for our Red Label, He provided us with a Camp-fire to keep us warm, He provided a BABY-SITTER for a little one. And most importantly he provides all these things with a SMILE. This SMILE is what I miss in most Hotels/Resorts and makes this home a very good option to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satyajeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

If somebody asks me which was the best part of our pune-shirdi trip, then my answer
would be Mahabaleshwar leg of the tour, in all aspects especially our stay at Hotel
Happy Home,situated in old Mahabaleshwar town.
Food was exceptionally good, service was equally good with the homestay owner
Mr.Apoorva Kotahray taking personal interest right from directing you from Mumbai-Bangalore highway to serving hot tasty food items . The vegetarian food arrangements were excellent. Also I heard they are very good in veg & non-veg Malwani food. The rooms are spacious and toilets are okay. Only lacuna was frequent power cuts and cableT.V. going blank.
Solar geysers and solar lighting with power backup will be ideal.
Location is suitable for people owning cars or those come by vans or taxis since it is
about 7 to 8 K.M. from the main new Mahabaleshwar town centre. Highly recommendable for budget travellers and for those who want to enjoy nice local food. Added bonus is 2 to 3 sight seeing points are walkable from the Homestay and a few are about 5 to 10 k.ms from the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RameshBabu_KV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Happy Home Mahableshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Happy Home Mahableshwar

Property: Hotel Happy Home Mahableshwar
Address: Old Mahableshwar, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing