We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Al Bahah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

It was something which was not expected at all,
Me and my wife were totally surprised by the presentation,place,freshness,promptness of duty and friendly attitude to the staff especially Mr Sabir. He was a gentleman, as we wished to stay a day extra and he made a point to arrange it for us even they were booked.

We talk about it the every other day.

Perfect place to be. I am surely coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction, Hopefully, we will see you back at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    256
    57
    13
    12
See reviews for
374
156
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel is in the middle of the town and two minutes walk from the market. Rooms are neat and bathroom was clean.

Beware of the monkeys entering the rooms. They have entered our room and made a mess when we left open our window and went out. They have opened all the snack items from the mini bar and eaten all our strawberries which we bought from the market. Hotel should have put a warning notice in the room to warn about the monkeys,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venkat_9099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar and to share your experiences. We continually strive to ensure that guests needs are met, so it is rather disappointing to read about the few issues you encountered. Please note that we have taken necessary corrective action. We hope to see you back on the island in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent the long weekend at Citrus. Was little expensive but the experience overall was awesome. Was circumspect before reaching there but to my surprise it was an outstanding relaxation for the entire period of stay. One big disappointment was no swimming pool (Repair work was on). But the freshness of the place and brilliant staff just covered up the loose points. I cannot praise just one member.... everybody was so welcoming that i am already planning my next trip.
Lets talk about food... no matter how much is said about the food at Citrus Mahabaleshwar, it will be less... being a Punjabi and a foodie it was simply mouth watering. The team was always ready to help in case of some different item of food other than the menu for my 3 and half year old kid.
The puppet show, horse ridding and the big screen India Australia match.. everything was well managed and planned.
It was just a complete experience..Thanks the entire team. Thanks Vishal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anshulk80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction, Hopefully, we will see you back at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

What makes a hotel good to great - off course the value against the price charged. Despite most of the things going in favour for Citrus the tarrif charged seems unjustified. Priced at over USD 100 or INR 6500 plus you would expect some better and basic comforts at a property.

Flaws

1) Swimming Pool- wasn't available for use the first day of our check in as there was no water. Second day as we checked the water looked a pool of green....not very convincing to plunge in.

2) In this age when even the basic hotels provide good beds , we expected better ones from Citrus. The bed are left half dressed too with the portion below bedding left exposed without bed cover. It doesn't look aesthetic.

3) Food is simply overpriced and there is no bar anywhere in the property, room or outside.

4) No HD TV channels

Why the property charms you

The heritage styling and the wonderfully cured flower beds make you like the property instantaneously. There is lot of space to stroll around and it does give you a feel of being in a quiet hill station from colonial times.

The property is very close to the market yet tucked in a corner of peace and greenery. So the evening walk to the bazaar is very convenient.

The British Dak Bungalow styling is indeed charming and sets Citrus apart.

Final word

Maybe the small inventory of 29 rooms makes it easy for the management to charge an over premium. The property will look good if you aren't too much of a value seeker or a bargainer for your bucks.

One more think - I would have liked to rate this property higher than Average but lower than very good. But TripAdvisor doesn't give an option in between. Hence the property in my opinion is good but has gaps to close to move to very good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank upadhyaysudhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our resort. It is certainly not great to read that you had such a difficult time with us, and that the standards set were not matched or addressed at this time, as this is certainly not what the Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar experience is all about. We have discussed all points mentioned seriously and ensure shall not happen again. If you do decide to visit Mahabaleshwar in the future, we would be delighted to offer you a return stay, even for a short while in between your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visited the hotel during Holi. I had earlier stayed in Citrus Lonavala and had a good experience. So, wanted to try this one. We were coming from Mumbai and reached the hotel at 7:00 AM and the staff allowed us early check-in. That was a big plus as we could comfortably freshen up and had the entire day at our disposal for relaxing/ sightseeing. Chosen a deluxe room

About location: 2 mins from the main market by walk and around 15 mins by walk from main bus stand. Most of the private buses also drop near bus stand. In fact, while returning we walked from the hotel to catch bus. 20-25 mins walk to Wilson point. Early risers can have a beautiful view of sunrise from there and others, sunset.

About the look and feel: The best part were the flowers at entrance. Very tastefully plant and gave a wow look to the entrance lobby. The hotel is not big though but it has decent place to roam around. A beautifully designed kids play area where kids from 2-10 can enjoy swings and slides. You can also lay down your hand at Chess with those big wooden rooks and bishops. The open restaurant Bistro has a typical look. Carpeted with artificial grass in the midst of rooms, it has a very unique combo of open and very clean feel. Pool is OK. They do have a small spa also.

About the staff: That is a big plus. Very helpful and go out of the way to please guests. In fact, when they came to know, that I had come for my wife's birthday they arranged a surprise cake. Made a very memorable day.

About the food: I am a veggie, so my review won't help the red circle seekers. Had buffet breakfast and dinners. Tasty, decent variety and price was also OK.

About others: They arranged a karaoke in our room at our request. Worth trying, I tell you.

About price: A tad costly, yes

Overall a very good shoe being put up. Do recommend a stay over there.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puneet01_bansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction, Hopefully, we will see you back at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

WE stayed for 3 nights in suite after reading review from TA, but were disappointed. VEG food quality is decent. Non-veg eaters please eat outside (limited option in non veg and not tasty). No bar facility. Very small restaurant and limited option in buffet. Food is very costly and rooms are highly rated. Room service does not match the standards.
Veg Food is decent, non veg eaters do not try the buffet. Morning breakfast has limited Indian options. its waste of money.

The staff is good, well trained but not discipled. They keep on repeating same lines again and again.... very irritating...

I had ordered a beer, which cost 80 rs but i was charged 100 rs by the staff.

The property and location is good, I like the place.
The suite do not have any windows, so no ventilation & sunlight. And at night pls do not forget to lock you doors especially for suite as the opening is on the other side of the hotel restaurants.
BUT pls do not try the swimming pool… (check the water before entering the pool)

Room service – If you place an request over the intercom then things might work fine. But if you request any staff passing by, your request is lost. A simple masala tea can take 40 mins and room cleaning request is squandered.. (They do what they feel is the best and convenient to them)
At one instance my room was cleaned in my absence without my permission using some other key.

Problem I faced during my stay: -
- My mobile was stolen from restaurant area.
- My suite room was opened in my absence for cleaning, regardless of telling the staffs not too do so.
- The people in black court have a big attitude. one person (purendru) is rude and not ready to listen to customers grievances. And the funny part he started ignoring us… hahahahaaa…


There are no cctv in the entire facility, when I my mobile went missing from restaurant. I asked them for cctv footage and they replied they were no cctv present in entire hotel. In fact one the staff continuously argued that the staff had not stolen the mobile.
As per him - some small kid must have picked it up mobile from restaurant table, then switched it off and threw it some where far away / or monkeys must have entered the restaurant and stolen the mobile - this was the theory – guy was stubborn on his theory. (he was not ready to listen or accept any fault from his side – same person mentioned above)

at last day.. before checking out , one of the staff informed me that my complaint was reported to head office. and i asked them where was their head office located.. nobody knew.. hahahaha...

Think twice before you book this hotel. The hotel service has been downgraded.

Room Tip: lock your rooms before you sleep. always remember they have an alternate key and can access your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our resort. It is certainly not great to read that you had such a difficult time with us, and that the standards set were not matched or addressed at this time, as this is certainly not what the Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar experience is all about. It is so disappointing that we did not meet your expectations with regards to service standards, and we thank you for bringing these really important points of issue to our attention. We have taken all points mentioned seriously and and ensure shall not happen again. Although, we did not fair well in your opinion, it would give us great satisfaction, if you were to take a second chance on us for a small visit, when you are next in Mahabaleshwar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is the first time sharing any experience on TA......So had an overall wonderful experience . We only couple were going , but later on our family (Bil , Sil & son) also joined in . We had done our booking well in advance , but for the family an extra room was booked on a v short notice , a day before the travel (15th mar'14 - 17th mar'14 ) which was total surprise that we got the room keeping in mind the long weekend and non availability at other places. Cheers to Citrus !!! They made it happen :)
Their excellent hospitality , good spread of food , calm and serene , and v close to the market ......
and not to forget the 'smiley' badge on their staff.....

Full recommendation !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rituk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 30, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction, Hopefully, we will see you back at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.0 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#11 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
256 reviews
5.5 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saj Resort
Saj Resort
#7 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar

Property: Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Address: L.C. Dsouza Road | near Aaram chowk, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing