We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel average but hospitality and service very good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hotel average but hospitality and service very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The photographs on the Internet were pretty impressive but the property is just about ok definitely not worth the price. However having said that the staff was very service oriented and extremely cordial bending backwards for the guests so much so that despite being full up agreed for us to extend the stay without prior booking. The hotel is very well located close to Wilson point and the market...walking distance to both places. Property itself needs a face lift if you ask me with repair work going on in the afternoon with much banging which is very irritating when you are on vacation.

Room Tip: Carry umbrellas during the monsoon period as the rooms are located in the back and there is a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiran232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. Sorry that we did not meet all your expectations and hope that this will not be a damper on hopefully your next visit to Citrus Chamber Mahabaleshwar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    255
    56
    13
    12
See reviews for
366
151
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The property is in need of urgent repair and damage control in many areas including hygiene and safety issues- it's absolutely senseless having smooth slippery tiles when they're bound to be wet and moss covered this season- it spells hazard for innocent guests. It simply doesn't justify the prices as there's no value in terms of a luxurious stay, whereas the same can be enjoyed at a little extra charge in any good property like brighlands resort. Food quality was avg, staff was good. All in all a very poor experience, no more citrus for any of us around my family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shabzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is certainly not great to read that you had such a difficult time with us, and that the standards set were not matched or addressed at this time, as this is certainly not what the Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar experience is all about. Sorry that we did not meet all your expectations and hope that this will not be a damper on hopefully your next visit to Citrus Chamber Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar between the 8th and 10th of August. I had chosen this hotel after recommendations from colleagues and discount form the website. The hotel is old converted bungalow. I had taken my very old parents and shared the room with them. The rooms in Windsor WIng are very big and are tastefully set up with English Antique furniture all around. I liked the feel of the hotel. The Staff was also very helpful with service and help to my old parents. We were taken very good care of by the Restaurant Boys and Mr. Purnendu Ghosh who is the F&B Manager.

Some things that the hotel can look to add probably to make the place more easier for senior citizens - make all the entry points wheelchair accessible for older and differently abled citizens. I was a little disappointed that we couldn't get fish (except pomfret). SInce we are Bengalis and this was more of an Ol' English property, I half expected them to provide the same.

My stay was enjoyable and I recommend the place to all those who are looking to take families and old parents. Will come again

P,S. We went during peak monsoon and hence couldnt enjoy the surroundings to its full but that is hardly anybody's fault :).


Thanks
Debraj

Room Tip: If you are more than 2 adults in same room, better to opt for the WIndsor Wing Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb_TravelPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction. Sorry that our we did not meet all your expectations and hope that this will not be a damper on hopefully your next visit to Citrus Chamber Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

we had a wonderful stay at the citrus. the staff was very helpful, rooms were good. i loved the location of this resort beacuse of its close proximity to the market. the rooms were comfortable, clean. i enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SadqueRazzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction, Hopefully, we will see you back at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

1.Rooms were dirty-Excuse was since its a heritage building they can't change the tiles (but they can always clean it).
2. Superior rooms were too small when passing between tv and bed for going to bathroom i have to squeeze thru
3. Attitude of the few staff serving food was bad and at one point i have to complain to the manager for it.
4. The beds were terrible and needs immediate replacement

Room Tip: Go for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulvinder s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar. It is so disappointing that we did not meet your expectations with regards to service standards, and we thank you for bringing these really important points of issue to our attention. Although, we did not fair well in your opinion, it would give us great satisfaction, if you were to take a second chance on us for a small visit, when you are next in Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had stayed for 2 days at Citrus Chanbers during 30th June - 2 nd July 2013. We had taken 2 Deluxe rooms at the Windsor wing for us and our 2 kids. the rooms had an inter-connecting door.
The rooms were large and compfortable, and a good view of the forest which were draped in clouds and presented occassional sightings of langurs.
The outstanding part of the experience was the staff who were very courteous and helpful. We like to mention of one Amir, who was at the restaurant and another gentlemen ( whoes name I have forgotton).
The market being close by is a good advantage, were we could go out for evening strolls, however, once we were in the hotel, we were completely isolated.
The restaurant food was good and though we enjoyed our dinner in our rooms, what we liked was that the food was served to us in courses and not all together.
Since we checked out on a Tuesday, there is a weekly market, which is set up on the road right outside the Citrus Chanbers from 9 am to 6 pm. We were informed of this ( thanks to TripAdvisor reviews) and hence hand to park our cars at a parking lot a little distance away.
The glass partiction in the bathroom ( room no. 3005) was missing and besides that we found everything else in order.
The kids enjoyed the play station, but we could not watch the DVD ( which was provided in our room) since they did not have good choices and the one we wanted was already issued. They can have a better collection of DVDs especially for guests in monsoon.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are good for families since they are large and have a window with a good view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar. It is so disappointing that we did not meet your expectations with regards to service standards, and we thank you for bringing these really important points of issue to our attention, and hope that this will not be a damper on hopefully your next visit to Citrus Chamber Mahabaleshwar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was there for the weekend 7-8th july 2013... at the reception they said that they have upgraded our room... and awarded me with room no. 3106... room was decent... but whole night we were not able to sleep just because they have installed a technology which even they dont know how it works...
remote to control all kind of electrical appliance- whole night we were struggling to turn off the lights and just wanted to switch on the fan/AC.... but almost after every 15 mins lights got on automatically... at 2 am they sent someone to fix the issue but even he was not able to fix it... finally at 3 am i decided to remove all CFLs in the room (8 of them)... and finally ws able to sleep but again then had some problem with the fan...


other than that they got a friendly staff... food is ok.. location is also ok.

Room Tip: if they say they have upgraded your room... you need to think twice "why they did this??"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abhi2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our resort. It is certainly not great to read that you had such a difficult time with us, and that the standards set were not matched or addressed at this time, as this is certainly not what the Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar experience is all about, we have discussed all points mentioned seriously and already fixed it, and ensure shall not happen in future. If you do decide to visit Mahabaleshwar in the future, we would be delighted to offer you a return stay, even for a short while in between your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.0 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#11 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.0 mi away
Saj Resort
Saj Resort
#7 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
5.5 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#4 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar

Property: Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Address: L.C. Dsouza Road | near Aaram chowk, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing