We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unfortunate Experience”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at Citrus Chambers during Diwali.When we arrived at check in there was a huge stink all over the place. Later we came to know that this was because of the ST plant located next to the property. The manager was very efficient and took immediate steps to personally supervise and resolve this matter and a few hour later the stink reduced. The suite was ok when we entered it. A few hours later the bathroom started to emanate a foul smell .We could not even enter the room without gagging.The housekeeping staff again responded immediately . They called the plumber and all of them managed to bring it under control. A few hours later as night fell the stink restarted and we could not even sleep properly because of the foul odor from the bathroom. In short we spent most of the stay either complaining about the smell or waiting for the housekeeping and plumbing people to resolve it. The manager and all staff were very cooperative and tried their level best to resolve the matter but were unable to do it until our check out. Also the ST plant at times give off its own smell in the garden .The food was very good and all people in services in restaurant housekeeping and management were very responsive ,polite and cooperative. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The other guests were apparently happy and comfortable but unfortunately for us and the management this issue could not be resolved despite everyone's best efforts.There is a nice and peaceful Sai Baba temple on the premises .

Room Tip: The corner suites have multiple windows if you are fond of fresh air and sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbaisds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our resort. It is certainly not great to read that you had such a difficult time with us, and that the standards set were not matched or addressed at this time, as this is certainly not what the Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar experience is all about, however, we have taken all points mentioned seriously and ensure shall not happen in future. If you do decide to visit Mahabaleshwar in the future, we would be delighted to offer you a return stay, even for a short while in between your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    261
    60
    14
    13
See reviews for
392
160
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

When i think about citrus i remember extremely clean toilets; pleasent surroundings; very very polite staff and very friendly reception staff. Citrus definately provides full return to money spent. Although food is good, we feel that is the only section where some value addition can be made.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay_prabhu90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction, Hopefully, we will see you back at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Travelled to Citrus Chambers at Mahabaleshwar with my spouse, 6-yr old son and my aged parents. It is a nice cosy facility styled on the colonial architecture with adequate rooms and suites. We had booked the all-meals package in Deluxe rooms via MakeMyTrip.

Location: It is a mere 2 minutes walk from Mahabaleshwar's market, yet there is complete peace within the hotel (its at a slight height from the market place)

Rooms: Rooms are adequate for the price (no bath-tub), comfortable beds.

Room Service: Extremely efficient - whether it is requesting for grooming essentials or a replenishment of the tea/ coffee etc

Staff: Extremely polite, well-mannered and a pleasure to speak with. Even the security guards at night enquire about your well-being. Rarely does someone across with such courteous people. In short, the staff look very happy with their jobs - which is a good sign.

Child Activities: Basic facilities with slides, swings. The teens can try their hand on the sole Sony PlayStation. There is a table-tennis table and they even help you setup a carrom table in your room. They had setup a magic-show for the kids during our stay.

Meals: We settled for an all-meals package since we were travelling with our 6-yr old son. Breakfast always had a good spread to start your day. Lunch and dinner was well laid too.

Definitely recommend this hotel. Its value-for-money.

Room Tip: Deluze rooms are good. You may want to try their Suites also - they are quite big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitabhS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction, Hopefully, we will see you back at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good location, service,food. Little overpriced. Rooms are spacious. Need a bit of upgrade to match the price. The place is quaint. very near to the market.Overall very nice experience. The ambiance is nice. Pool is smaller. No signboards of the hotel on the way.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shishirkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Sorry that we did not meet all your expectations and hope that this will not be a damper on hopefully your next visit to Citrus Chamber Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was on a family vacation for 2 nights and 3 days . Hotel is very close to Market place which every family who visited Mahableshwar needed. Its having ample place for parking and walking. The hotel is small but very good in its way. Good ambiance with greenery around. Rooms are of clonial type of bunglows. Its major and strong positive points are its staff - whether its from housekeeping or banquet or any other services. Our major interaction was with banquest staff remembered one name Mr Aamir Shaik AND his collegues . We are very fond of different types of food. and this team is very cooperative in selection of food.-- EXCELLENT.. One more person whom I remembered is Thapa. On the other side its good for small children as its having big space to play. Above everything its staff who are very very nice and honest.
OVERALL CITRUS HAS ITS OWN CLASS OF CLIENT.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny with large ground infront of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARSHAD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction, Hopefully, we will see you back at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to Citrus Mahabaleshwar in Feb,12 and stayed their for 4 days. It was a selection on the basis of Tip Advisor and budget. And no regrets, they lived with the expectation.
Sorry but i forgot the names if person whome impressed me. Food was excellent. Lolz, we always got up late but still they some how manage to give us food on right time. Talking about food, well well I want you to teach recipi of your Kashmiri Dum Aloo to my wife. She tried the same but as expected failed. Its was yummmm.. And adding to the flavor, Service. Guys you are rocking for sure. And the locations for your meals are fantastic. Specially that Tent.
Guy on reception some how manages to keep a secret of my Cigerets. Thanks buddy.
But overall, we made mind before leaving from there. Will come soon for sure..
Thanks
Ankit

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankittn_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your time spent with us at Citrus Chambers, Mahabaleshwar. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that everything was to your satisfaction. We continually strive to ensure guest satisfaction, Hopefully, we will see you back at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are too small
Good is gr8 and also staff is good
Location is also near to market place
Breakfast was amazing
Rooms are too small
Good is gr8 and also staff is good
Location is also near to market place
Breakfast was amazing

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doshiharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson M, General Manager at Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, January 31, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Sorry that we did not meet all your expectations and hope that this will not be a damper on hopefully your next visit to Citrus Chamber Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.0 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
578 reviews
5.5 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar

Property: Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Address: L.C. Dsouza Road | near Aaram chowk, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing