We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Economic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Initially as we were staying in the Economic Room.. i thought we were neglected but later on when we had a problem with bathroom.. we saw that the Manager himself came to check all the rooms and he inquired us about the problem and got it fixed.. the administration is very good.. from the resort the sunset point is very near.. so enjoy the room as they are very cozy.. food is alright u can have food at the small restaurents in the Market area.. so dont worry its very nice though a little expensive..

Room Tip: U can also choose standard room instead of Economic.. economic is also good but if u want to stay at...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Journeyer_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 320 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I am visiting mtdc mahaba. each year for last ten years. It was a treat for middleclass persons who They have rised the acco. Cost each year very promptly. But haven't repaired the kids slides and toys. They have closed dormitory and started honeymoon suites and other expensive package but did not provided facilities reasonably. When Mr Vijaysinha Mohite patil was tourism minister it was working very well. But for last five years it had lost its capabilities.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Suraj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Its been 10 year we have been booking the MTDC dormatry, its one of the best accommodations I have ever been, nice place to hang around with friends good time to spend and good food quality.I am planning to this again for the next month end.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shrikumar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The location is one of the best place in Mahabaleshwar and along with that reasonable too.There are many rooms which are available there depending on the size of your family. We opted for standard rooms - bit smaller in size but very clean and ok for one or two night stay. There is a restaurant within the premises where you can enjoy good food. the best part is the greenery, there is big lawn in front of every room and swings for kids.Very near from Golf court and Sunset point (attractions).
Value for money stay, helpful staff, good food,clean location,excellent .

Room Tip: If you are ore then 3 then opt for a big room as Standard rooms are actually small. I mean max for c...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The property is huge and is right in the forest, however the rooms are very badly maintained. The rooms are spacious, however the linen and bed sheets seems to be there since ages. You would not want to lie down on those beds. The furniture is very badly kept and seems the government is not at all interested in maintaining it. The rates are at par with other good properties in the area, however what is being given for that price is totally not worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MukulJain_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The surrounding location of this MTDC resort was just awesome. The rooms were clean and spacious and very well maintained. There is also a huge park for children to play.

It was a quiet and a peaceful stay over here.

I recommend to stay and get a peaceful experience of here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fundoo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I checked in with family for 4 nights in the month of March 2014 in a 3-bed cottage (Rs.3150 per night) at MTDC Mahabaleshwar.

The location of the resort is beautiful but as soon as you enter into the room/cottage, you have a feel like you are checked into a typical sarkari guest house and like you are guest who has paid nothing to avail the stay and the felicities. And you dont have any choice but to stay there as you had paid full amount in advance during online booking.

The furniture is atleast 40 years old and never done any repairing or maintenance. You can make it out by pictures attached here.

The reception and the canteen is at around 3 min. walking distance (no lights in the dark) and intercom hardly works. As you dont get cellphone network in the room, you have to go out of the room, wait for phone signals and then call reception/room service for any requirement.

If you order for meals, you get it in a manner as you had ordered for home delivery to your local restaurant in your town. They send the meals in aluminium foils with paper plates and disposable plastic spoons. You dont have bowls to pour daal or gravy items. No serving spoons. You have to eat holding your paper plate as you eat during a outdoor picnic. And yes! you have to pay in cash for every thing ordered.

The main door did not have stopper, so every time you open and leave the door it makes big noise.

The double bed has mattresses of different levels.

Only one electric plug in entire cottage.

There was no jet in the toilet, however, after shouting at the reception, they managed to install one.

Only one thing i appreciate is Staff Courtesy. Staff is polite and supportive but I see the failure of top management of MTDC who are either irresponsible or making money in the name of corruption.

MTDC should stop its spending on promotion and invest on maintenance of its properties. After all its public money.

At the end, i would say, you can get better rooms on the same or even lower cost at any private hotel in Mahabaleshwar. So it is recommended NOT TO CHOOSE MTDC RESORT.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashish_Mumbai100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
3.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
1,023 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
589 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#9 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Jeevan Village Resort
Jeevan Village Resort
#14 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#25 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar

Address: Taluka Mahabaleshwar, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: $9 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Mtdc Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing