We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, worth for money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Noida, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, worth for money”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It is a very nice resort, nice location, friendly staff . Food is delicious. Scary at night due to the sound of the wind. If getting a chance to visit Mahabaleshwar, i will only prefer to stay at same resort again .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nishi300685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    116
    103
    27
    22
See reviews for
172
77
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

One usually does not expect mech when it comes to resorts run by the tourism department. Well, stay here to believe in the word "Homely". For one the place is simply beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are not much in terms of luxury, but are really up to the mark for rest. The green cover, in the empty spaces is most welcome during the early mornings as you can hear the chirping of many a birds.
The service is good and the food well cooked and adequate.
I wish the availability of rooms was not such a issue. So if you are planning a visit to Mahabaleshwar, book early. Internet booking is the only option available.
A home away from home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivekkalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for adventure, "me" time and place for walking freely - nothing better than this. Complete access to the jungle route w/o any disturbance. Food was just awesome. Ordered special fish preparation from the cook and they just served and made it so very special. General food at hotel is also good. The linens definitely need a change and s do the almost breaking furniture. I believe they are going to renovate this post monsoons. Cottages are good to stay though. Be ware of monkeys!! Even within the MTDC property, there're a lot of to places to explore by walk.

Room Tip: Krishna Cottages - not the begining ones though
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neetukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First point people working there are really very good and warm.I reached there around 10pm and they greeted with smile and helped me lot.There restaurant closes at 9pm but still they helped us with food and coffee at 10.30pm.

As expected, ambiance of rooms was not that great but rooms were pretty big and esp washrooms.

In couple of reviews people are saying restaurant food is pathetic but believe me food is not bad.I had Aloo parathas and they were great along with Masala tea.As compared to market resort tea and parathas are cheaper.

Every morning cleaning staff will come and clean room and washrooms.

Over all i can stay there again subject to i have my own convenience.

Room Tip: Try to get room close to reception office for quick room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hitender S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked the room in the second week of Aug-13 (rainy season). It was a terrible experience for us as soon as we entered the room since room was smelling too bad (may be due to so old walls/construction was mixing with rainy water). There was spitting on the wall corners and blankets were also very dirty and unhygienic. Cupboard and furniture were dusty and old with same bad odour. After check-in, half of the day we spent in market to find a new hotel without a success. In the night we could hardly sleep due to that bad room odour. Finally, we had to cut short our trip and we checked out very next morning from MTDC resort without getting a refund of full next day. Only good thing was that staff people were warm and cooperative and resort has got plenty of open space so may be in summers it would feel nice.

Resort is 2 km away from market and in the daytime/evening time you don’t get taxi easily outside of resort. So you may have to walk all they way 2 kms to get to the market or even if you get a taxi, they charge 100/- for one side. I will suggest to get an hotel in the market area, If you don't have a vehicle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabaleshwar hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

room was big but with so old and dusty furniture.It is located in romote area.around 2 kms far from main market,if you gonna stay over there with family think once again because you have to pay taxi fare from resort to market inr 100/- and vice versa.otherwise you have to go by walk on road which was like forest.we booked cottage which was for inr 2600/- per day.we have already paid 5200 for 2 nights at the time of booking in mumbai office.they have charged extra inr 900/- as taxes at the time of check-in which was not informed to us.canteen food was excellent.you can get more cheap hotels with better amenities than MTDC in market area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank znmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The resorts is huge and the only best thing about this is online booking rest all is not worth for the money they charged , we 2 couple booked Deluxe villas and when we reached there on first night , they gave us villas at the end of resort , where there was not enough lights , no phone , and bed was like soaked in water and jerk smell of moisture . looks like they were not opened from long time . somehow we spent our night and next morning we went to reception and ask them to change it , at least here it worked somehow and they gave us one near to reception , which was far better than the previous one . Its huge property but maintenance is worst, which is the main problem with this.

Room Tip: not worth for money , you will get plenty of other hotels in lesser price after reaching there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhil007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
3.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
860 reviews
7.1 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
288 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#11 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
1,123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar

Property: MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Address: Taluka Mahabaleshwar, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Mtdc Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing