We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good value for money stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good value for money stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We drove from Pune to Mahabaleshwar and checked in @ MTDC resort for 2 nights. The location is really good and the area inside is like a well laid out garden with big trees . There are lot of monkeys around which seems a little nudgy if you have small kids..but it gave usa good feel of the old circuit house/ government bunglows ...nice place and a decent eatery as well. Close proximity to lodwick point and Sunset point. Lots of parking space available , but keep you car locked at all times because of monkeys....safe and good for family

Room Tip: Standard rooms are not bad, cottages can be little better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satyaki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    111
    101
    26
    22
See reviews for
167
75
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had been to Mahabaleshwar on April 2013.MTDC resort fits our Pocket, Opt for Standard room if ur a couple or for Family Suite if traveling with bunch of people. Resort is wrapped in arms of Nature, Birds singing, Monkey's playing, Lush green,aroma of wild fruits& flowers, Senic Moutain views...in short best place to be if one enjoys nature....away from noise of Mahabaleshwar Mkt...yet easily accessible.
Rooms isn't luxurious but well maintianed.Resort has Jhula & play area for Kids.
Restruant food is average...few meter away from Resort is a Tapri..one gets good snacks (Misal & Poha) try those.

Must see Places: Visit all pts in Arthur Seat pt tour.This part of tour has amazing views of sayadri's. Viit Mkt area to shop and reliesh straberry deserts.Guffa or Devil's kitachen in panchagani. Veena lake in evening just to Chill...good picnic spot.
Place to avoid: Panchaganni is much talked about..nothing actually exciting here...Mapro Garden no longer has Straberry farms, Table land is not that senic...avoid Horse ride in Table land...not at all worth the money.

Room Tip: Opt for Standard room if ur a couple or for Family Suite if traveling with bunch of people. Avoid Ec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VikramKini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked MTDC Mahabaleshwar, for 2 nights and i must say it was a pleasant stay for all of us. We were 2 families, including 2 kids of 10 mths and 10 yrs. The Resort location is excellent and the food available in resort is good quality. I will not say best, because the same is available in the main market which is approximately 1.5 kms away from resort.
Getting up early morning and walking around the resort was really relaxing. The size of resort is huge (approx 30 acres), the rooms are spacious and lot of greenery around.
There is a very nice point in the resort itself which gives a nice valley view.
The rooms were clean and the people were polite. The rates starts from 1100 per night per room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, if possible take a room near valley view point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDarshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai (New Mumbai), Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The resort is in bad condition and needs renovation. The cottages are in bad shape and if you opt for superior rooms they are somewhat in better condition. The location is 500 meter to the main market. The location is good with average to good food. you may get better hotels near by with same price in of season.

Room Tip: neighborhood has better hotels... near main market
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarvinder_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalyan, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in Standard room. It was quite good and clean room. The rooms appear to be old and may be are due for maintenance; though they are quite clean. I must say that campus is very good, spacious and quite clean. Hospitality is very good. Staff here is very supportive and value their customers. Food was also good and seemed reasonable in terms of the rates. Overall Thumbs-up.

Room Tip: Standard room will be suitable only for a couple. Extra bed in that room is not possible. I saw othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prashant k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is not my first trip to the strawberry destinatiion of India, viz; Mahabaleshwar. Neither is it my first stay at MTDC resort.

We visited the place recently-21st march-24th March. Rather the plan was to spend 3 nights and 4 days. But thanks to the awful rooms we had to modify our travel plans. Yes, we wasted a day's money-room tariff-one room night wasted.

Logistically MTDC is just about 1.5 kms away from the main market. But the cottage rooms-the best (according to MTDC) turned out to be a complete disaster. The paint on the walls had come off at several places with dust all over. It was very unwelcoming. As we entered the room we could only see two bath towels was nicely folded and kept on a dirty table. After reviewing a few cottage rooms we finally selected CR (Cottage Room) no. 4. The bathroom was clean and modern.

Restaurant -Nothing great and certainly not worth its cost. So better to dine outside.

A few choices could be-Hotel Dreamland (Veg), Shiv Sagar, etc.

To add to our woes there we had to spend a sleepless night just before our return journey back to Mumbai. the reason being sudden power cut from 12am - 8.30am. MTDC has no power back up for its guests. The generator is used only to supply water.
Isn't that a nightmare?

So, all you travellers please do not stay at MTDC resort Mahabaleshwar.

They charge Rs 3000 per night for cottage rooms with absolutely sloppy service.

Best time to visit Mahabaleshwar- Winter.

Room Tip: Cottage Rooms are supposedly good. But except the bathroom nothing is good in CR.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sayantani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabaleshwar hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed during 15th to 17th Mar 13 in economy room....I had booked though Maharashtra tourism website...it was quite easy and trouble free check in in MTDC on 15th...MTDC resort is away from city which increase its value quite.....so you can enjoy real nature .....Economy rooms are well located ......room was neat and clean and every thing is in working conditions including phone..... atmosphere was quite pleasant,,,monkeys were jumping all around.....,,,no need of Alarm in morning ...as birds were singing in early morning .........felt real silence during evening time.....

Room Tip: Rooms were allocated by MTDC....so no choice.....every room is good located
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pineshmoradia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
3.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
7.1 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#6 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.4 mi away
Saj Resort
Saj Resort
#5 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Shreyas
Hotel Shreyas
#8 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#11 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar

Property: MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Address: Taluka Mahabaleshwar, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Mtdc Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing