We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great property ruined by apathy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A great property ruined by apathy”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at the MTDC Mahabaleshwar in the second week of October 2011. Having stayed at many other MTDC properties earlier, the expectation from this property was zero. And hence we were not very disappointed with it. Let me first tell you the positives. The resort has huge space surrounded by forests. It is merely a five minute drive away from the main bus stand. It is very close to the sunset point. The rooms are large. The economy room which we stayed in was spacious with its very own changing room. The rates for the stay are reasonable.The various cottages spread over the resort lend it an old world charm especially in the misty evenings. BUT........ what could have been the lovely walks through the resort were spoiled by rubbish thrown all along the paths. There were plastic bottles, papers, etc carelessly thrown around. Maybe the fault lies with the tourists who dont give nature its due respect but since the litter was within the resort boundaries, it could have been cleaned up. The sight of seeing so much garbage at every wonderful turn cringed our insides and I could only imagine the old glory of this once beautiful resort. The economy room was not well maintained. It was not unclean but it was shabby. We saw some rooms near the reception area being renovated, so hopefully they would be better to live in. We did not eat at the restaurant within the premise but had a cup of tea there. The service seemed to be slow. The children's park had broken down slides and swings. The cottages are spread out over a huge area. So if you have senior family members or those who have problems in walking, then its best to have your own vehicle there or atleast make sure that you get a cottage close to the reception area.
If this land was in the hand of a private group, they would have made a top luxury resort and charged us a bomb for it.... I am not angry, while writing the review about this resort but merely saddened at the deterioration of a beautiful jewel of Mahabaleshwar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jktra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    116
    103
    27
    22
See reviews for
172
77
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
286 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 738 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The MTDC Hotel at Mahabaleshwar enjoys an excellent location in a vast property surrounded by forest, close to the Bombay Point and the Polo Ground.

It is a pity that nobody cares for the property, with rubbish strewn around here and there, and general shoddy maintenance.

The rooms are good value in off season, can be booked on line through their website or on the phone a day ahead. Rooms are large with attached bathrooms. We stayed here last September and this year again. I can not say that the rooms were unclean but an overall air of shabbiness prevails.

The one restaurant on campus is nondescript, last year the food served was tasty but on this stay it was no better than downright stodge! There is also an Ayurvedic centre but we have no experience of it so cannot comment.

The hotel is well situated for those wanting to do early morning walks through the many bridle paths in the forest, the Tiger Path Ride is very close by. A good assortment of Western Ghats birds and butterflies can be seen right inside the property, if you are lucky you will also see the Indian Giant Squirrel. We did on our previous stay, this year he came and went while we were out on our walk! Monkey troops live in the forest trees in the campus, they did not bother us though I expect that in season one would have to exercise caution.

The old Governors residence is at the upper end of the MTDC grounds, from where you can get a fantastic view of the mountain ranges at sunrise and at sunset.

Having stayed here twice, I am not sure that I would want to stay here again. Other better standard hotels in Mahabaleshwar offer similarly priced off season rates.

On this stay, there was renovation work going on in some of the rooms - throughout the night as I discovered to my chagrin at 3.45am! They work these odd hours due to power cut in the daytime but that is no excuse, the front office staff could have given us rooms much further away from the noise. Admittedly this is a temporary problem but most definitely avoidable. I wish they would do something about removing all the rubbish from the grounds.

Room Tip: Take a look at all the available rooms before deciding
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gita-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel offers rooms ranging from Rs 500 - Rs 1300 per night. There are two sections, one older part and the new part. The older sections were built during British time and has that kind of feel to it, with high ceiling and all. The rooms are small though. The new ones are clean and better maintained and are large. The restaurant is privately maintained and is not under MTDC. The food is good and economical. There is a SPA facility maintained by Chiraya and is very clean and well maintained (again with private people). The hotel (only rooms) are maintained by MTDC. In rainy season, as it happens on Hills Stations, there is a possibility of bed sheets smelling a bit of dampness. If you are particular about it and also on budget then either dont book this hotel or carry your own blanket and sheets (like we did). In my experience, most hotels will have the same problem as it rains for more than 4 months in Mahabaleshwar. The toilets are clean and well maintained and have ample space. There are Geysers in each toilet so you get hot water 24 hrs, which is not the case for every hotel in the town. Most have fixed timings for hot water supply. The place also provide extra bedsheets and blankets if you need. We felt that it was too cold for us at this time of the year and had to ask for extra blankets. Overall the hotel was value for money and the staff very helpful. That was something very good that I noticed of Government Accommodation in Mahabaleshwar.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new wing of the hotel. The property is huge and if you don't have your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank errich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We have stayed there in mid Aug '11 in a standard room. The photos given in this site is hardly representative of actuall standard room there. The balcony is covered by tin shades and doesn't look nice. The furniture are old and need to be discarded immediately. The bed linen and rags were also stinking. Our feeling was they could have increased the fare and given better facilities. The nature is raw and pleasant. Room service is ok and they charge for it.
Aug is full rainy season and do not keep any sight seeing plan. Everything will be close or not visible. It is better to keep less plan and enjoy the rain for the resort. Only one drawback - if these were multilevel then enjoyment of rain would have been better.

Room Tip: Don't take standard rooms if you are not a budget traveller or travel in 3 star hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ParthaSadhukhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The place is totally unhygenic. The furniture needs to be burned and disposed. We were supposed to stay the weekend instead returned back to Pune by checking out in 3 hours the same day. The bathrooms are terrible. The dustbins, buckets, everything is horrible.
I wonder why they charge Rs. 1,850 for such pathetic cow sheds. Do they think Indians are animals and can be made to stay anywhere.
The almirah, the coffee table, chairs, the table, etc were even more terrible than ones available at any scrap dealer.
The place should be closed ASAP.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ravneet28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabaleshwar hotels

Pune
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

if you are shelling out own money and it is not company paid trip then MTDC Mahabaleshwar is the best place. very very cheap and best location near Sunset point. Also Mahabaleshwar centre place is around 3 KM from hotel. Enjoy good food and "Champi" - Local head massage at night

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This MTDC resort needs a renovation!! Rather, it needs to be rebuilt.

With MTDC, one doesn't expect too much. But one does expect decent clean rooms. The location of this resort is great - absolutely fantastic. It is spread in a very large area and that is a problem because the roads inside the resort area are broken and lighting is not good. Its best to get a room near the restaurant.

The cottage rooms are the best room available, are they are just about ok. All of them need repainting and the furniture is too old - needs complete replacement. Other rooms are not worth staying at all.

One good thing is the restaurant. Good food at reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kajain77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
3.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
860 reviews
7.1 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
288 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#11 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
1,123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar

Property: MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Address: Taluka Mahabaleshwar, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Mtdc Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing