We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small heritage hotel with good Parsi food.”
Review of Dina Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 116 Mahabaleshwar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice small heritage hotel with good Parsi food.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This property is way different from what would you expect from a hotel in Mahabaleshwar. It's a small heritage wooden hotel that has very few rooms. But don't get me wrong, the hotel is pretty amazing when it comes to basic services. The rooms and bathroom are basic but clean. Nicely done garden area. The owners are always there to help you with anything that you may need. The two amazing things about the place is the food and the friendly staff. They serve home style Parsi food. No fancy affair like Naan or Dal Makhni. Plain simple yummy Parsi food like Salli Botti and mutton dhansak. Their desserts are to die for. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. Mostly all Maharashtrian mamas who are always there to help you with whatever you need. They make sure that you feel homely and insist that you eat to your heart's content. The only thing I miss about the place is the staff. They were fab. Do visit this place if you like basic facilities and enjoy the warmth the people here provide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankur2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
82
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

we were not staying here but went there for lunch. it was excellent parsi food. it is rs 500 and a fix menu, sit down lunch. we had russian salad with eggs, potato soup, mutton cutlets, kababs, chicken dhansak, some vegetables which i cannot recall because i was busy with my delicious dhansak, ( they serve veg dhansak too ), caramel custard, strawberry souffle,( the best souffle we have ever had ) and icecream. All as much as you want and a very friendly service. what a meal it was. i wish i can get such a parsi meal in mumbai..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sidsha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Its a old british time hotel nicely done with few rooms. i went with my family n friends. The new rooms r vry nice n big. It is vry quite n beautifull....loved the service, and its value for mney. Must stay in the hotel with ur friends, family. It gives you a feel of staying in your own house with all the facilities n good food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sraina_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is again a lovely place, run by a Parsi family.

The view is great, the rooms are gorgeous love the decor. The peace is great the valley looks beautiful from here and with all of this there is only one thing that's missing the food. When its Parsi food cant miss the Dhansak and kebabs.

Well its easy to write my experience, its another thing to experience so go and enjoy it. All good things come at a price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sawants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at the Dina a month ago on a family holiday. The property is idyllic - on the top of a hill with a gorgeous view of the valley and river below. The bungalow is beautiful - old world charm with modern rooms. Easily the most beautiful property in Mahabaleshwar

Excellent Parsi food and great service. It feels like home with the comforts of a hotel.

Only downside- its fairly pricey compared to other properties but the divine food (almost) makes up for it!

Room Tip: Choose the newly renovated rooms. Rooms on the top floor offer a better view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were 13 of us age group max 80 minimum 10 ,had gone for one night stay at The Dina.
The weather was misty and light showers in the eve.We had a nice time all three meals were superb,especially Mutton Dhansak and brown rice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rahul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went to Dina's after spending two nights in Gautam. It was a welcome change with the old world charm (wooden furniture and all that). The food is just extraordinary. The staff is very cooperative and always smiling. Especially, the waiters in the restaurant made us feel very comfortable.

We got a room for INR 4,600 including all meals and tea / coffee, which was definitely a steal when compared with the exorbitant rates charged by hotels in Mahabaleshwar.

All in all, a wonderful place to stay in Mahabaleshwar. Do not expect 4* / 5* service. Just go there for the experience and you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.0 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
676 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
1,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dina Hotel

Property: Dina Hotel
Address: 142a C T S No 143a, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing