We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Its a decent hotel, away from hustle and bustle of Mahabaleshwar. They have huge expanse of land and a small portion is used for rooms. Good staff. They remember you. Good food in the afternoons. However, evening food was disappointing. The location is fabulous during evenings. Especially, when fog descends over the swimming pool. The environment is amazing.
Currently renovations are going on and will continue for next couple of weeks. This resort will look ravishing then.
They should plan for more indoor games. Currently, they hardly have anything worth talking 'bout. They should also add a movie theatre. That'll add zing to the experience.
This property is strictly for vegetarians and that perfectly suited me. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: They've new rooms towards the end of the property. They provide a secluded stay for couples or g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrqIndianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmolPtil, Manager at Regal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and we thankyou for your encouragement. Very soon we will be having a lawn tennis court, Cricket field and a spa.
Will certainly look forward to seeing you again

Thanks % Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 146 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Worst hotel I have ever stayed. I was there with my friends for one day ( 23 August 2012) and next day we changed the hotel. Here are the cons

1. The hotel is in a remote place and road is terrible there.
2. The hotel is pure veg and food option is very limited. Worst is they don't even allow non-veg inside the hotel.
3. The swimming pool is so dirty that even the road side drain is better than that.
4. We got a smelly room and the blanket was very dirty. They haven't provided towels and we did not ask them as it was obvious that it will be as dirty as the blankets.
5. At the time of checking in it was told that they have running hot water but when we checked there was no hot water in the bathroom. When we asked them they told us that geyser is not working.

Guys don't follow the old review's. It may a good hotel earlier but it's not anymore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anupam_Halder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmolPtil, Manager at Regal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Sir,
You had a prior reservation with us for one day only.
We understand your stay has been dis satisfactory and certainly respect your feedback.
Mahabaleshwar receives the 2nd highest rainfall in India and there is no sunlight from the month of July to September. Hence we have to adapt for the following climatic conditions.
1. The climate is foggy and rainy as a result there is high level of humidity and dampness in the room. The upholstery will always feel extremely cold.
2. The odour in the room is that of Humidity.
3. We are a pure VEG resort. Hence Non Veg food is not allowed inside the premises.
4. We regret the inconvenience caused as our boiler had a major malfunction. However alternate arrangements for HOT water was provided immediately.
5. We have a huge outdoor pool. The pool remains closed for the monsoon period.

We try and provide the best of services in this un conducive weather conditions. But certainly face natural hurdles

Regards,
AMol Patil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I went in last week of July when mahableshwar is covered in rains and fog & it visibility is low

Hotel location is far from market & the road to the hotel is unconstructed

There is no lighting on the road so it becomes too difficult in the night to find the road to the hotel

Hotel room was clean and the staff was very courteous

They serve only Veg and the food was good to taste

Overall experience was good but the hotel biggest disadvantage is the location due to road condition & lighting on the road is completely missing

Tip - If you want to relax and want to be far from market and just relax you my look for the hotel

Room Tip: Try to find room near pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jainesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbaitulsi, Manager at Regal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you Sir for your feedback.
You are rightful in saying the approach road is not good. However the road you came by is the ALTERNATE road. The main approach road to the hotel is blocked as the muncipalty has undertaken the revamp of the road and making is broader. The work should be finished soon. The alternate road is a little long and shabby. The Heavy monsoon and Fog do no better to the situation.
Next time you come the main approach road should be done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

very excellent hotel in mahabaleshwar.room service is very very good & the food is so good. Hotel climax is so good. My point of view Best family hotel in mahabaleshwar.jain tempal is very near.my family is very happy in stey this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayankshah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

nice stay among the woods staff are very cordial vegetarian food is excellent specially dinner and breakfast surroundings are good the way to hotel should be properly lighted landscape to be improved trees convenient for smaller birds should be planted nice staying

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinaki12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is hardly a hotel rather it would be apt if it calls itself a guest house. I travelled during the extended weekend in April first week and they charged us a honsome amount. However the services were very ordinary with harldly any staff around. There was no effort on the part of hotel staff to make your stay pleasurable. They were well mannered but without any initiative. When we arrived we were taken in by the guard at the entrance. The guard himself carried the luggage to the rooms (no other staff was in sight) and the wholw place bore a dull look. The hotel had nothing to raise ones spirit. Further it is in the interior. Fortunately we had a taxi otherwise it would definitely have given us a hard time. The management hardly pays any attention to the ambience and the uniform of the hotel staff. Overall a definite NO for the money they charge.

Room Tip: It atall you do choose, choose the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShrutiIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were recommended the REGAL Hotel, by a friend, when we were planning our trip to Mahabaleshwar. Our basic need was a decent place to park in, since most of our day would be lost in travelling. We were in Mahabaleshwar for the long weekend of 17th to 20th Feb 2012. Actually, we were there from 18th Morning till 20th Morning.2 nights 3 days.

We were given the Elite cottage rooms, that can be accessed as soon as you enter the gate. The rooms are quite cosy, and comfortable even for 3 people. We were 5 of us, and had two rooms for us. Very neat rooms, clean. Someone had told me that, the quality of a good room would be measured by how clean its bath/toilets are kept. And here the same was spic n span. No icky feelings on entering the same.

The staff were quite friendly, and prompt in reminding you of the food timings etc. They are there for almost the entire day, and very friendly.

The food is not great shakes, but not bad either. And as it is you are probably hogging to your hearts content, when you are out travelling or shopping in the market. Dinner during the two nights we were there, we had a diverse fare - pav bhaji, chinese food, pasta.

If you are travelling by your own vehicle - no hassles. However, if not, the only disadvantage is that the hotel is at a distance of 15-20 minuted from the market. The cost incurred on travelling to the market is Rs 50 per trip. Otherwise, if you want peace and quiet, this place hits the bill, as it is far from the market bustle.

The place is quite green, and there are swings n see saws etc for the kids - however, these are quite empty, as kids would rather be at go karting venues or involved with i pods etcd.

Overall for us , it was a pleasant experience. And if we were to travel again to Mahabaleshwar, we would stay defineitely at Regal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhilrao68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
1,074 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#9 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
1,277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#21 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Address: Mahad Road | District Satara, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: $331 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing