We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful picturesque view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This is one of the most beutiful Hotel in Mahabaleshwar region with a scenic view.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SakpalVijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2009

I want to detail out my experience at Surya to give all potential visitors a good idea of what they will venture into. I have been following TA for a long time but this is probably the first time wherein TA reviews didnt turn out right.

To begin with, i made a reservation for an off season weekend via its Andheri office (concept hospitality) as reservatios arent done by the hotel in Mahabaleshwar (as told by the andheri sales person - Kalpesh). He gave me a package of 8500 for a couple for 2 nights. When i said that its an off season and i should be given some additional deal, he mentioned that he will try to upgrade me but he never really even tried. I asked him if i could get only a lodging package to which he said that Surya doesnt offer that kind of package and its always meals incl. I trusted Mr Kalpesh and made my booking.

When i reached the hotel, the check in was fine and there was so special room allocated to us but the manager just picked a suitable key and handed to us. As promised, each room has a balcony and its got a very beautiful view of the valley to it. No denying this fact. The room size is decent as well. The service is good and quite quick.

so, whats the problem?

I have stayed in other hotels in Mahabaleshwar such as LakeView, Fountain, etc and all of them have decent rooms & service for a cheaper price tag. Moreover, Surya isnt worth because its not walkable distance from the market or the lake as comapred to other more reasonably priced and better hotels. The only USP about Surya is its balcony and view. But post 6 pm when it starts getting dark, one really cannot sit outside in the balcony because there are too many insects and bugs coming at you from the jungle ahead. The centrally AC doesnt seem to work much but since it was cold outside, we didnt bother and opted to turn the fan on. The service is good but the quality delivered is rubbish. The towels provided stinked and had stains all over (see picture). The pillow covers were v dirty too.

Now the worst part of this hotel was the food. Lunch was terrible and too limited in variety. 2 veg, 1 soup, 1 non veg...and thats about it. The paneer was hard and chewy and was floating in oil, the chicken was no way close to fresh and the the tomato soup was sour. We finished our lunch in less than 2 mins and went to the lake stalls and had awesome corn pattis. I cannot believe that the hotel charges 500 bucks for an adult for lunch (if you havent gone for the meal plan). Based on this, i asked the manager if i can go for just lodging to which he readily accepted (and the reservation offce told me that they only provide package deals) and said, if you dont go for meal plan, breakfast will cost you 200, lunch and dinner 500 each pp. Since i had no interest in eating at this hotel, i was totally ok with that deal. He said that lodging only is 500 less pp (cost of one meal pp).

But when we checked out, he just deducted 500 bucks instead of 1000 and he conveinetly said that lodging is total 500 less than the meal plan? and not per person?! How bizaare is that? If you add up individual meal prices for a couple its 2400 bucks and if you dont go for package its only 500 less?? I thought i was cheated but with a swear of never returning back to the hotel again, i moved on.

Conclusion: Food is pathetic. View is good only during AM. Rooms are decent but not clean. For the price paid = 8500, i would have def got a better value for money deal.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carte_Blanche888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Hey Guys,
Me and my family frequently travel to different places in Maharashtra. We been to lonavala, Alibag, Matheran etc...
My idea of vacation is visiting these places via my own car
(wherein I have the pleasure of Driving).
Mumbai (chembur) to Mahabaleshwar (Surya retreat) is 5 hrs journey (with one break on Pune expressway).
Roads are excellent if you take Mumbai Pune Expressway and then you jump to Bangalore Expressway (to Satara), you need to take left from WAI to reach Mahabaleshwar.
My 2N 3D stay in Surya Retreat was fantastic. Rooms were very neat and the staff was very friendly.
they have 2 types of room Suites and Executive rooms. All the rooms have valley view with centrally a/c.
Food was good, but didint like the Nonveg as much as I liked in the Resort ZOIA at Panval.
(Zoia Resort has a cook by name Nawab Shareef, who cooks amazing Nonveg Food ).
If you are typical vegeterian then you may enjoy their buffet system.
Your visit to Mahabaleshwar is incomplete if you miss the Strawberry choclates ( Falero, strawberry pulpy chew) and if you dont visit the shri.Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj's Pratapgad fort.
If you visit the fort the Guide may demand for Rs. 100/- to Rs. 150/-. Negotiate for Rs100/- and ask for Mr. Ashok More as a Guide ( if you are a typical hardcore Maharashtrian, because this guide will not leave a single stone unturned to chant the karnames of shri Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj)
The Pratapgad Fort is a mountain fort built by Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj. The fort is at a distance of 24 km from the hill station of Mahabaleshwar. The fort holds a sturdy view of coastal Konkan. The Bhavani Temple and Afzal Khan's tomb are other places of interest.
Pratapgad consists of two forts - an upper fort built on the top of the hill and a lower fort immediately below on the south and the east. Surrounding areas can be easily taken guard from the fort on almost all the sides. The southern side is rocky while the eastern side has a strong outwork ending in the Afzal Buruj.
The famous minister More Tirmal Pingale on the command of Shivaji Maharaj to control the rebellious satraps of the surrounding Javali Basin built Pratapgad Fort in 1656. It is believed that Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaja was blessed with a shining sword at the temple of Goddess Bhavani here.
The historic battle between Chatrapati Shivaji and Afzal Khan, the commander of the Bijapur Sultanate fought here. Bhavani Temple and Afzal Khan's Tomb are major attractions where are situated near the fort.
Enjoy your stay at Surya, for visiting Fort , dont drive your own vehicle rather take Hotels prepaid taxi fo Rs.750/- ( negotiate to Rs.500/- if possible) wherein they may take you to few different points and would also show you the Mahabaleshwar Market ( for shopping).
cheers,
Anuj Saini

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MUMBAIANUJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend at the Surya Retreat. The hotel is excellent and has the best of nature treat and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was a lovely experience, and had the best of our time together. It has everything required to keep a family busy in vacation, especially children.
We stayed in the executive room having a big balcony facing green forest and hills of Mahabaleshwar. Breakfast has both Indian as well as continental, lunch in buffet system with lots of varieties. Dinners especially on weekend is served in lawn facing pool with Live Gazal. The pool is lovely, not too big and not too small with a separate pool for children.
The most important part for Surya is, it is very near to most of the points to be seen at Mahabaleshwar and Panchgani.
It was the best ever summer holiday I had with my child.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sagar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Good place with very clean and spacious rooms.
Overall furnishing was nice and great views from the room.
The food was included in the package and overall we felt it was a fair deal. The hotel is away from the main lake and town area which is good but you need a car to get to the main areas.
Overall good for family and clean well furnished place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vkarnavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

pretty good hotel..no problem what so ever..rooms were excellent..very clean!! especially toilets..seemed brand new to me!! :) food was really good..i was not expecting north indian food to be so good in that hotel!!
hotel is slightly priced on a higher side for the quality it offers though!! by the way, if you carry your mobile on roaming you would be disheartened cause there is no network availble in hotel!!
otherwise no problem with service or locatiuon..very friendly staff!!

Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
1  Thank prophecy_is_true
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Thanks to 26/11 we decided to bring in the New Year outside Mumbai and experience some decent winter temperatures. Booked via Sam San Travels Mumbai (www.mahabaleshwar.com) and paid Rs 55,000 for 2 standard rooms (4 adults) on full board for 3 nights/4 days with the New Years eve bash included. The drive to the resort was within 4 hours from Mumbai via the Pune Express Way and the golden quadrilateral connecting it, superb road, did over 140kmph on some stretches with no complaints from a fully loaded 12 month old Maruti SX4.The hotel is well located on the Panchgani-Mahabaleshwar stretch about 5 kms from Mahabaleshwar market center. Fantastic location overlooking a valley. The New years' bash was pretty ok with a live band, a few solo dance performances and BYOB (bring your own booze) by the swimming pool. If it was not for the portable fireplaces (sigris) kept by every table we would have frozen to death. Food: New years bash well above average otherwise tasty but very average, north indian fare. Service quite ok, pillows and bedding a bit out of shape but extras given on demand. Do check out other properties of this level (3 star) before you settle on Surya.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootLoose_Mumbaikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
1.8 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
1,109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood
1.9 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#23 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar

Address: 19/B Panchgani | Mahabaleshwar Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: $86 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing