We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar
Nearby Hotels
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$146
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$106
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mulberry Inn(Mahabaleshwar)(Great Value!)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Grand Legacy(Mahabaleshwar)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Krishna Continental(Mahabaleshwar)
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bella Vista Resort(Mahabaleshwar)
$106
$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rajesh(Mahabaleshwar)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunny International(Mahabaleshwar)
$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
10
22
9
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
22
9
4
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 50 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel is a average hotel and food is also nothing much to talk about. passage is very scary especiallya t night. Though the rooms are good and the view from balcony is nice, buit still i will not prefer to stay again unless necessary

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chandresh1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This property is under renovation currently and is highly over rated. The rooms give you the feel of 80's hotels. The Property is in a good location but the trash all around this facility puts you down. The restuarant is good and the Food was tasting good though they had limited variety to offer. The restaurant staff is very hospitable and the room service was good too.
None of the facilities are maintained well including the rooms. The Sofa upholstery is dirty and run down and the glasses kept in room unclean. The Sliding french door does not move and the balcony outside is totally dirty.
In one of the rooms , the AC was not working. The approach to the rooms is not very convenient and there is no lift available.
The front desk staff are not very courteous. The claim is that this property will soon be turned into a 5 STAR property though I wouldn't give any STAR currently.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelwizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The Surya might have been good, but currently you should definitely avoid it! The pictures on their website have nothing to do with the present state of the hotel! Instead of closing it for renovation, they are still running it and charging the normal rate for a 5* hotel! The Hotel is still a construction site! Pool and most of the rooms look like a dump yard! Don't believe their pictures and don't waste your money to stay there!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Kai-ne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in april 2013. While booking we went buy the website, reviews etc. which looked good but we missed an important message that the hotel is going to be shut for renovation very soon. When we called the numbers it connected to some customer service people not the hotel reception. These customer service people were quite unpolite. Any case we reached the place, got a good room, service, food everything was pretty good, nothing really to complain. However for the price the property nor the view does justice, I would recommend people to avoid this property until the renovation is complete.

Room Tip: I believe the right side rooms would have a wider virew.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avijeet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Surya has been one of the longstanding better properties of Mahabaleshwar. The hotel seems to have undergone some renovation and the rooms are really shiny. What really takes the cake is the hotel staff and chef. Me and my wife had the opportunity to stay there for a night. The staff is ever courteous and extremely helpful. Ready to cater to your every whim and fancy. We had a dinner and breakfast at the property and most of their items were near perfect. From soft veg. manchurian to ghar ki jaisi daal and the right amount of thickness in their uttapas. Our full compliments to the chef. Not to mention it was extreme value for money for us due to a corporate discount. Would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Mahabaleshwar.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the valley
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishalpipraiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews