We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Best located hotel”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nestled amidst greenery, the location of this hotel is very good. Being away from the main market, it offers peaceful atmosphere. The rooms have a good view of the greenery in front and the staff are very courteous. The dining room is also offering good view while you enjoy your food. The choice and taste of food is good though every item comes with a touch of sweetness. However, if one requests you can get good stuff without being over sweetened. However, the entire hotel could do with a bit of spruce up,thick overgrowths around and paints peeling off walls greeted us though the management said they were carrying out repairs. A little more professional touch and this place can be an excellent one.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the corner offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahua-CCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

An average rated hotel with good and clean rooms, swimming pool and gymnasium, good for large no of people if visited will be awarded good discounts.
The Quality of food is reduced and there is a limited menu in a buffet.
If specified large group can have a choice of food.
Overall a budget hotel with a lot to grab.

Room Tip: Not much of a difference in comfort although there are 2 types of room, a suite will cost you double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie_rup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, General Manager at The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for review. We are pleased you like our cleanliness, service and location. We have shared your feedback with the chef and hope to you a better dining experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel is situated right amidst the nature, offering a panaromic view from every room. Rooms are cosy and spacious and will maintened. Food is also good here. The drawbacks of staying here are.. slightly away from the city .. secondly network is problem here.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritzy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I am staying 10,11,12 Aug 2012 in s,resort,resort is very good, food also good location is so good every rooms,interior and bath room very good and clean,swimming pool,room hitter and Ac not raning in this period,game room is not good there is only caram bord,table tenis and chhess,in coming water of bathroom is very dirty color of water brawn,I go to the polside there is staying litchy kit bite me there after my blood flow is not stoping 5to 6hour there after I am ok, hotel overall ok but price is very high,

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rpkakadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

As expected, it was a great location, very scenic, esp with monsoon clouds , the drizzle, and green valley intoxicating one's mind. Wish rest of the retreat matched that. The rooms were not well kept. We had booked standard rooms, which had excellent view, but had very old box TVs, toiletries were cheap, bathroom curtains very not clean. Food was average. However the staff was very helpful, trying their best to make our stay pleasant. They shifted us to better rooms which had better (lcd) TVs, but rest was just the same. Kitchen staff was also was very helpful and did their best. Wish after the Fern addition, things would have been classier..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidsha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was my pleasure to stay in this beautiful home away home from 8thof June to 10th of June this year.......by luck rain started and I had a gr8 scenic view in the valley from our room (Room no. 118). To relax from this hectic life these 2 days helped me a lot. Very comfortable and pleasant stay....thanks to all the staff members.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auditwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We went to Mahabaleshwar with a Bunglow booking which got cancelled at the last moment. That's when we chanced upon Surya Retreat - the location enthralled us - view of the valley was breathtaking and the rooms were exquisite. The experience was awesome - the early morning at the resort gives an unmatched high. Then a trip to the river valley below and a dip in the waterfall gives the best possible therapeutic feel to the mind!

But beware - Mahabaleshwar is a strictly Monsoon only destination; if you want to enjoy Surya Retreat make sure you choose the right season.

Room Tip: Take a room as high as possible and as near to the center of the flank (near reception) as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikhil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.7 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar

Property: The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar
Address: 19/B Panchgani | Mahabaleshwar Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing