We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great view, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with AP Plan. Hotel is well maintained and swimming pool is nice. Great view of the green jungle from the rooms. Very quite as the rooms are facing the jungle and not the road.

Food was alright, nothing facny, mostly North Indian food. Breakfast was very good and many options like eggs, bread, corn flakes, pohe, Idly/vada sambar, parathas, upma, tea, coffee, OJ..unlimited as part of AP plan. Some rooms are equipped with LCDs...ask for a room with newer diggs. Higher the floor better the view but then no lift so got to walk up and down the floors...

Staff was very nice and helpful. Hotel is 5 km from Mahabaleshwar town, 3 KM from Venna lake...

certainly recommended for anyone who wants to stay away from crowds/town...

Room Tip: ask for a room with LCD, they are newly done and have better interiors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel has a huge structure with funny architecture. It has no elevator!

Front desk was not so friendly to begin with. We arrived just 15 minutes late for lunch and had informed them in advance about it but were not cooperated with. We had to accept some snacks instead. At times they would not even answer the phone!

The centralized air-conditioning was not working and in spite of complain, cooling did not improve. It was more pleasant outside than inside the room. Plumbing was even worst. It was giving out either extremely hot water or extremely cold. The shower mixer was useless.

Waiters for the room service were untrained and were humming tunes in front of me! Though buffet dinner was good, the number of items were limited. Ditto for breakfast.

Checking out experience was also not very smooth. There was no queue and others were given priority. I don't know where the GM of the hotel was sitting, because he was hardly paying any attention!

Room Tip: Go to the top floor of the hotel. Though there is no elevator, view gets better as you go up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kalki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The location is valley facing but not splendid or something. If you have own 4wheeler then its ok otherwise local transport facility is to be used. Bus or share omni car useful. Private cab hiring is costly. To go to market from hotel is Rs. 200. For sightseeing you have to hire a cab (with different rates based on the tour pkg you choose).

In the room, there are some wafers, cadbury, chips, bislery, cold drink kept. Beware its not complementary, rather it is having rates 3 times costly than MRP. We did this mistake.

In the hotel restaurant, surprisingly there are no icecreams, we were expecting atleast strawberry with cream...but not available.

Overall, not a value for money hotel. We feel it very expensive.

Room Tip: Not a value for money hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SachinPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Hotel Location is excellent. Rooms are good.

Rates are high for the rooms and service

The main drawback was they gave an avoidable buffet dinner claiming it to be free ( even after rechecking at the front desk) and later made us pay for it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuShankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel exterior/reception/location all were too good. Service and food was also good, but but but the rooms and bathrooms were very bad, check the pictures posted, renovation is not complete. Dont go by the website photos as it is deceiving. Rooms were neat by it def needs renovation esp the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Try and stay in basement or 1st floor, i think room nos starting with 4++ is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SudSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel is located 4 kms before Mahabaleshwar, hence it is convenient if you have your own vehicle. The staff is very efficient and helpful. While we were given the option to select our rooms, the staff had recommended the rooms with the best view. We were 4 families and we were given adjacent rooms. All the rooms had fantastic balconies opening into the valley and had a coffee table and 2 chairs. Having the morning cuppa among the serene green valleys is a refreshing start for the day. The hotel is very child friendly and has a good recreation and activity rooms. The gym is about ok.
The best part of the hotel besides the view and staff is the swimming pool. The pool is very clean and the kids had a blast there.
The food was good and the spread at the buffet was decent. The staff has a great attitude towards service and we had recommended that they serve starters in the buffet. They obliged by making smacking kaanda bhajji (onion pakoras). Right from the reception, housekeeping and f&b the service is simply superb. This is among the few hotels that serve non-veg food.
Some tips- at the venna lake, if you dont know to row a boat, the person who rows the boat also teaches you how to row a boat. I think this is the most expensive boat club in all of India. Do not forget to try the Strawberry Cream it is awesome (best place to have this is at Hotel Bagicha enroute the lake). At the lake do try corn pattice and adrak chaai...

Room Tip: Do select the top floor rooms - the valley view is simply awesome and overlooks the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KartikIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

One thing that gets your attention as soon as you enter the hotel is the amazing view of the valley. The hotel is right on the slope of hills overlooking the lush green valley. The building has been designed to leverage this - all the rooms are facing the valley with large sit-outs .
We stayed at this place in Aug '11 during one of the long weekends.
The rooms are well furnished & equipped - typical 3 star way. The buffet food is good - with decent variety. The hotel seems to be maintained well - the swimming pool looked clean and well maintained.
You can take a walk from the hotel to Lingmala water falls (its about 10 mins walk), for going to the lake or market, a vehicle is required.
Overall - its a great, comfortable place to relax if you prefer to do that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharadofmbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
1.8 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
1,075 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#9 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
1,277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#7 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar

Address: 19/B Panchgani | Mahabaleshwar Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: $86 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing