We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a very good vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Overall this is a great hotel. We were looking for a place with a beautiful view and we were lucky to have a room last minute. View from the room was spectacular. All what you hear is the noise from waterfall, birds and frogs. We really felt disconnected from the city. Food was good and I recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mihinrandiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 50 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2010

Been to Surya in the first week of December. The hotel is right before Mahabaleshwar and all the points of interests are nearby. The hotel itself has an old world charm and the location is quite good. The rooms too are well appointed but the two which we stayed in had an extreme stink emanating out of the bathrooms, perhaps that is the reason they spray room freshners generously before the guest checks in. They did offer to change the room but it was on the day we were supposed to check out. The hotel has some basic recreational facilities like gym, playarea and a pool. Food was well served and was quite suiting to our palette. Overpriced in peak season.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jyot15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed here along with my wife.. we were offered a room which was stinking as soon as we entered the room. The guy there said he will get some room freshener. After spraying some freshener the smell went away. But again at around 11.00 PM the smell started coming again. We called the desk but they said they cant do anything about it and asked us to relocate to another room at 11.30 PM. Since my wife was already asleep we ended up staying in that stinky room for whole night. Not sure how can you call such a place a 3 star hotel when basic hygiene was missing. After paying so much money in advance and getting such service I am feeling as if I got cheated.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shekharkanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

"Surya Retreat is an excellent family resort. It has a nice location amongst the amazing natural scenery of Mahabaleshwar. The hotel rooms are clean and full of convenient amenities. They are however a little old and so the entire hotel has a rustic feel to it. The meals that are included are tasty and satisfying. Overall, this resort is pricey when compared to other resorts in the area, but is worth it if one can afford it."

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prash_mulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Pros:
1. Amazing Valley View (The clouds literally descent into your room!)
2. Excellent Rooms - Spacious & Airy
3. You get Non-Veg food here (rare in Mahabaleshwar)
4. Quiet Location

Cons:
1. Food - Not so Great
2. Away from Mahabaleshwar / Market

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMBADreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Stay at Surya Retreat was good.
Located suitably, Excellent Valley view, Fine food and service.
Recommend stay at this retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed during the last week of April at Surya Retreat. The staff were good. The rooms were clean and the location was also very much near all hot spots. The only draw back was the service, especially the restaurant. That needed to be upgraded, otherwise a nice stay.we loved this place as our love begin from here... & still continues.we can never forget the place and the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TINTINPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.3 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
1,245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#6 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brightland Resort & Spa
Brightland Resort & Spa
#4 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar

Address: 19/B Panchgani | Mahabaleshwar Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: $84 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fern Surya Resort, Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing