We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms but very bad service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good rooms but very bad service!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We went to this resort last week of may 2012. We were greeted by a very uncooperative staff. The rooms were nice and clean. Kitchen closing time is 2 early and the cutlery and utensils they provide is just very ordinary. For eg. We ordered 3 cups tea and the cups they served tea in were of three different shapes n sizes! Not expected from a hotel where one is charging over 3000 per room. We bought enuf mutton for all of us to make biryani since they asked us to get it(apparently they don't make mutton biryani but make it if we get them the mutton) at dinner time the quantity of mutton had halved in the biryani! It was definitely siphoned off from the kitchen but we were just too tired to argue about it.
We made it a point to talk to the owner but apart from giving assurances that it they ll look into it nothing more cud be done,!
Apart from the rooms the overall experience was ok!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiePune, Owner at Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Sirs,

I would like to thank you for staying at  Honeywood a second time.

I would like to bring to your notice the we do not encourage our customers purchasing meat or as for that matter any product for our kitchen to prepare for you, so as to avoid any such inconveniences faced by you. 

On the customers request we prepare whatever cuisine outside the menu with a 24 hr notice . As a last minute  request by you to purchase the same and hand it over to  us we Reluctantly agreed as you had stayed with us previously and did not want to disappoint you.

To bring to your notice we do have CCTV installed in and around our premises which is also present in our kitchen .
As per your complaint we did review our tapes to check for any irregularities.
We assure you that there weren't any present. 

We are confident that the facilities we offer at such a reasonable cost are exclusive and  Is what compelled you to visit us a second time. 

We not only offer a room, we offer a entire villa consisting of 2 large bedrooms (250 sq ft Each) and a hall dinning area (500 sq ft ), 24hrs hot water, inverter and generator back up, which not many  Home Stays offer. The above has been appreciated by a number of our regular clientele. 

Taking into consideration that you personally thanked Mrs Chinoy and were appreciative of your stay at honeywood we are very surprised at your review and find it very harsh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    55
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
76
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile


Honeywood is a located in old Mahabaleshwar in the densely forested area . We are a newly married couple and love the outdoors . Unlike any other hotel this place is warm, well maintained and welcoming . Its a place to put your legs up and really get the feel of the natural surroundings which is so hard to find in nowadays concrete jungle .Great for walks, we also asked for cycles and the staff was kind enough to organise them for us at an extra cost .Food is good . A very unique and enjoyable barbecue which no other hotel i know of organises was the icing on the cake . Strongly recommend this place for nature lovers. Its what a holiday should be like.    We'll definitely visit again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adventurenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

For our marriage anniversary, we wanted a peaceful location..this is what we got in HoneyWood. This B&B is in midst of forest, lovely location.
Room service was good. Food was good, only thing you need to order 2 hrs beforehand.
Rooms are spacious, bathrooms can be revamped for some good feel, 24*7 hot water is bliss.
We booked double room here, unfortunately it doesn't had a single window and on ground floor, closed with surrounding walls.So, no view at all and damp smell all the time. Though staff was courteous enough to arrange for room freshner still after sometime smell resurfaces.
Disappointed with the room.
This B&B is for those who have come with their own vehicle and those who love the nature, there are some trekking trails around, early morning walk is fun.
We enjoyed our stay except the foul smell in room by spending more time outside the room.
If you want to visit choose a villa here, double rooms are not for those who love a view from their balconies and cool breeze.
Hotel is pretty basic, just what we wanted..no fancy things like swimming pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braveheart_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Quiet, well-run place far from crowds but only accessible by car and need small-ish car as parking can get tight. Very friendly, helpful staff. Great for getaway for family & friends. Limited menu but all good.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goamelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you want to relax and be in the midst of nature Honeywood is the place for you. Tucked in the woods, near the valley, away from the maddening crowd of Mahabaleshwar this hotel offers you an excellent peaceful stay.
Even though we stayed here in the month of May, a cool breeze from the valley throught the day ensured that we did not feel the summer heat. I would recommend a stay at Honeywood to all nature lovers looking for a break from the hustle-bustle of the city.


Plus points:
- Excellent location
- Rooms are not over priced even in the peak season
- Clean spacious rooms with 24 hour electricity
- Clean toilets with 24 hours hot water
- Rooms have a TV for the tv buffs
- Play area for the kids with slide and swing
- Small sit-out for the garden facing rooms
- Decent sized lawn with tables and chairs
- Two bed-rooms with attached toilet and a living rooms for larger families
- Arrangment of barbeque at night
- Freshly prepared food with a homely touch
- Helpful and co-operative staff


Inconvinences:
- Not for people who do not have their own tranport
- Food is served in your room. No seperate restaurant/dining area (You can always dine in the lawn/sit-out)
- Not for foodies as they have a small menu
- Need to place your order 2-3 hours in advance
- If you run short of essentials, the nearest market is 5 kms away.

Recommendations:
- For valley view opt for the top room in the farthest corner of the hotel
- For garden facing rooms, opt for the room near the lawn. This room has a corridor, offering some privacy
- Barbeque at night
- Strawberry with cream at the nearby 'Strawberry Valley' joint.
- Carry your own snacks especially for those planning to stay with kids.

Room Tip: For valley view opt for the top room in the farthest corner of the hotel For garden facing rooms, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My stay at Honeywood for 3 days last week was absolutely mind blowing, the hotel is very well maintained the staff is very friendly and very prompt.
The location of the hotel is to die for, it gives you that peace / privacy & quiet that you long for away from our normal noisy city life.
The view from the hotel is just perfect, overlooking the valley's and mountains of mahableshwar, there is also a kid's park to keep the children entertained - the lawn is very inviting and we had a blast barbecuing there in such a perfect surrounding.
The staff was super prompt every-time we called them and had a smile and took care of us very well. Clean rooms / ample parking space & 24hrs elect & water - simply outstanding.
I will only stay here when i go to Mahableshwar and recommend this hotel to everyone - thanks again to the owners and the staff - made my stay simply fantastic :))

Room Tip: Try the barbecue in the evening in the lawn area - you will love the experience !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dineshmansukhaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Honeywood Homes is a lovely little property (THIS IS NOT A TRADITIONAL HOTEL) which positions itself as a "Bed And Breakfast" joint. It is located away from the market and all the hustle and bustle which typically accompany 'hill station holidays.' The location for us was a big plus. Absolutely quiet and a wonderful place to retreat in the midst of nature.

We were a couple with a kid aged 5 and also had our newest family member - our 5 month old little pup. We found the service to be very good and the food to be even better. The place is clean and is efficiently managed by the staff they employ.

The property has a small lawn and a basic children's play area which includes a couple of swings and a slide.

They are pet friendly (do check with the property owners). They are also couple, kids, family and senior citizen friendly.

Other important things you may need to know:

It is important for you to have your own transport or be prepared to cough up taxi fare. The staff will help arrange the same for you.

Carry your own 'chakna' + alcohol as the market is about 7 kms away. It will help if you stock up on kid friendly snacks as well before you check in to Honeywood Homes.

Ask for a bar-b-que and the staff will be more than happy to arrange one for you. We loved it and the weather was excellent in the first week of April when we were there.

Do carry you own toiletries. This place offers very clean toilets and towels along with a soap. There is no doubt about that. However, other stuff like shaving essentials, shampoos, lotions etc are only available in the market area and you will need to that trip for these items.

Net, net...We will be back here and highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We lived in the 2 bedroom house and thought it was very good. There are 2 single rooms with a lawn a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinyutinyukilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.0 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel

Property: Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
Address: Duchess Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing