We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway.....an excellent place for nature lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway.....an excellent place for nature lovers”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you want to relax and be in the midst of nature Honeywood is the place for you. Tucked in the woods, near the valley, away from the maddening crowd of Mahabaleshwar this hotel offers you an excellent peaceful stay.
Even though we stayed here in the month of May, a cool breeze from the valley throught the day ensured that we did not feel the summer heat. I would recommend a stay at Honeywood to all nature lovers looking for a break from the hustle-bustle of the city.


Plus points:
- Excellent location
- Rooms are not over priced even in the peak season
- Clean spacious rooms with 24 hour electricity
- Clean toilets with 24 hours hot water
- Rooms have a TV for the tv buffs
- Play area for the kids with slide and swing
- Small sit-out for the garden facing rooms
- Decent sized lawn with tables and chairs
- Two bed-rooms with attached toilet and a living rooms for larger families
- Arrangment of barbeque at night
- Freshly prepared food with a homely touch
- Helpful and co-operative staff


Inconvinences:
- Not for people who do not have their own tranport
- Food is served in your room. No seperate restaurant/dining area (You can always dine in the lawn/sit-out)
- Not for foodies as they have a small menu
- Need to place your order 2-3 hours in advance
- If you run short of essentials, the nearest market is 5 kms away.

Recommendations:
- For valley view opt for the top room in the farthest corner of the hotel
- For garden facing rooms, opt for the room near the lawn. This room has a corridor, offering some privacy
- Barbeque at night
- Strawberry with cream at the nearby 'Strawberry Valley' joint.
- Carry your own snacks especially for those planning to stay with kids.

Room Tip: For valley view opt for the top room in the farthest corner of the hotel For garden facing rooms, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    55
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
76
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My stay at Honeywood for 3 days last week was absolutely mind blowing, the hotel is very well maintained the staff is very friendly and very prompt.
The location of the hotel is to die for, it gives you that peace / privacy & quiet that you long for away from our normal noisy city life.
The view from the hotel is just perfect, overlooking the valley's and mountains of mahableshwar, there is also a kid's park to keep the children entertained - the lawn is very inviting and we had a blast barbecuing there in such a perfect surrounding.
The staff was super prompt every-time we called them and had a smile and took care of us very well. Clean rooms / ample parking space & 24hrs elect & water - simply outstanding.
I will only stay here when i go to Mahableshwar and recommend this hotel to everyone - thanks again to the owners and the staff - made my stay simply fantastic :))

Room Tip: Try the barbecue in the evening in the lawn area - you will love the experience !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dineshmansukhaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Honeywood Homes is a lovely little property (THIS IS NOT A TRADITIONAL HOTEL) which positions itself as a "Bed And Breakfast" joint. It is located away from the market and all the hustle and bustle which typically accompany 'hill station holidays.' The location for us was a big plus. Absolutely quiet and a wonderful place to retreat in the midst of nature.

We were a couple with a kid aged 5 and also had our newest family member - our 5 month old little pup. We found the service to be very good and the food to be even better. The place is clean and is efficiently managed by the staff they employ.

The property has a small lawn and a basic children's play area which includes a couple of swings and a slide.

They are pet friendly (do check with the property owners). They are also couple, kids, family and senior citizen friendly.

Other important things you may need to know:

It is important for you to have your own transport or be prepared to cough up taxi fare. The staff will help arrange the same for you.

Carry your own 'chakna' + alcohol as the market is about 7 kms away. It will help if you stock up on kid friendly snacks as well before you check in to Honeywood Homes.

Ask for a bar-b-que and the staff will be more than happy to arrange one for you. We loved it and the weather was excellent in the first week of April when we were there.

Do carry you own toiletries. This place offers very clean toilets and towels along with a soap. There is no doubt about that. However, other stuff like shaving essentials, shampoos, lotions etc are only available in the market area and you will need to that trip for these items.

Net, net...We will be back here and highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We lived in the 2 bedroom house and thought it was very good. There are 2 single rooms with a lawn a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinyutinyukilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Every hotel seems overpriced in Mahabaleshwar... though there is never any guarantee for service or quality.
Honeywood on the other is an excellent place. It is perfect for families travelling in large numbers... the rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean.
The service is prompt and Mr. and Ms Chinoy take personal care on every front. The food is simple and delicious... just like home cooked food.
We were there in December and Mr. Chinoy suggested a barbeque on the lawn. Nothing like an angeeti in the biting cold!
All in all an excellent place to stay at and a great experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor to get a fab view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gpenkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

1st of all its not a hotel, it’s a B&B. People who really need a city break, Honey Wood is the right choice. It is located in a very peaceful area. Staff is very helpful & co operative. It has a playing area for kids. Nice garden. Big & clean rooms & bathroom. And the best thing about the hotel is, it has 24 hrs hot water facilities. Which many of the star rated hotels in mahabaleshwar don’t have. Food is also not bad & reasonably priced.

All the points are close to this hotel, but close does not mean it’s walk able. If you are coming to mahabaleshwar for fun, then better go to some hotel in market area.

The most important thing, people who don’t have there own vehicle, this is not the hotel for them FOR SURE…

I enjoyed my stay......

Room Tip: All rooms are same....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Imran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Following the road into Honeywood will give you a sense of Jungle Safari with narrow roads and covered with trees and believe me its fun. Couldn't imagine a location better than this, just 5Kms from Main Mahableshwar City is a small peaceful privately run Holiday Home named - Honeywood. The owners take pride in running the property and the staff is by and large helpful.

We stayed there from 28 - 30 Nov 2011 and it was a pleasant stay, i must admit that there was a misunderstanding on the booking and amenities on offer between the staff, owners (they don't stay here and come on weekends only) and us, but to Mr. & Mrs Chinoy's credit they got this sorted out with thier staff and we were not overcharged.

Plus Points
- Peaceful location
- Big Spacious Rooms
- Cleanliness
- Open Garden with option of Barbeque in the night
- Cable TV
- 24 Hrs Hot running water
- Inverter back up (a huge plus when you know that the electricity in this part is a mess)
- Clean Towels
- Main City only 5 Kms away.
- About 1.5 km before the hotel you will come across a small juice joint 'Strawberry Valley', do stop over and have the Strawberry with Cream here, its a delight and fresh farm produce makes its special.

Some Incoveniences ( Mainly due to its location rather than anything else)
- Kitchen open for few hours only, place your order 2-3 hours prior
- without own vehicle you will find it impossible to move around
- Food prepared in homely manner, hence extravagent dishes should be avoided.
- Bathroom needs mop to keep them dry
- One bed made cranky noise, needs repair
- Hotel can staff some games for making it fun for the families staying there.

Recommended for large families, Youngsters will not find any attractions here, go and stay near the market place.

Overall a VFM Holiday Home

Room Tip: Top Cottage with Valley View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shrinivaskhanolkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have visited mahabaleshwar twice before and stayed in and around the market area . I found honeywood the last time I visited mahabaleshwar while we were site seeing and found it interesting . We decided to visit during Diwali . And we were very happy with our choice . the place is located away from the market which was actually the best part .. Away from the noisy market place .the rooms are good and clean . We also had all the meals here considering all the traffic . Very homely and warm . Enjoyed all the meals in the lawn area .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drgopalvenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.0 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
682 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel

Property: Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
Address: Duchess Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing