We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent & reaching new heights in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saj On The Mountain
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent & reaching new heights in service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have visited Saj Resort last year in November & planned to visit again family & friends for a weekend for three nights.Very nice resort with flowers around to relax after hectic March.
But to my surprise from my last visit they are upgrading themselves in each & every aspect of hospitality.
Everything is to perfection from their rooms to the courteous staff & food served.....(During lunch they serve yummy aamras in their signature Gujarati Thali).

Dinner too has large spread with Italian/Mexican/Chinese & fast food ..........

Good Team work...............Definitely when in mahabaleshwar it has to be Saj

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you have had a wonderful experience to share on Tripadvisor while you stayed at Saj Resort Mahabaleshwar.

Thank you for your valued feedback about our rooms,food and all the kind words about our entire Saj team members ,who all together ensured that you have a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in our midst again soon and hope that Saj Resort is your preferred destination on all your holidays to Mahabaleshwar!!!

Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:yamini@sajresort.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    242
    39
    15
    14
See reviews for
318
175
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Well I stayed for 5 nights at saj . The food which I got during these 5 days was outstanding . all different cuisines were covered from Italian ,mexican , Chinese ,Gujarati , punjabi n more . I can say the best food experience u can ever have . Staff was very very good . Even my 1 yr old son enjoyed with them . Resort is quiet n relaxed place . Cottage room is quite ok . All in all brilliant holiday . Will visit every year . I don't mind lifetime membership also if they provide me

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dhaval909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort Mahabaleshwar,

Thank you for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mahabaleshwar.Nothing gives us more joy than to know that our guest had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to your return and hope to be your preferred destination in Mahabaleshwar and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:yamini@sajresort.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Heard quite alot about the resort and its new look but was disappointed.The food is good but the quality of the rooms are shabby, paints are worn out,bathroom is not upto the mark,wires are hanging around. Overall not happy with the room and the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sumitbohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Saj Resort,Mahabaleshwar.

We would like to thank you for staying with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you.The management has been upgrading the resort in stages and only the rooms that you had stayed are yet to be renovated.Our Luxury rooms & cottages all have new look & are renovated.
We assure you that we have taken note of your comments & look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:yamini@sajresort.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had been (always been) to Saj Resorts for a long weekend with family. Major reason for choosing this place is - the location - away from the hustle of the traffic & dust. Serene and peaceful. Clean & quiet. And to top it all the Food. Amazing start with a Heavy Breakfast, a lazy lunch - Gujrati thali style and eventful dinner in the garden. The choice, the spread and the quality is always amazing. Whenever we go there, we put on at least 2 KGs - need to take them off now. Kidding.
Its all veg though - not meant for hardcore non-veggi crowd, unless you require a change. The staff is polite, non intruding and clean.

One small complain though - they stopped giving bed tea and high tea in the package. Not very good step I'd say - for the returning customers. Hope the management is reading this and will reconsider. I seriously think, that the charges applied definitely will be able to cover that.

Still, will go again provided given a better choice than this.

All the best and keep it up.

Room Tip: Avoid non AC rooms - as the name suggests, they are the lowest category rooms with not so pleasant c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank preetamkabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from Saj Resort Mahabaleshwar

We are glad to know that Saj Resort is your preferred resort when holidaying in Mahabaleshwar & that you had a great experience while here at Saj Resort.

Our first priorities are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our Endeavour is to offer comfort with good service to all our guests.

We are glad to note that several aspects of the hotel product, service and personnel have left you with a favorable impression.I would like to suggest that during your next visit try staying in our Luxury Rooms & Cottages.

I look forward to your continued patronage and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had been to Saj Resort between March 12-16, with my wife, kid and parents. The property is located a little away from Mahabaleshwar and the lake, but is ideally situated for a quite relaxing stay. The property has different units and we stayed in a 2 Bedroom family suite before moving into the cottages, numbered between 401 and 408. The rooms are comfortable, with a nice swing and chairs and small gardens in front. We were very impressed with the service and the team managing the property. Right from the security at the gate to the sweepers in the property, everyone had a smile on their face. I assume this is a normal practice. The stewards and the waiters in the restaurant took extra care and always ensured we were looked after well and again with a smile. I would like to thank Mr. Ramesh Jadhav, who was very helpful at all times, including helping us upgrade to the cottages. The food is tasty and well prepared and we would recommend it to people staying at the Resort. Overall a great stay, ensured by a great team at a great location, thank you!

Room Tip: The cottages are a good choice to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arpi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you have had a wonderful experience to share on Tripadvisor while you stayed at Saj Resort Mahabaleshwar.

Thank you for your valued feedback about our rooms,food and all the kind words about our entire Saj team members ,who all together ensured that you have a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in our midst again soon and hope that Saj Resort is your preferred destination on all your holidays to Mahabaleshwar!!!

Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:yamini@sajresort.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

i have not stay in saj resorts but my friends has stay there and they love this resort..i just gone for lunch in month of september..and i must say they have 1 of the best veg thali in mahableshwar..so many items they have at one single time and that also in monsoon month...good food and very decent staff in restaurant..u will fell that u r eating in the comfort of ur home.....keep it up saj resort

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zaveriUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Saj Resort, Mahabaleshwar

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community.

We are glad that you enjoyed the overall dining experience at our Amantran Restaurant were authentic Gujarati Thali is served & thank you for recommending us the best in mahabaleshwar.

I would also like to request that whenever you are planning to visit Mahabaleshwar do give us a chance to host you. I assure you that as you liked our food you would also like our Luxury rooms, Cottages & other facilities like Vyom Spa & Gym.

We appreciate & thank you for recommending Saj Resort, Mahabaleshwar and hope to be your preferred destination when you are in Mahabaleshwar. I would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards
Yamini Shah
Saj Resort,
Mahabaleshwar
Email:yamini@sajresort.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Extremely satisfying stay. This Was our fifth visit to Saj in the last 6 years. We have been a regular to this resort and love the way it has shaped up over the years.

The location, rooms, overall amenities are all upto date. The biggest plus point of SAJ is its food variety and quality. The staff is super courteous.

The stay came as a welcome break before the financial year end. We had the benefit of off season rates and less crowd.

Looking forward to visiting again and again.

Room Tip: The cottages at the top especially rooms 401-405 are located perfectly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahdh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Saj Resort,Mahabaleshwar.

Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community.

I am also glad to know that whenever in mahabaleshwar, you are at Saj Resort which is big compliment for us.
It is the happiness & regular visits of our guest that motivates us to strive harder in achieving higher standards. Our first priorities are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavour is to offer comfort with good service to all our guests.

I would like to thank you for the heart warming review of your visit at Saj Resort.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best services and attention at all times & would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.


Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort,
Mahabaleshwar
Email:-yamini@sajresort.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
937 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
1,171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
676 reviews
3.7 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saj On The Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saj On The Mountain

Property: Saj On The Mountain
Address: Panchgani Mahabaleshwar Road | Metgutad Village, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Saj Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saj On The Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saj Resort is located at Panchgani Road, Metgutad, just a few minutes away from the lake and main market. The nearest airport at Pune is about 120 kilometers away.Set amidst refreshing lush green surroundings, the resort offers 78 tastefully decorated rooms. Guests can choose from Luxury Ac,Luxury Ac with Balcony and Ac Cottages. While all rooms are appointed with modern amenities such as LCD Television and attached bathroom with hot and cold water,Tea & Coffee maker some rooms additionally have a sit-out area.Dining can be a delightful experience at the two on-site restaurants.We have a Coffee shop and a restaurant to satiate your hunger and delight your taste buds that serve various Vegetarian Cuisines ranging from an authentic Mughlai, Chinese, and Continental and also still serving the famous Gujarati Thali which made Saj Resort famous for its food & hospitality. Room service adds to the comfort of the guests.The resort features two conference halls that are well equipped to address the modern business requirements. The larger of the two halls can accommodate up to 300 guests. Private functions such as wedding ceremonies can be organized in the landscaped lawns.A dip in the swimming pool is an ideal way to start the day. The Vyom Spa offers guests an unparalleled experience in an environment of luxury and pampering. At the Spa, you can look forward to discovering holistic natural therapy, a combination of Ayurvedic, Oriental and Western Traditional Spa Treatments. Sessions at the Spa offer relaxation and rejuvenation to create a balance between the body and mind.For those wishing to continue their daily workout routine, Resort offers a fully equipped fitness center. The fitness facilities of our hotel gym include treadmill, multipurpose training unit,Spinning cycle. The Resort also provides a recreation room consists of a pool table, carom, and many other activities to unwind.An evening at the Royal Garden is sure to lift your spirits at the end of a hectic day.Other facilities offered are laundry service,car parking and 24-hour front desk,Internet Access through Wi-Fi.Relative Positions Bus Stand - 5km. Veena Lake -3km. Panchgani -14 km. Pratapgad Fort - 28 km. Pune- 120 km. Mumbai - 270 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Saj On The Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing