We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property, Great Food, Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saj On The Mountain
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Property, Great Food, Good Service”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pros :

1. This property is really big.. Big enough to have a pleasant morning walk.

2. Everywhere in surrounding there are plants of Cestrum nocturnum (Raat Rani)... It immediately lifts up your mood... Absolutely no need of any Air Fresher..

3. Food is USP of this... Pure Veg Hotel.. Excellent Taste.. Good Variety... Good Combo of North Indian, South Indian, Maharashtrian, Gujrathi Food as well as limited Chinese also.. No Liquor, No Non Veg... Great for Couples/Family.

4. Service from Staff is Good Enough to rate them 4/5...

5. All Rooms are spacious enough.. Surrounding is good..

6. Location of this hotel is quite good that offer pick-up and drop for all public transport facilities.. (Good For People having No own Vehicle)

7. Absolutely recommended.

Cons:

1. Spa services must be avoided here... Simply Duffer...

2. Some equipments in some rooms are not working (Like AC or Tea maker or Some Switch Points)... No doubt they got replaced or Rooms got changed but they should be checked before allotting the room..

3. Staff Needs to understand the board of "Do Not Disturb"... They will simply ring your bell for any funny reason... (Like do you want Coffee sachets???)

4. Electricity keeps playing hide and seek... There is generator but gap between normal electricity and generator is wide.. in between them.. You remain in Dark....Inverter needed

5. If you want to just relax and have a cool time, this is BEST RESORT.. but if you want sight seeing.. This place is quite away from main city.. but You should be aware about your plans...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harshavardhana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest
Greetings from Saj Resort, Mahabaleshwar!

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments on Saj Resort,Mahabaleshwar.
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at Saj Resort. We greatly value inputs from our guests as it provides us useful insights on our services, which we are constantly trying to improve to enhance the guest experience at our resorts.Regarding the Spa I would like to inform that its a temporary one as our new Spa & Gymnasium work is going on & it will be soon be in operation.

Warm Regards,
Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar,
Email:yamini@sajresort.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    242
    39
    15
    14
See reviews for
318
175
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had been to Saj resort in the last week of September. We chose this Hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. And this place met more than our expectations.
We had booked a luxury ac room with balcony and found it to be very spacious. The staff was very helpful and the food quality was very good. As we had taken all meals package,the food had good variety and options. If your a vegetarian you will enjoy the food. They even helped us with special meals for our two year old child.
We were there for two nights and hence could not explore much of the other parts of resort like the swimming pool etc so would not be able to comment on that.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would surely chose to visit Saj again in our future trips to Mahabaleshwar.

Room Tip: Chose Luxury A/C room with balcony for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kashrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort,Mahabaleshwar.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community.

We are all overwhelmed by your generous compliments. All of us feel so proud that your stay with us was spectacular and you enjoyed with us .
Every guest is very special and it is our endeavor to make sure that they have a memorable experience during their stay with us.
We look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Saj Resort, and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,
Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:yamini@sajresort.in
Tel:-02168 - 272001 to 5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here at the end of September 2012. Got a good deal with breakfast, lunch and dinner for 2 nights. The best part of the hotel is the food. The worst part was water problem. They had some plumbing issues in the hotel and the water in the bathroom was running on and off. With all kinds of deals and facilities if they miss out basics like water they are for sure going to miss out customers to other resorts in the area. The resort area is big enough but badly maintained (may be due to off season). The reception and staff are good in general but they misled us with the tour packages. We ended up visiting places which were not worth seeing due to off season. The reception could have hinted us instead of advising us to take these tours. Overall value for money primarily coz of the food inclusion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RishiSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort, Mahabaleshwar!

Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us

At the onset let me apologize for the inconvenience inadvertently caused to you during your stay.But i would like to let you know that one of the motor had failed & it took a day to fix which caused the water problem but it is all fixed.Please accept my sincere apologies once again.

I look forward to your continued patronage and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards
Yamini Shah
Saj Resort,
Mahabaleshwar
Email: yamini@sajresort.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We visited Saj in September when the rains were in full swing. It barely ever stops raining in Mahabaleshwar and is as cold as in winter. Would suggest anybody planning to visit during this season to carry proper woolens apart from regular rainy gear. We had heard good reviews from our friends and chose Saj (in spite of our good experience at Ramsukh earlier primarily due to the huge price differential). We had booked a Luxury room with balcony and although its not overlooking the valley, we had a good view from our room. The balcony is huge and so is the room which is recently renovated, though some of the furniture seemed dated. The staff was prompt and very helpful especially when it came to our 2.5 yr old who was travelling with us. The food was tasty and quite varied with Mexican/ Italian/ Chinese cuisines included alongwith Indian, during each course. My advise would be to avoid the rainy season if you are travelling with young children as there are hardly any outdoor activities during this time and they end up spending most of the time in the room. The resort did have activities like carrom, pool, TT for older children/ adults. We found the resort to be of good value vis-a-vis the package cost and are quite happy with our stay overall.

Room Tip: The Luxury rooms with balcony on the first floor facing the road have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NehaPradeepJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort, Mahabaleshwar!

Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us

We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at Saj Resort. Our first priorities are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our Endeavour is to offer comfort with good service to all our guests. We are glad to note that several aspects of the hotel product, service and personnel have left you with a favorable impression. Your comments regarding the hotel, decor, service and food are truly appreciated. We are glad that we could make your trip memorable.

I look forward to your continued patronage and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:-yamini@sajresort.in
Tel: 02168-272002 to 5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I must confess I didn't go with very high expectation as I hadn't heard about the property from anyone i know who had visited Mahabaleshwar. We zeroed in Saj resort because being a long weekend most other place were full and it fit right into our budget but rooms pictures looked decent and reviews on tripadvisor were positive. So we thought lets go ahead.

Boy, we were pleasantly surprised when we walked in the room. We had booked two A/c cottage rooms and it has loads and loads of space. One room can comfortably house 2 adults 2 children.There is also partition between the two sleeping areas. The bathrooms are neat and clean and shower fitting excellent. The thing is that entire property is being renovated in parts and phases. So everything right now is new and working in peach condition. Most rooms have swings in them.

Its a large property which with lawns to laze around, a large hall for performances, gaming room etc.

Food is another highlight. Their spread is totally veg and fairly good. The 3 days we stayed there, none of the days in breakfast, lunch or dinner any of the dishes were repeated. Obviously you won't have as much variety as a five star but it value for money considering how much you are paying.

The staff is very courteous and helpful. Thats what makes a good property into an excellent one.

I am very sure I will visit Saj resorts again. I hope they stay this way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjayr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort, Mahabaleshwar!

Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at Saj Resort, Mahabaleshwar. Our first priorities are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our Endeavor is to offer comfort with good service to all our guests. We are glad to note that several aspects of the hotel product, food ,service and personnel have left you with a favorable impression.We are glad that we could make your trip memorable.

I look forward to your continued patronage and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:-yamini@sajresort.in
Tel: 02168-272002 to 5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I checked in for 2 nights around end of march and had a great time . It's location is great with excellent scenery around . My wife n me r pure non- vegetarians but we enjoyed the veg food out here so much dat we didn't miss non veg at all . So if u give it a miss just for the veg food then think twice . No hotel in mahableshwar can Offer such delicious veg food . And the staff will do things out of their way jus to keep you happy . It also has a convinience store inside the premises . I didn't c a single thing missing at this resort. just a perfect weekend getaway .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavesh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Saj Resort Mahabaleshwar !

Our heartfelt thanks for the most amazing feedback and your recommendations about our hotel and the staff. We genuinely appreciate you taking your time out to post this review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and exceeding your expectations everytime you stay with us.

Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:-yamini@sajresort.in
Tel: 02168-272002 to 5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I made a trip along with my wife to this resort on 15th September 2012. Guys 1st thing you will notice about this resort would be the courtesy & politeness of its staff. You will be amazed to see the service time taken by its staff. Just give them a call or tell them to do any task, You can consider that it will be done in minutes. Crowd in the resort was also descent. It is well maintained & lies in mahabaleshwar panchgani main road calm/quiet surrounding. You need to travel by your own conveyance so as mobility wont be an issue. Food in the restaurant was delicious but prices were slight above average.

Rest you are gonna enjoy this resort. if you need any other tip about this resort or mahabaleshwar you are most welcome to contact me.

Room Tip: You need to travel by your own conveyance so as mobility wont be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyraj421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saj_res0rt, Guest Relations at Saj On The Mountain, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Saj Resort,Mahabaleshwar.

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

It is indeed very wonderful to note that you and your family have had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay at Saj Resort,Mahabaleshwar.

The team is delighted to note that they could make your stay a memorable one! Your appreciation for our team members motivates us in creating magical moments for our guests.

Thank you for recommending Saj Resort,Mahabaleshwar amongst the best hotels. We look forward to your return, very soon and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.


Warm regards,

Yamini Shah
Saj Resort
Mahabaleshwar
Email:-yamini@sajresort.in
Tel: 02168-272002 to 5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
926 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
1,169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
676 reviews
3.7 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saj On The Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saj On The Mountain

Property: Saj On The Mountain
Address: Panchgani Mahabaleshwar Road | Metgutad Village, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Saj Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saj On The Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saj Resort is located at Panchgani Road, Metgutad, just a few minutes away from the lake and main market. The nearest airport at Pune is about 120 kilometers away.Set amidst refreshing lush green surroundings, the resort offers 78 tastefully decorated rooms. Guests can choose from Luxury Ac,Luxury Ac with Balcony and Ac Cottages. While all rooms are appointed with modern amenities such as LCD Television and attached bathroom with hot and cold water,Tea & Coffee maker some rooms additionally have a sit-out area.Dining can be a delightful experience at the two on-site restaurants.We have a Coffee shop and a restaurant to satiate your hunger and delight your taste buds that serve various Vegetarian Cuisines ranging from an authentic Mughlai, Chinese, and Continental and also still serving the famous Gujarati Thali which made Saj Resort famous for its food & hospitality. Room service adds to the comfort of the guests.The resort features two conference halls that are well equipped to address the modern business requirements. The larger of the two halls can accommodate up to 300 guests. Private functions such as wedding ceremonies can be organized in the landscaped lawns.A dip in the swimming pool is an ideal way to start the day. The Vyom Spa offers guests an unparalleled experience in an environment of luxury and pampering. At the Spa, you can look forward to discovering holistic natural therapy, a combination of Ayurvedic, Oriental and Western Traditional Spa Treatments. Sessions at the Spa offer relaxation and rejuvenation to create a balance between the body and mind.For those wishing to continue their daily workout routine, Resort offers a fully equipped fitness center. The fitness facilities of our hotel gym include treadmill, multipurpose training unit,Spinning cycle. The Resort also provides a recreation room consists of a pool table, carom, and many other activities to unwind.An evening at the Royal Garden is sure to lift your spirits at the end of a hectic day.Other facilities offered are laundry service,car parking and 24-hour front desk,Internet Access through Wi-Fi.Relative Positions Bus Stand - 5km. Veena Lake -3km. Panchgani -14 km. Pratapgad Fort - 28 km. Pune- 120 km. Mumbai - 270 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Saj On The Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing