We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location, awful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
pattukkoottai,tamilnadu state
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“awesome location, awful rooms”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We ,a senior citizen couple traveled from Pune to Mahabaleshwar during our recent tour of Maharashta state. since resort address was confusing, when we started from Panchgani, we called up the place and were pr0perly directed.t is on the road to Mahabaleshwar , a few kilometers before the town. Entering through an archway, we could see the vast grounds well maintained gardens and separate chalet type buildings , each with a separate entrance. At the office, we were shocked to hear that our reservations had been cancelled. After a few phone calls to our tour agent and the local contact person, who talked to the manager, we were given accommodation. Expecting a high standard of accommodation, we were shocked to see the rooms - there was only sufficient room for the double bed and a massive pillar by the foot of the bed obstructing free movement around the bed.The bed and linen were clean. we were in for another surprise in the bathroom. A very small w.c was wedged in the narrowest space possible with no room for mobility and if one is a bit obese, may not be able to sit on the w.c or come out of the corner. All the water from the shower had to flow near the toilet area , it remaining wet and slippery. The resort being in a large ground, bigger rooms with ramps directly leading to the rooms would have been a better idea instead of the narrow stairs leading to the rooms. the restaurant was good and service excellent by all the staff. The well maintained garden with many flowering plants was very soothing. Our stay was pleasant but for the rooms.

Room Tip: since there no lifts ,the seniors and the disabled may book rooms in the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilaseventy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RameshMahabaleshwar, Manager at United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Nilaseventy,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to our notice.

We value your business, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as possible. We regret the inconvenience you have experienced (due to type & Size of Rooms/ bathroom which u stayed), may we assure you that we are investigating the causes and problem and rectify the same.
I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you.
Please know that I will personally be handling your case, and will be in contact with you on a regular basis, until this issue is resolved to your satisfaction.
It is my goal to restore your confidence in our company by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again.
At United 21 resort Mahabaleswar, it is our constant endeavour to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again,

Regards

Manager - Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    44
    9
    24
See reviews for
73
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nasik, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel when I visited Mahabaleshwar along with my wife in January 2014. This property has been recently taken over by the Pancard Clubs and has been re-opened after a complete renovation. And I must say, they have done a wonderful job. The rooms are completely new with modern architecture. Well ventilated and bright. Nicely designed ceiling and walls etc.
The common areas like reception, lobby, restaurant are all renovated and completely new. The staff here is friendly and well mannered. They serve buffet breakfast and dinner which has a moderate variety. The menu card has a good amount of variety though. The location of this hotel is very scenic and also very convenient. Overall a highly recommended place.

Room Tip: While facing the hotel from the outside, rooms to your right offer a good view. The ones towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhilmedhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Scenic location
Good ambience
Rooms could have been better.....paint chipped off in places
Room service is a little slow
Staff very cordial and well mannered
Food is good esp the breakfast
Coming again for sure
Hoping to have a better room and improved room service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited mahabaleshwar in November month of 2012 and i booked this hotel thru country vacations.
From the first day i booked i received call from this hotel that don't come to our hotel because county vacation does not pay us. When i reported to CV they again called back to say you can come.

As per their policy check in time is 12 pm. We reached the place @10am and asked the manager that can we check in now and they said yes sir you can because we have vacancy. They kept me sitting in the lobby for 3 hours and then they provided a room. Trust me the pictures and the descriptions are like heaven and hell difference. When we entered the room it felt like an wave of air passed us but in fact that was a wave of mosquitos. Room was dirty, toilets horrible , bed, bed sheets, curtains were in competition to prove each other who can survive most without a bath. When we asked them to change the room they kept us waiting for another hour and given me another room with same condition so i stopped complaining.

After a tiring day of visiting places in Mahabaleshwar we ordered room service and guess what it was far more worse. I asked them about the swimming pool they said it's in repair.

I didn't complain about anything else because it was going to worsen the situation only.

This is a simple example of Resort well built but poorly managed where no one cares.

Room Tip: I Won't recommend this hotel to anyone visiting mahabaleshwar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smrutim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mahabaleshwar hotels

Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The pictures displayed on the online sites at the time of booking and the actual Picture was way apart. The Outside landscape and the way the resort is built is good, but the room given to us was pathetic. Very poorly maintained room with paint chipping off and not as per our booking details. After lot of discussion/complaint/argument with the hotel staff we got a room change which was much better...
Also food options were limited.
As the weather was excellent the trip was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shailshri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Happened to visit the hotel with family for a special occasion. Booked it from internet & there I was in trouble. Booked (1 Standard & 1 deluxe ). Rooms were just horrible just opposite to what they offered in our package. Very Small & dingy with poor maintenance. The other facilities such as Swimming pool are just a waste of space. Enter the Disc area & it will be your worst nightmares coming true. On expressing our displeasure on the standard & quality of room & they obliged & shifted us to the Premium category rooms which are located just over the reception area only because they weren’t booked .These are the only rooms in good shape.. Food is the only positive part in this place. The overall experience was bad.

Room Tip: Rooms above Reception area ( Premium ) are the only rooms in a better shape..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ethenhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Cheating, Price less to stay at hotel, Food can't be tolerable, All rooms are third class, About services i can say just like tea stall. I suggest you guys please dont do the mistakes which i did - Anil Navelkar

Room Tip: Go to Blue Country Resorts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anilnavelkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
3.5 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#9 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
#34 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
580 reviews
2.5 mi away
Neeta's Shanti Villa
Neeta's Shanti Villa
#36 of 51 in Mahabaleshwar
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar

Property: United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar
Address: At Post- Met Gutad | Panchgani- Mahabaleshwar Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Swiss Country Resort)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Panchgani Mahabaleshwar Road. Only 6 kms from Mahabaleshwar market. The resort has Swimming pool, Discotheque, Kids play area and Indoor and outdoor games. Overlooking curvaceous mountain ranges of the Western Ghats, The United 21 Resort, Mahabaleshwar, is an ideal holiday destination. The resort is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers as it is located conveniently from all the key locations and tourist places. The resort offers mouth-dropping scenic views, comfortable boarding facilities, lip-smacking dishes, business facilities and other recreational services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing