We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms was good but food was very bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I went there for honeymoon for 3 nights and 4 days for deluxe room. We went this place through "Hungry Bags travels" and they told us this is 3* hotel. We went there 12th March 2012 to 15th March 2012 which is off season. When we entered in the hotel it was looking good and we agreed what that guy was said. But after getting experienced in the hotel I feel I wasted my money. As per my knowledge for 3* there should be 50 rooms and above in the hotel. But there were only 35 rooms in the hotel.
First day>>
Problem no. 1 after getting room I switched on TV but that TV was not working. Too many mosquitoes roaming in the room. I called in the reception told them about problems. They sent two guys and cleared the issue within 1-2 hours.
Problem no. 2 In Lunch time, we were asking about items from Menu card but for many items we were getting answer from restaurant “No”. There were many items which are present in the Menu card but not in Restaurant.
Problem no.3 Very next hour they came to me and told me that they wanted to do some drainage work therefore they asked me to switch the room and they showed me some Super Deluxe room. But that room was not good, AC was very old- without remote ("baba alam ke jamane ka") and tiles in bathroom were dirty. Phone instrument was not working properly. It was bad room than first room even that was super deluxe room. Again I discussed problem with traveller's guy and I told them what was going here with me. That guy sort my problem about an hour and we settled in 3rd room.
Problem no.4 after facing all above problems we went for dinner. In the dinner also there were many items which were not present the restaurant and they convinced us to ordered Chinese items. In Chinese chataney bowl there was 1 mosquito died and showed that to waiter … he took that without any reply.
Second day>>
Problem no. 1 in breakfast was complementary for us and I asked for “Toasted bread and Jam” and Tea. Restaurant boy sent us “Toasted bread” and Tea. I asked them about Jam but they replied we don’t have jam today. In Mahabaleswar/Panchgani I think there are 100 shops of jam and many famous companies of Jams but in the restaurant jam was not present.
Problem no. 2 for dinner, restaurant boy came with list of 3 main course items. He gave me only 3 options for dinner. After that I told him why you included so many items in menu card then he replied you have to pay for them then only you will get other items.
But before booking for this tour I have discussed with Hungry bags tours travels guy that I am paying you the full money but there should not be problem for dinner that you could not eat this and that…..
Again I discussed problem with traveller's guy and he sorted out the problem.
Problem no. 3 we got dinner after struggle, In Paneer chilli salt was too much and Paneer makhanwala was not good. But this we had not complaint about this because we got this dinner after struggle and it was already closing time for restaurant.
Third and Fourth day >> There was improvement in the service excluding availability of items in restaurant (which were present in the menu card).

Summary:::
If you are going for stay then it’s okay, but don’t go there if you want to enjoy food.

Room Tip: If you are going for stay then it’s okay, but don’t go there if you want to enjoy food. Also locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sameer28111983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 148 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were a group of family and friends. We were pleasantly surprised with the suite room interior design, esp after our earlier 2 days at MTDC at a beach. It had 2 connected bedrooms rooms tastefully decorated. You get parking near your room block which is good too.
Though the rooms were very good we were frustrated with the pace at which our dinner order was served. Both starters and main course took an hour to get served :-(.

Room Tip: Ask for delux or suite rooms. Good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandy_joggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Last week of feb I visit Swiss country resort for spent a vacation with my family. I enjoy my vacation with nice food and hospitality service from all the member of resort. Room was well organize and very presentable. Swiss Country provide us all the basic thing which I was looking for. All the staffs are very helpful, they arrange a car for enjoy the all over Mahabaleshwar with in 30mins, which is remarkable experience for me. Thanks to all the staff for make my vacation memorable. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alkdubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Mahablaeshwar, but the stay in Swiss Country Resort was really exciting.The rooms were also very good and it was a good place to spend the weekend with family....................... Frequent Traveler

Room Tip: Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KISHOR_9600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were two couples... who went to Mahabi for a 2 days, one night stay. Unfortunately one of us had already booked Swiss County and swore it was a great place to be.
The bad experiences started right away... with power being off for long periods of time in the night... and the management not having a clue as to what was going on... or how to rectify it.
The geyser didn't work in the bathroom. The sheets were soiled from the previous customers... and though the bed was done neatly on pulling out the blanket, it was sickening to see that the sheet was soiled and not changed... and there was even strands of hair on the bed. The soap, shampoo etc in the bathroom was not changed either.
What was infuriating was that inspite of calling the reception and complaining about all this, the various folks including the manager would make some lame excuse, saying that the sheets in fact had been changed and the hair on the bed was unfortunate.. .but not their fault!!!
The fiasco continued the following day when they made us run from pillar to post for the complimentary breakfast. They initially told us that the breakfast would not be served in the room. We however requested for it since we had a 3 yr old kid with us. They agreed.. .but a little later told us to come to the dining hall. When we did go to the hall.. .they claimed we did not have a complimentary breakfast.. .but had to pay for it!!! It was all so disgusting.
The few hours that we spent at Swiss County were the worst ever. I would not suggest this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gpenkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were 2 couples, went there for one night stay in the month of July .... It is Swiss Country just for Name Sake ... Hotel management is not aware of hotels whereabouts and fuinctions ..... they even dont know how the room lights functions ... we were at 1st floor and wanted to switch off our Room AC ... we called to reception and asked them to do so .... reply from the other side was "Sir, there are IC's in downstairs, try from there, switch off as per your needs........." what the F*** and our reaction was why the hell we have paid for room service, how would we know about hotel IC’s functions ...... after a long wait about half an hour, a person came in ... he switched off our AC and along with that also switched off nearby rooms lights ........ .. at the same time, person whose lights are gone came out ...that hotel person created a mess there and he was not sure what to do ....we called up manager and somehow it got sorted after 2 hours ...... horrible experience.....Breakfast was gud .....
Overall Experience.... wants to give in Negative ......

Room Tip: Choose this hotel if you really want to ruin your Trip....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bhav k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

One of the best experiences. Nice hotel, good service, beutiful surroundings...delivered what they promised. Highly recommended!!! The swimming pool is strategically built for the best experience. The food is good. But its better to avoid the disc unless u cant live without loud music in the evening

Room Tip: pick room that faces the valley..preferrably on the first floor, the one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_falcon_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
340 reviews
4.3 mi away
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
#38 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
62 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jeevan Village Resort
Jeevan Village Resort
#13 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#9 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
611 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#23 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar

Address: At Post- Met Gutad | Panchgani- Mahabaleshwar Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Swiss Country Resort)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: $35 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Panchgani Mahabaleshwar Road. Only 6 kms from Mahabaleshwar market. The resort has Swimming pool, Discotheque, Kids play area and Indoor and outdoor games. Overlooking curvaceous mountain ranges of the Western Ghats, The United 21 Resort, Mahabaleshwar, is an ideal holiday destination. The resort is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers as it is located conveniently from all the key locations and tourist places. The resort offers mouth-dropping scenic views, comfortable boarding facilities, lip-smacking dishes, business facilities and other recreational services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your United-21 Resort Mahabaleshwar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing