We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Food was great... Rooms in the midst of nature...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food was great... Rooms in the midst of nature...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We did not stay here though we are Club Mahindra members since we could not get bookings last minute. But we went there for lunch and spent some time on the property and decided that we definitely would want to come back some day soon.

Food was very good. We had a sumptuous lunch! Service was a little slow and so when we bugged them a bit they got us a platter of complimentary papads. They have nice little nooks and corners with sheds and tree houses across the property and it requires a lot of walking up and down to get to your room or the restaurant or the reception area but well...you are at a hill station!!

Though we didn't stay there, we saw the rooms which looked nice and comfortable and some rooms on the 1st floor had balconies which practically touched the trees around and you feel like you are in a jungle coz they have retained most of the green cover in and around the resort. Nice views. Nice cosy property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachanaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    183
    77
    19
    13
See reviews for
257
84
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

“Accept what life offers you and try to drink from every cup. All wines should be tasted; some should only be sipped, but with others, drink the whole bottle.”
just relax & chill at sherwood the fines of mahabaleshwar

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emraanDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have just been to this place from 29-03-13 to 30-03-13. It's a nice, cool place to stay. Its spread in a hue area, with greenery all around. I liked the pool they have. The Club Mahindra has take charge of the property very recently (6 months) and they need to do a lot to bring it to your standard. The resort is nicely made with a look of the earlier days house. Its a one floor property. We were given the room on the first floor towards the reception side. In my opinion the food was expensive (under the package it costed Rs. 1,000 odd amount for three meals per head per day - very expensive), hence we decided to take our meals outside. They had a strawberry farm. Was a good experience to see how the strawberry is grown and to see them in the field. They take orders from the people interested but were selling at more than double the price available in the market. The sunset from the pool side was a let down. Reason - the sun goes down the hill quiet early (when its too bright to call it a sunset). Staff was good, polite and co-operative. They have good activity set-up and children enjoy it. If you want to use the pool remember to carry your own swim suites or else you will have to purchase there on spot.

All in all stay there to relax. Do the rest from the market.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shweta_Sureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Traveled here towards end of March. Loved the location. Lush green throughout.
Loved the food, especially the Lunch and Dinner buffet spread.
However, rooms need a major makeover and refurbishment. Worn out and oldish, though comfortable.
Would appreciate if Club Mahindra maintains and upkeeps it like Munnar, Goa and Pavna Dam Lonavala

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BombayNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had the opportunity to revisit Club Mahendra resort ''Sherwood'' at Mahableshwar. Great experience akin to staying in a forest for 4 days with all possible comforts. An 8 acre property having over 7000 trees, rustic charm, magnificient valley view, stunning sunset, great food suitable for every palate, lots of activities for kids including adventure sports, ever helpful staff with a dynamic and friendly manager Mr Aggarwal assisted by a young and enthusiastic team. A must do is a walk to the nearby strawberry farm where one may pluck and savor the fresh hand picked strawberries. Located around 2 kms from the main bazar....away from the humdrum yet close enough for quick access.., a great place to visit. for a short peaceful vacation. On the down side some rooms / bathrooms need to be refurbished but can be overlooked if one considers the other plus points. Have come to the conclusion that even a ''not an outstanding'' club mahindra resort can make a great holiday with the help of good and ably assisted staff with the right attitude. Sad that this resort is not owned by CM, so visit it, savor it... makes a enjoyable vacation for both adults and kids. - arun punjabi

Room Tip: Rooms facing the forest are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apseco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

this is the kind of place one should go to when wanting to drive away from crowds. even if the resort is full, the 8 acre property with lots of greenery water by the pool can get you to feel good. room that we got over looked the pool as well as had trees adjacent to it. the call of the bulbuls in the morning was a welcome for somebody who traveled away from Mumbai and its crowded honking jammed streets. The only negative about the resort is that the rooms are yet to be refurbished. the staff are welcoming and also create a dinner for two by the pool if the request is placed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kumarraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

One of the best trained staff that I have experienced in a Club Mahindra resort, extremely helpful and eager to please, almost all the restaurant staff went out of their way during the stay.

The resort surroundings are nice with ample space to walk around inside the resort and a nice pool and a fully equipped fun zone.

But having said that, it does not meet the expectations from Club Mahindra, I stayed in the main building, the rooms seemed very ordinary, the bed was a bit too soft, but luckily we had an attic with another firmer mattress which was a godsend.

The lack of room service was another unpleasant surprise, so if one feels peckish before its time for the restaurants to open, there is no alternative but to go to town, so you better keep a vehicle handy since public transport is not easily available.

The a' la carte menu and food was great but the buffet offerings were a bit disappointing.

All in all has potential but the renovation needs to be speeded up significantly to be worth the while.

Room Tip: Avoid the main building which has not been renovated yet if possible. Rooms facing the pool on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunilRShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Saj Resort
Saj Resort
#6 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#5 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#2 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#11 of 47 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood

Property: Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood
Address: Blue Valley Ride, Devi Path | Off Medha Satara Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Sherwood Resort Mahableshwar)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood, the crowning glory in the jewel that is Mahabaleshwar, is set amidst 8 acres of lush forest. This beautiful resort is the perfect retreat for holiday makers and MICE travelers alike. Each room, be it a double bed, duplex, suite or a private bungalow, is tastefully decorated with all the modern amenities, giving you that enchanting experience of elegance and modernity within a rustic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing