We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place, conveniently located but ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful place, conveniently located but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

First of all I would say it was difficult to rate the place "Average", I could be hard on it, but when I recollect all the things..Yes I feel it could have been excellent easily, becuase the negatives are manageable.

First of all, I must say the drive is excellent from Mumbai to Mahabaleshwar via Pune, and you enjoy everybit of it. Mahabaleshwar was quite convenient to reach and so was the resort. A really beautiful place amidst lush green surroundings. We went there not in the best of the season, but we plaaned for it, quite in advance, to see the consistent rains and the greenery at that time...mist and clouds and to feel the cold. We were aghast to have a call just 02 days before we arrive from the Resort Management compelling us to drop the idea to come there. Reason ---Rains and restoration work going on. This was just amazing...everyone knows the rainy season during early september in Mahahbaleshwar, second the restoration work was goign on since long..so why just 02 days before only. Anyway as we didnt had anything else that could be planned in such sohrt notice we went ahead.

Now the place was amazing, really beautiful, both mahabaleshwar and sherwood resort. We got one of the best rooms in the resort, after we had to deny some dingy & smelly rooms, unclean bathrooms and damp walls.

The room had a huge bathroom, but no partition for WC, huge Jacuzzi, which we thorughly enjoyed, with kids..and what a view outside the balcony. The way to the cottage was also really good and it was amazing to sip on Wine while having a view of consistent mild rain,amidst slight cloudy mist, falling on the green carpet of trees & shrubs, over carefully crafted hills, a cool breeze reminding you to coverup with warm shawl, amazing. And that is what we had come there of...excellent...

Now the cons...no room service, first we thought its because of the rains, later we discovered that this is the rule....NO CANT BE>>IT SHOULDNT BE...specially during such rains, at times you feel like dont even go out of the room with kids...as it was cold....

Food was pathetic....The place is little away from market so if you dont have your vehicle then you are totally stuck there. We had our vehiclebut I would suggest please dont expect good food at Mahabaleshwar and you may have to settle with Dominos or some small dhaba kind food only.

Overall the pkace is avergae becuase of teh food and the service that they have, menu was limited, no room service...so these things could be improved and I would love to visit here again and again.....

Room Tip: Check the rooms before you finalise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chander_Gujral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    203
    90
    20
    14
See reviews for
308
97
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Sherwood Resorts is highly overpriced and does not meet with the " value for money" criterion. There are a lot of activities for children and extremely kid friendly but that does not compensate for the fact that there is no room service, no in between snacks or all day dining available(which is a pre requisite when traveling with children)
Carry snacks and drinks along.
The buffet breakfast has only eggs for the non vegetarians which is disappointing.
The spread is immense but inconsistent in taste even for vegetarians.
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Full marks there.
Overall a satisfactory stay but leaves you questioning your decision.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riya2677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon Haryana ,India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Driving in from Varca goa was a little hesitant as to what Sherwood would be like ! We were very Happy when we arrived and were given a warm welcome withlovely warm strawberry tea and shown to one of the best rooms on the property ! Kudos to a very freindly accomodating team of Club Mahindra staff right From the GM to his entire team. .The facilities will Iam sure be more finetuned once the complete renovation is over, but even at this stage we definitely didnot feel that any thing was out of place . We had a One Br and that to in the further block but with one of the best Views of nature ,the forest, the Jamun trees ! and sipping your tea early morning out on the balcony was so calming and yet so stimulating ! The room had a bathtub with a jacuzzi and loads of Hot water to take full benifit !. The sunset from the raised deck above the pool was indeed breath taking .! Will definitely be back after it is fully completed !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepaNebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Leave out any "Club Mahindra" pre-notion that you might have and this is a wonderful property. As everyone has told here, it is still under renovation and yes that is a bit of an unpleasant experience and hence the 4" rating (renovation complete and I will rate it 5").

The resort is located about 3 kms away from the Mahabaleshwar market (as always like all other CM resorts are nestled away from the rush-hush of any location) which I personally prefer. Nestled inside a serene environment with lots of greenery around it gives you a much needed relaxing holiday. To compliment this relaxed atmosphere, you have a splendid restaurant with a wonderful cusine. My special thanks to the Chef here, who adjusted the menu spread to compliment the climate which was too cold. Wonderful soups/ shorbas accompanied with a delectable spread of salads, a generous spread of main course with good options for veg./ non. veg. and jain, I think no one will have anything to complaint about food. Very good assorted pastries/ desserts spread along with indian sweets. Also had some 10-12 different type of wonderful maharashtrian style pickles. All in all the food makes up for the renovation disturbance :-))

There is a very good funzone with 2 table tennis board (more than enough for me), a table football, carrom, chess and other board games. They organised for some events like rope climbing etc. inside the resort just near to the funzone and had the option of organizing outside trekking events as well (didnt opt for it). A good, clean and big swimming pool (couldn't use it because of the cold weather).

Most importanly, the staff here was extremely courteous and ever-willing to help. All rooms are good. Pool facing rooms - you can have easy access to the pool from gr. flr rooms and also have good view of the sunset from both floors. All other rooms are good as the resort is completed packed with trees/ geenery all around and you will not feel the need to have a specific view from here, but still there are the large room units which have the best view.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony for your morning/ evening cup of tea/ coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinodNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you like natural greenery, the feel of cottages nestled amid the woods and some old world charm, Sherwood Mahableshwar is the place for you. The staff are young, eager to help and very enthusiastic about their resort. Some of the facilities like the hot water system, the electrical points and kitchenettes need to be pulled up to the Club M standards we have come to expect. Location is good, away from the bustle of M'blesh town centre, but close enough to go to for meals or a trip to the market or lake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabbar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

A few good points fist.
1. As usual Mahindra Properties are located well. We were just amidst forest. I could only see forest from my room. Great experience of seeing SUNSET from room itself.
2. Very nice people.
3. Rooms were decent.
But being a member of CM and having visited their other resorts, I had more disappointments. Some of the top ones:
1. The usual session on formal resort trips and facility was not experienced
2. Located in place known for strawberries, the strawberries were missing in menu except for the welcome drink
3. Menu spread was not creative. Limited menu does not mean repeated items
4. I did not see the usual thrill and excitement in fun zone.
5. Considering the location one would expect more outdoor activities like Trekking and hiking. But what was available sounded more like walking on roads than into forest or hills.
6. Facilities for driver in nonexistent. Though stay was arranged in some facility close to resort. Food served to them was not acceptable to my driver at least. It appears it was cold and without any taste.
7. They can definitely do better in terms of cleanliness. For example accumulated dusts in the corners reflect the cleaning is superficial not deep.
8. Generally the food items in menu were either too good or bad.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that has their balconies facing forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGSubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was my first visit to a CM property. Location wise the property gets a resounding thumbs up from me. But everything else definitely needs work. We were initially given a room with sheers for curtains. Never seen a hotel room with transparent curtains for everyone to look into your room. When we asked them to change it,the hotel decided to change our room because they didn't have thicker window curtains.:) so moved into a lower rated room. The food at the resort was definitely priced on the higher side. So please carry your own munchies if you enjoy snacking. Again try going in your own vehicle- gives you more freedom to move around and saves you some money. There are a million "points" to see. Venna lake and Shivsagar lake are worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen7967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#11 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Saj Resort
Saj Resort
#7 of 48 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood

Property: Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood
Address: Blue Valley Ride, Devi Path | Off Medha Satara Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Sherwood Resort Mahableshwar)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood, the crowning glory in the jewel that is Mahabaleshwar, is set amidst 8 acres of lush forest. This beautiful resort is the perfect retreat for holiday makers and MICE travelers alike. Each room, be it a double bed, duplex, suite or a private bungalow, is tastefully decorated with all the modern amenities, giving you that enchanting experience of elegance and modernity within a rustic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing