We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in progress:))”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was my first visit to a CM property. Location wise the property gets a resounding thumbs up from me. But everything else definitely needs work. We were initially given a room with sheers for curtains. Never seen a hotel room with transparent curtains for everyone to look into your room. When we asked them to change it,the hotel decided to change our room because they didn't have thicker window curtains.:) so moved into a lower rated room. The food at the resort was definitely priced on the higher side. So please carry your own munchies if you enjoy snacking. Again try going in your own vehicle- gives you more freedom to move around and saves you some money. There are a million "points" to see. Venna lake and Shivsagar lake are worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen7967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 539 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Club Mahindra recently acquired / leased Sherwood. We visited during Diwali, November 2012.The best thing about this resort is its location...comfortably away from the crowded places, nestled in woods. Expansive property with an old world charm. Its very quiet and peaceful if you get a suite away from the restaurant. Another plus is the staff. Staff is very helpful and polite. They really make a difference when it comes to prompt room service and a la carte service in the restaurant. The restauarant manager is a gem of a person. Altough he was short staffed, he made our Anniversary evening special by arranging wine and starters with candlelight by the pool side.
However; Club Mahindra needs to infuse funds to get this property upto the standards of other properties like Varca and Coorg. A little bit of attention to landscaping and overall cleanliness is required.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you are as finicky as I am when it comes to being disturbed by noises, che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidyanand_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Even after almost an year back, after acquiring this property, the resort is not yet at par with other properties of Club Mahindra.
Very nicely located, just outside the small city, and still very close to nature.
The special strawberry tea as welcome drink is really rejuvenating. The staff is quite good.
The resort has a very nicely shaped swimming pool which also offers a great view at sunset. The resort is maintained with natural trees in the garden area. Also a watch point is provide just along side the swimming pool which offers a very picturesque view of the valley. Rooms are spacious with all the basic amenities. Only thing i missed was the kitchenette which is normally provided by Club Mahindra in their studio rooms too.
Overall, the place is good to stay, though there is a scope of improvement.

Room Tip: choose a room which faces the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CypherSwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

68 rooms spread over lush green 8.5 acres makes it perhaps the resort offering the highest space per family in Mahabaleshwar.I was initially hesitant to visit this resort inview of many reviews @ the renovation work going on at the resort.

Like most Club Mahindra (CM) properties this newly leased CM resort is located far enough to make it Noise & Air pollution free but near enough (3.5 kms) to make it accessible..

We were welcomed with a innovative welcome drink, the piping hot Strawberry flavoured Tea. . It couldn’t have been better, after all we were in Strawberry country. Mr Imran from the front office then escorted us to our rooms and Mr. Rajesh, from the member relations,Holiday World explained the resort facilities. In the evening, Ms. Prerna, the warm and affable member relations executive, took us around the resort.

The Resort cottages with its Colonial county look and the elegant rooms studded with regal
furniture make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience.

Like most CM resorts this resort has the Fun Zone, SPA, badminton court, activities like trekking, outdoor adventure activities, evening entertainment etc. A small strawberry plantation is also within the resort.

Near to the swimming pool there is a spot from which one can get the best sunset views.

The breakfast & dinner were excellent but the lunch could have been better, The Chef Mr Malcolm was constantly taking feedback & customised the food as per our taste.

The service was excellent as is true of most CM resorts. A casual remark to a member relations executive about my upcoming visit in Feb'13 to Club Mahindra Safari Gir resort brought the young & dynamic Resort manager Mr Prarit Aggarwal to his office not withstanding the Sunday holiday to help me make a detailed plan of my next visit - An outstanding example of Customer delight.

In all a memorable stay (renovation or no renovation). Renovation whatsoever going on will transfom this resort to even greater heights. Watch the ratings after 6 months !

Room Tip: TIP - The 2 BR suites are actually 3 BR's, Excellent for large families. 605 & 606 (1 BR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShreyasMalkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Club Mahindra acquired this existing resort in mid-2012. So, a number of areas are still work-in-progress and not upto the usual CM standards.

First the positives. The location is excellent. Located near Mahabaleshwar city (3kms) but still away from the crowds, noise and traffic and a lot of greenery within the resort. Most of the rooms also seem to have been done up by ClubM - at the one we stayed in was quite good. The staff at the reception was also quite good and efficient. The swimming pool looked good, but we did'nt manage to use it during our stay. The weather was great during our stay and we did enjoy the strawberries and mulberries that we bought on the Mahableshwar - Panchgani road. The strawberry-fresh cream-icecream combo at the Mapro food court was great as well.

Food was a major disappointment - way below the high ClubM standard. Although the pricing is line with that at the other ClubM resorts, the quality is not - we stayed at ClubM's Pavna resort a couple of months back and enjoyed excellent food at the same pricing. While the Fun Centre was well stocked with games, the place needed better people to run the activities. The landscaping at the resort is work-in-progress.

We are hopeful that these issues would get sorted out soon and the resort will be up to ClubM standard by our next trip in 2013.

Room Tip: Room 604, where we stayed, was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sprr07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a beautiful resort, about 5km from the centre of Mahableshwar, surrounded by a forest, in a tranquil setting.
Two points need to be taken into consideration; Firstly this is a resort which has been recently acquired (leased) by Club Mahindra and secondly our visit was at the end of the monsoon season.
Many properties and businesses in the surrounding area are shut down during the monsoon due to the heavy rainfall.
The resort is not up to the usual Club Mahindra standard and there is clear evidence of lack of maintenance throughout. Senior corporate management need to seriously weigh up the benefits against the dissatisfaction of members/guests, at prematurely opening up any "new" property for occupancy.
Not only is it dissappointing when a resort does not come up to the standards that one expects from a CM resort but it is also a poor exercise in customer relationship.
Three other reviews relating to this resort also mention their below par experience.

The resort is spread over four acres and some of the rooms are situated on a higher level, which could make daily access difficult for some people. Although the resort is under renovation, the work has been hampered by the monsoon.

One redeeming factor for us was the friendly and courteous attitude of some of the staff, the front office staff were affable and helpful.

If I were considering a visit to this resort I would want to allow a good three months for the current renovation work to become effective.
Driving from Mumbai took six hours after leaving Panvel east, with two stops on the way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gorame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This resort is probably one of the few good resorts of Mahabaleshwar. There are many hotels but a few resorts. Location of the place is about 3 kms from the main Mahabaleshwar bus stand and the market. Venna lake is also a 3 kms away towards Panchgani. Known as Sherwood Resort and now taken over by Club Mahindra, it's easier to get directions from locals if one asks for Sherwood and the moment one mentions Club Mahindra, everyone draws a blank expression.

We had gone there during the monsoon and experienced heavy rainfall. Mahabaleshwar itself looks deserted and a lot of shops, restaurants and amusement centres or game centres are closed. There is a thick fog during the day also and sunshine was difficult. We drove down from Mumbai via Pune-Wai-Panchgani and reached Venna lake at around 6.30 pm. The area was deserted and with a thick fog, it was difficult to reach this place or even get directions. The signboards are also of Sherwood and not Club Mahindra.

The resort location is good. In the midst of a thick forest and on a hill top, the place has easy and difficult contours of land. The rooms come in a variety. Most of the existing rooms are studios. There were 6 1BR units and we were fortunate to get a 1BR. The room was spacious, though located on the farthest end of the resort. The interiors smelt dampness, though the room was clean and looked well maintained. The jacuzzi, which my son, was delighted to see was not working and innumerable calls to the reception were of no help. The only assurance we got was that the maintenance man is expected any moment.

The balcony was overlooking a forest and with cusps of fog rolling uphill, the balcony door was a gateway to a fog filled room. The fog was accompanied by chilly winds and the eerie calmness was itself an experience.
The 1BR units are 2 level apartments and their is a staircase leading to the upper bedroom. This was something interesting and gave the feel of a row house. Absence of a kitchenette, an excellent Club Mahindra feature was really felt. Added to this was the absence of room service, which was not at all expected. The restaurant is located a bit far and while returning back, ther was a good tiring uphill climb.

There is no Funzone or Activity Centre or children's playing area. With a TT table and a hall for activities, this a a long way to go.

The market is abt 3 kms and various dining options are available there. Recently Dominos has opened an outlet. One can also try the food court at Mapro Garden and their pizzas and grilled sandwiches are good. However, one must not venture out late evening due to heavy fog and visibility becoming very poor.

Room Tip: Choose a 1BR over a studio apartment. These are spacious and facing the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PraksMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
340 reviews
1.7 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#9 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#7 of 58 in Mahabaleshwar
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood

Address: Blue Valley Ride, Devi Path | Off Medha Satara Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Sherwood Resort Mahableshwar)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: $93 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood, the crowning glory in the jewel that is Mahabaleshwar, is set amidst 8 acres of lush forest. This beautiful resort is the perfect retreat for holiday makers and MICE travelers alike. Each room, be it a double bed, duplex, suite or a private bungalow, is tastefully decorated with all the modern amenities, giving you that enchanting experience of elegance and modernity within a rustic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Club Mahindra Mahabaleshwar Sherwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing