We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dwarks to Somnath”

Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Porbandar
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dwarks to Somnath”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

On our way from Dwarka to Somnath we visited Porbander Kirti Mandire, Mahatma Gandhi's Birth Place. It is very good,Clean and very informative. Kasturba"s House is waking distance and it is worth visiting.


Mahatma Gandhi Kirti Mandir Sanchalay Samiti
Kasturba Gandhi Marg,
Porbandar - 360 575.
Gujarat, India

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravel11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    72
    15
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Birth Place of one of the Greatest Leaders of the World”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Travelling from Somnath to Dwaraka, I was crossing Porbandar and I told my driver that I would like to visit Kirti Mandir. His immediate reaction was "Kirti What ???". Though the driver was from Gujarat, he was not aware of the place. We stopped in atleast 5 different places to ask for directions and finally reached the place. Reaching this place is not an easy task especially if you are arriving thru the main market street and that too on an Innova. Our driver confessed that no one usually comes here to see the place and people go directly from Dwaraka to Somnath.

However after all the efforts that we put in to reach the place, it was a satisfying experience for me. Looking at the exact spot in a room where the Mahatma was born, I was filled with a sense of pride that I was atleast able to visit this place. The house itself is narrow and has narry staircases to go upstairs. There is also a room where Gandhiji spent his time studying. My kids were very excited to see the place and they spent a lot of time going thru each and every exhibit in that place.

For a moment, you are almost carried back to the 1800s and you begin to imagine what the whole place would have looked like when he was born. Little would have anyone known that the kid was going to become one of the greatest leaders of the world.

If you are passing by Somnath, pls do stop by and visit this place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rumasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
763 reviews
495 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 693 helpful votes
“BIRTH PLACE OF MAHATMA GANDHIJI”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A very quiet well maintained heritage monument one should not miss. The house has lot of rooms and get a very pleasant feeling visiting this place. The birth place is also marked with a swastik mark. There is a museum in the first floor showing Mahatma Gandhiji's pictues, articles used by him, books,letters etc.
Many foreign visitors. Place is quiet and we went there on a working day. There was no crowd. Could see the whole place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank loki_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porbandar, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Feel the Maha-Aatma...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would not count this place as just ordinary heritage place....It is where a person who was born in a middle class ordinary family lived his dream yet being ordinary world's citizen...I would ask every visitor to visit this site either early morning or in the noon so that sound of honking does not disturb you when you are in and spend at least 15 minutes in a meditation mode and think about what really happened with Mahatma Gandhi....You will go through some moments personally...I have tried it...Otherwise the place is well maintained, the real house is actually behind Kirti Mandir...You can take a walk to the house from Kirti Mandir it is like 50yards away...Once you are out of mandir...Stand in between Manek Chowk...You will fin the Mughal like architect on foursides,which were actually doors to Old Porbandar and in between is the statue of Mahatma Gandhi...The real Porbandar is on the port side.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnygohel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
222 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Simple and humbling”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

It is well maintained. Nothing much to see. Just some rooms. But why one should go? its humbling to think someone born in such a place could achieve so much.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dhruvdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirti Mandir Temple also viewed

 

Been to Kirti Mandir Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing