We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the tour operators need to re-asses this one!”
Review of Aldeia Bello

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aldeia Bello
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Baga
Reviewed January 17, 2008

The photo's you see on holiday companies website's are very cleverly taken,looking at the pool,building on your right they dont tell you there's a shanty town on the left.You know its there as a cockeral who cannot tell the time will crow from 1am-6am.The women doing their laundry & slapping down wet cloths on rocks will wake you at 5am,the bread seller will wake you at 6am by ringing his bell. while your having breakfast the children will stand at the edge saying "sweeties,chocolate" & indicate their hunger by putting their hands to their mouths!

A land owners right of way dispute between the hotel & shanty town means as you have meals/drinks, trucks,vans,tuk tuk's & herds of cows will walk through the hotel!

Again, the photo of a room on the holiday companies website is the only one decorated in this way, you can tell this as its the only room with reasonable condition/colour curtains.You can see from outside as its above the jewerey shop.

Our room when I walked in I cried! As you walked in a window on your left didnt have glass but ornate concret work letting bugs etc crawl straight in, ripped sofa & chairs, rusty fridge,no tv, table covered in fag burns! 2 v.hard single beds with dirty covers on & sweat smelling pillows, also stained. A fan that we thought would fly off the wall & air con that sounded like a cow giving birth! All rooms have another room like a utility room, with 2 poles going from wall to wall, no coat hangers but you could hang your towels over. no wardrobes, Shower room with broken soap dish,cracked mirror. Water spurts from shower head & we had to put a flannel over it so water didnt hit electrical water tank above! room changed after 3 days, only slightly better!

The only positive thing is the staff are nice & food not bad!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gobsmacked08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for Aldeia Bello
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2008

We spent 3 weeks at the Aldeia Bello from 9th December until 30th December 07, . We were unfortunately there for Christmas. We can only agree with the Hampshire posting January, 08.
The hotel was not as it appeared in the brochure, the hotel itself was visibly dirty, the hotel grounds were dirty, the table cloths were dirty, the whole surrounding area was dirty, when eating we spent most of the time chasing flies from the table and food. The hotel is adjacent to a homeless peoples shanty site and the noises from there early morning were most annoying making sleep impossible, all and sundry have a right of way through the hotel grounds at anytime, including meal times, people, waggons, cars, bikes, even a herd of cows one morning whilst having what was known as breakfast. This was our 6th visit to Goa, we usually stay in 2* accomodation in Calangute, Baga or Appora and thought we knew what to expect but this hotel was well below expectation and in our opinion definately not 2*. This was a planned Christmas holiday not a last minute booking, I thought I had researched the hotel, looking at several holiday company web sites, non of which truely discribed the hotel.

Go down south for better Hotels, beaches and surrounding areas. Try Colva beach, or Rahjah beach, anywhere south of the airport is noticably better.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

Well where do I begin... after reading all the reviews I decided to book it ... I always use trip advisor prior to booking any holiday and up untill now have been lucky I suppose , I Knew after reading the reviews that it was going to be very basic...but basic isnt a word that comes to mind when you first arrive at the resort... we were dropped off at the top of a long dusty dirt track and told we would have to take our cases down to the hotel as the coach couldnt fit down the road... not a problem we thought even though we were really tired after a 12 Hr flight and fighting our way through the hundreds of people hassling us at the airport to put our cases on the pre booked coach , this they will not do without a good tip..... tipping isnt a problem normally but if you just give them a couple of ruppees they hassle you for more .... the road to the hotel is full of dogs and is like a building site . its about a 8 min walk which dosnt sound bad apart from the fact that when you reach the other end ... you are met with the hotel... this itself does not look like the photos in the brochures so dont be fooled... it has a pool which is situated in the shade all day.. why it was built there I will never know... the outside has not seen a coat of paint since it was built ... and looks like a prisoner of war camp... that you see on the TV .. bars on the windows balconys if your lucky... which you wouldnt go out on .. the rooms themself are large ... however again have not been decorated for many years and are in dire need of a coat of paint.. bare light bulbs hanging , and furniture which should be put in a skip , the bed was a wooden frame with hardboard base and the matress .. if you can call it that was thinner than the cushions I have on my bench in the garden . it is like lying on a board , in there defence I must amit they did get us another 3 matresses which helped us sleep however I was so depressed that I had too spend too weeks in this awfull room that I struggled to do that for the first few days , all I could so was cry as I could think of nothing worse than spending the next few weeks in this depressing place. I do have to say that it was clean however and they changed the towels and cleaned the room daily which after speaking to lots of people in the resort seems to be out of the normal. so I think we were lucky .... !! not that you feel it at all .
I was in the first week bitten on my leg, by one of the many dogs that are outside the hotel , as the road approaching the hotel at night is very dark and it just came from nowhere .. if it hadnt of been for this old man sitting on the edge of the road and shouting at the dog I dread to think how bad it would have been .
After that every night my husband had to pick up a stone from the top of the road just incase !! The beaches in Goa are very dispointing.. as they are very crowded and full of bottles and rubbish we went in total to 7 beaches just to find I decent I to spend a day on. they are brown sand and the beaches in Cornwall are by far better , however if you travel South which we did everyday in the second week you will find nicer beaches ... we went to mandarin beach everyday once we had found it.. this is about I Hr away fron the Hotel in a taxi and cost 800 Ruppees however thats return and the taxi driver will wait all day for this amount. It is cheap in Goa and I do have to say that the food is very Good . the weather was perfect and I didnt see a cloud in the sky for 2 weeks.I would never return to Goa and struggle to understand why so many people go back there year after year, I can only presume its because its so cheap , this for me is still no reason to go back as the resort itself is by far the worse I have ever been too . The poople are OK but expect a tip for everything... and can get abit funny if you dont give them what they expect. I felt I had to write this review as I really didnt want anyone to book this hotel without knowing how bad it really is.... if you do decide to book it I know you will be very dissapointed .. Well I think in future I will only book things that have been recommended as I would never want to waste my money on something so bad . I also heard at the Airport and from people that had been there lots that this seems to be the normal in Gao .. who Knows ..... Its back to Thailand for us in future as the beaches and people are of different quality ...

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank HampshireJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kikacumaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baga hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riverside
Hotel Riverside
#18 of 24 in Baga
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Casa Baga
Casa Baga
#15 of 24 in Baga
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mykonos Blu
Mykonos Blu
#6 of 24 in Baga
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lazylagoon Sarovar Portico Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia Bello

Address: Cobrawado, Calangute Baga - North Goa, Baga 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Baga
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Aldeia Bello Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing