We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to Chill Around”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alidia Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 35 Baga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Place to Chill Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

My rating is strictly based on the feel-good factor of ur stay.However,this place is pretty expensive.
Location is descent,but then the path to the beach aint somethin good.U gota walk thru hutments and garbage.
The rooms,cottages,pool side rooms,lawn side rooms are really nice.They are clean,bathrooms are clean.Service is pretty much the same in any goa hotels and restaurants: LAIDBACK !!.
The owners aren'nt very concerned about the guests either.That was a real turn off.Normally,all tourist places give a good attention to Foreign Nationals and Indians aren't given much of an importance.No matter,what time you arrive,you will not be given a room until the owner(husband-wife) comes in ,which is after 9:30 am !!.. the staff would let you sit in the restaurant and order food etc..but u cannot have your room until they come in ..which was ridiculous !!..
Food is ok. Room service,we got was pretty nice.Guess,that was because we had a friend who was a regular there.But I would doubt if you will get attention other wise.
But,all said,the entire structure is neatly built.The pools,the restaurant,gives you a very good feel of being in a very nice place.You wouldn;t find noisy crowd or groups in there.
The problem is you will not get the feeling of being served or cared, for paying an unreasonable price for your stay.
The location and the proximity to the famous joints are good. Casino,Brittos,TITO's are all walking distance.
Cavalla Hotel nearby is another good option.
Brittos is a good place to have lunch.Very good food!!
The TITO's charge exhorbitantly(negotiable) rates for stag entry.If you got a female friend with you,then couple charges are applicable.If it's a guys only group then,it's an unfair treatment !!
In any case,Baga/Calangute beach is way too crowded.I would suggest hitting Palolem beach.Cleaner and realyy nice and peaceful.Also,The famous Headphone party (Silent Noise) is held there every saturday. It doesn;t have any water sports,but then that beach is much more relaxed !!!!

My advice: hit for Palolem. It's a great beach.

Room Tip: Go for the ones having the lawn/garden.It's realy nice and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy_Gates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    67
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
47
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We chose this place after calling around and using trip TripAdvisor reviews.

Bathroom was okay, fairly clean... toilet had some problems, shower didnt drain very well. but it was clean and most of the time had hot water.

Mattresses were kinda plain and not very good.
Sooo much noise from Baga/Calangute bars and beach at night, very hard to sleep well for a light sleeper.
The TV worked okay, the AC didnt work at all.
The pool was nice, water was pretty cold compared to the ocean though.

We paid 2600 rupees a night for 5 nights, did not give us any more discount other then no taxes.

The staff was pretty rude, the owner lady was not very nice. The security guy they hired was awesome tho! he was very helpful lol.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phennexion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We discovered this place in lonely planet. It is frequented by foreigners majorly. Food is nice and mininimal in terms of menu. A cosy place. Has a swimming pool in between the cottages. Good ambience. Feel relaxed and chilled out. Next to the beach, you can actually walk down to the Baga beach in your swimming gear. reasonably priced.Lot of Russians families come over here.
The owners are a nice couple. It is value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool if you want some view, else if you want complete isolation, then other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CdrShivMathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here in December and it's in a fantastic location right on Baga beach. The only thing I would say is if you head to the beach from Alicia in the evenings there's no lighting so it's a bit hope for the best!

Alirio and lydia are both absolutely lovely and very helpful, as are all the staff.

Only downsides are the lighting to the beach at night and also, not a major thing, but ,oat other places we've stayed change the sheets every day and these change them every other day, but that's not really an issue! Also, we went for breakfast one day, it took us 10 mins to find someone serving and another 25 to get our food (eggs on toast and an omelette) so we ended up eating breakfast out. There was also no one around in the evenings to serve from what we found, but then there are plenty of restaurants/bars/beach shacks within walking distance for drinks or dinner!

Overall, lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kindatheartuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in Alidia beach cottage on our recent visit to Goa.

pros:
- Close to Baga beach and Titos.
- Baga/calangute is the most happening place in goa

cons:
- Too expensive for the amenities they provide. we were charged a high price for a room which didnt even have a TV and A/C
- Bad service. We had a broken CFL lamp and missing blanket. Management did nothing to fix it inspite of repeated complaints
- They have a short route to the Baga beach but the path is filled with filth and pigs.

There is plenty of better accommodation available. Would advise to find a different one instead. This place is not worth for the price you pay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivekdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We were at Alidia from 17th Nov 2011....The experience was worth it...Enjoyed stay...Near to all the happenings...Baga Beach...Tito Lane....In between people but still very private....Nice people...room service is good...rooms are comfy....Alidia is such a place, where you would love to stay...Peaceful....Management is Nice and professional with clear policies...Nice people to deal with.....Going again soon....

Room Tip: Select First Floor Rooms Opposite Swimming Pool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prakash_srt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Alidia is a small hotel with a small pool surrounded by trees from all sides. The entrance to the hotel is very shabby and so is the approach to the beach which is actually quite complicated and goes through some fishermens huts. The rooms are decent but nothing to write home about .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indrajit1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baga hotels
0.3 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.6 mi away
Resort Lagoa Azul
Resort Lagoa Azul
#5 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#6 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baia Do sol
Baia Do sol
#17 of 25 in Baga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riverside
Hotel Riverside
#19 of 25 in Baga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alidia Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alidia Beach Cottages

Property: Alidia Beach Cottages
Address: Saunta Vaddo | Saunta Waddo, Baga 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Alidia Beach Cottages Hotel Baga
Alidia Beach Cottages Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing