We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavala Seaside Resort
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Just Right !!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Location,The Food,The rooms,the ambience..it seems it could not have got any better.This is right in between Calangute & Baga Beach,yet walking distance,behind the hotel a short walk away is the green countryside along with a river creak so you can go for those long walks admiring Gods creation.The food is super and in case you want then the casino is bang opposite..what else can you ask for...

Room Tip: Opt for a heritage room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShuddhoGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    124
    42
    19
    22
See reviews for
65
99
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Cavala knows how to treat their customers well. Their staff is so eager to help you through almost anything. They will suggest the best places to eat, have fun and when to return back to the in-house Cavala restaurant for the best friday evening possible in the city of Goa. They have the best crowd almost from all walks of life to get up and close with Tidal Wave, a Goan band famous throughout the country. They do retro and other numbers and the place just shoots up with energy by midnight.
They understand that their guests have paid for the breakfast which is surprisingly served as part of the room rent - throughout the day!
They are so well located at the center of party scene of Goa - the Baga beach that you dont even require a rental ride to go from one point to another.
I happened to spend some time with the owner Mala at Cavala. I think the character of the restaurant comes from her personality. She is humble, ready to help and full of energy. She gives personal attention to almost everything, right from guest comfort to being at the bar serving drinks etc. Cavala is must for foreign tourists to capture the Goan essence of life, fun and music.

Room Tip: Chose the big room towards the corner. You pay a bit extra to get such a big living room + big bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhijeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Been there twice in my 2 days visit.food is great and service even better.cheese and herbs mushrooms can't get any better. Clean restaurant. Ambience is very good. Shakeel f&b guy is cool.good recommendations.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank savio1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your great review.

We're glad you enjoyed the food at our restaurant and hope you continue to visit and may be stay with us on your next visit to Goa.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Food is great
Bar is excellent and bartender very friendly and makes perfect cocktails
Breakfast is good and so are other goan cuisine for lunch dinner
Basic rooms are bad since old property but we go since it is walkable from the beach and close to brittos

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We're glad you enjoy the food and drinks at our restaurant. We hope you continue to visit and stay with us and enjoy the renovated rooms.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked for 4 nights at the Cavala Villa, and immediately switched after checking in. The Villa is located 200 yards from the main hotel, across the main road and down an unpaved dirt track - which turns into a muddy quagmire at the first hint of rain. The Villa itself is poorly maintained, with signs of wood-rot everywhere and an unkempt garden. You definitely do not want to stay at the Villa, especially with a family - even at half the Rs 9k/night rate.

We switched to 2 rooms (4 & 5) in the main property, and discovered that these rooms don't even have phones, which was incredible for a hotel. This means trekking down an unkempt (empty water bottles lying around for days) path overgrown with vegetation to the front desk for every little thing, at all hours. And no wifi in the rooms either. Your only option is to use the wifi in the open-air restobar, and be eaten alive by mosquitoes in the bargain. C'mon, this is 2014, not 2002. Having Wifi in rooms is a basic amenity these days. If the hotel can put tiny TVs and A/Cs in the rooms, they can very well install phones and wifi. No guest would begrudge paying 500-1,000 bucks extra for these basics.

What's good? The people, without a doubt. Mario, who works breakfasts and lunches, was easily the best at the Cavala. Personable, helpful and intelligent - he should be asked to train every other waiter in Cavala in how to do it right. Narendar and Prasheel at the front desk were also warm and helpful, as was the GM, Michelle.

After 2 nights, we called it quits and moved to the Taj Holiday Village in Fort Aguada.

In conclusion, the property is crying out for renovation and re-investment. You can't even excuse these shortcomings by saying it's a quaint property. There's quaint and there's shabby, and the Cavala falls firmly into the shabby camp. Despite the really nice people here, there's no way that I can recommend it or return here unless they invest in sprucing up the place.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lower level, and at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaynejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review!

I wish I would've known about your dissatisfaction while you were staying with us. We are a fairly small property and we do renovate sections every year. The block you stayed in is going to be done this year, in parts. i.e. with intercom, etc.

I apologise on behalf of the team & management and hope you will return to Cavala on your next visit to Goa.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed with them in October last year... excellent property... warm and cozy atmosphere... great food...

A must is their all day breakfast and the live music in the evenings on Wednesdays (they day might have changes since i visited a while ago), the place just comes alive with couples swaying to the music...

The property is also just a stone throw from Baga beach and Brittos. Also a great place if you want to hang around in Anjuna shacks but do not want to stay in Anjuna. Its about 15 mins from Curlies Anjuna.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruchivenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We still serve breakfast all day and now have 3 music nights at Cavala. Wednesday, Friday & Saturday.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Fridays nights the only place to be is cavala .... Whether you liked or not if you are a rock fan the band will not let you sit down on your seats... The food is average but who cares where the rest of the ambience and the music is rocking
..truly the only place to be

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richksin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We hope you will like our food better and give us better reviews on your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#5 of 24 in Baga
757 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
0.8 mi away
Lazylagoon Sarovar Portico Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavala Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavala Seaside Resort

Property: Cavala Seaside Resort
Address: Saunta Vaddo, Baga 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Baga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavala Seaside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idiosyncratic, ivy-clad Cavala has been charming Baga-bound travellers for over 35 years, and continues to deliver clean, simple, nicely furnished rooms, ranged about a large complex with a central swimming pool. The bar-restaurant cooks up a storm, with live music on most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cavala Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavala Hotel Baga
Cavala Resort Baga
Cavala Resort Goa
Cavala Seaside Resort Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing