We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing stay in a charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavala Seaside Resort
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“relaxing stay in a charming hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Cavala hotel is the perfect charming Goa getaway form the hustle bustle of the touristy Baga beach. Even though it's in the center of a commercial tourist location, it has a beautiful old charm feel to it , which is very different from all the other commercial hotels that are around in the area. We stayed for 3 days at their adjoining property called Banana republic..and i would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a peaceful stay in baga, yet dont want to be far away from the busy beach. We stayed in the Pool suites.. and the rooms were huge with nice spacious terraces and bathrooms. The service of the hotel could've been a little better..eg:our rooms weren't ready when we arrived, some of the electronic gadgets like the safe and fridge were not working and even though we requested for safe to be fixed..no one showed up.But apart from that, everything else about the hotel was great! we enjoyed a classic live jazz nite with the locals and tourists, the breakfast was good the pool was fantastic, though not as clean as it should be and a no hassle checkout, they even packed a complimentary roast pork for us for takeaway! overall we had a fantastic time in Banana Republic and would definitely come back and stay here again!

Room Tip: the pool view suite is a little more expensive than the rest of the rooms..but certainly worth the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    122
    42
    19
    22
See reviews for
65
99
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I had been there in April mid and I found few rooms were occupied , the only thing I found there which was worth was its location . The staff was so lazy as If not paid salary since months . It has nothin to offer . The only thing was the live band who played some retro rock. Quite ordinary place

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great little time tested place, owners who obviously bring in the passion into ensuring that guests have a good time but its the little things that are not being taken care of. I last stayed here in Feb 2012 and took a suite. I had to chase out 5 lizards from the room!! If you are okay with this sort of thing then you won't have a problem else look elsewhere until they sort themselves out.
On the plus side, their bar hosts an excellent Friday night scene with guests, neighbours and locals all joining in to make merry.
Cavala, if you are listeing please work on the details and you will rock once more!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thelearnedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Yes, location, food, music;- three reasons to stay at Cavala. Though the food and music part is good at a lot of other places in North Goa. So, location is what keeps you here. I found the rooms pretty costly for what they are giving; but it is located near Baga, that explains the high price. I would say helpful staff, but could be more friendly. The breakfast is average, but freshly made. Overall okay place to stay, good with group, I will not recommend for romantic stay.

Room Tip: Take ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sayantan_Ghati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If there is one reason you should stay at Cavala, it would be its proximity to baga beach. It is just 400 m from the beach.If you need more reasons, the next would be friendly staff there. Very helpful people and always ready to help. It was my second time at Cavala. The place is pretty nicely done . What I like about Cavala is that it has got a good restaurant, a bar and a swimming pool at one place and a beach very close to it.What else would one care for in Goa :)
The ambience of the place is nice. One thing they can do something about is the room quality. For 3k for an a/c room, it looks little expensive.
All in all, nice place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: Cavala also has another property call Banana Republic right opposite to it on Baga. This place was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mohit p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Smell of sand and breeze filled with oceanic scent makes the stay at Cavala memorable and enjoyable. Believe me there is no exaggeration in this.... If you go with the idea of having 4 or 5 star property , then you are at the wrong place.... It is a basic hotel with the class of colonial elegance keeping it's simplicity intact.

I have stayed here more than 7 times and still wants to stay more... My rating for this hotel would be

Comfort- 3.5 Stars
Cleanliness- 4 Stars
Food - 3 Stars
Location- 5 Stars
Service- 4 Stars

Room Tip: Any First floor rooms, field facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikhil_Kajrolkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

There was a time when this was an excellent place and then something went really wrong. Like any other review mentioned here, I agree that location is the only plus point this place has. Rooms are really sub standard and 3k or so for such a place is daylight robbery. I would recommend to stay at any place in Candolim rather than wasting your money at baga/calangute stretch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UPASNA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baga hotels
0.3 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.4 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#5 of 24 in Baga
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
0.6 mi away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Keys Ronil Resort
Keys Ronil Resort
#4 of 24 in Baga
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavala Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavala Seaside Resort

Property: Cavala Seaside Resort
Address: Saunta Vaddo, Baga 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Baga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavala Seaside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idiosyncratic, ivy-clad Cavala has been charming Baga-bound travellers for over 35 years, and continues to deliver clean, simple, nicely furnished rooms, ranged about a large complex with a central swimming pool. The bar-restaurant cooks up a storm, with live music on most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Cavala Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavala Hotel Baga
Cavala Resort Baga
Cavala Resort Goa
Cavala Seaside Resort Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing