We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, amazingly good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2009

CSM is an amazing place. Very close to the beach (< 2 minutes). But the better part is the service. Very clean rooms and good space.
Even the restaurant is great.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_am_Just_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
There are newer reviews for Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 736 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2009

Stayed in CSM in Dec on our second trip to Goa, the hotel was fantastic, no complaints whatsoever. Room (86) was clean and spacious, towels and bedding changed every day and nothing was too much trouble to the room boys. Anything we asked for;extra pillows, chair, was provided instantly.The only problem we had was the lock on our door jammed one night and we couldnt get into our room.When we notified reception, someone was there immediately, changed the lock and we were in our room in less than 10 mins.
All the staff from Reception, cleaning, restaurant and security were extremely friendly and helpful.
The food in the restaurant was good and varied.
The most appealing feature of CSM is its location, few mins walk from the beach and in the centre of everything. Taxis were always available at the entrance, though we always used Harry who parks at the top of CSM road. A very friendly and honest young man who took us wherever we wanted to go. Would recommend him to anyone.
All in all we had a fantastic trip to Goa and will return in the near future

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NoelnGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We have recently returned from a holiday in goa where we stayed in hotel colonia santa maria. The whole of our stay was first class. Everyone in the hotel was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard, and was very spacious.The reception staff, waiters, chefs,especially Jack, were very friendly and the food was excellent. Pete from Coventry made all the guests welcome and could not do enough for everyone.My two children aged 8 & 7 had a fantastic time and my son who is 7 loved his chats with Pete about the football. The colonia santa maria is in a really good location and the large sandy beach and numerous beach shacks are less than a 2 minete walk away. We have been to Goa numerous times before, but this was definately the cleanest, most looked after hotel we have stayed in well done to all that work there, especially Pete and Jack. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank erminWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Feel I need to set the record straight after the previous review.

Right what youneed to know and remember its Goa you are going to.

- Yes you do need to walk 100 metres with your luggage so what
- We were also in block 7 and yes we could hear a dog barking but didnt stop us sleeping
-Staff at the CSM were super
-We were given three vouchers(unexpected) to be used in the resturant so we ate free for three nights and the food was fab
-We used the big banana beach shack food and drinks were reasonably priced and food was good but be aware the beach boys will try and sell you a massage or t-shirts just be firm with them.
-Use Lawries Taxi service you will find him at the beach shack he will take you anywhere for half the price First Choice charge we went to the falls and the elephant trip Lawrie was suppa.....mobile number 9822154797.
-Make sure you go to East meets West- Fab food
Buy from the Tibetan market (top of road then go left) Really well priced for jewellery and you dont get the hard sell.
- Best beach shack at night was Marin go down Titos road and its first left.

Remember its Goa you are in and not Europe so standards will be different.....first time here and already booking to go back in March

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hugh4mcallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

Booked this holiday with Thompson. 3 star plus hotel it was not.
Stayed 3 weeks in December 2008. Booked to fly premium class, which was a joke. on boarding the plane the air hostes was so rude to the passengers that one guy gave her as much as he took though out the 10 hour flight. which was a lot belive me.......................On arrival at the CSM which it is known as in Goa we had to walk carrying are cases at least 100 yards up to the hotel thank god we never had wheel chairs or prams because we never would have made it to the csm, when you think you have just done a 10 hour flight from hell then one and half hour coach journey in 90 plus degrees heat that they would have some one to help you with your luggage up to your hotel.

We were put in block 7 on arrivel it looked ok, could do with a lick of paint but was bearable. untill bed time arrived that is......... at the back of the block dogs barked all night long at the front of the block the taxi driver's shouted all night long mobile phones were ringing so loud with we wish you a merry christmas ring tones that you thought you was in a christmas grotto.

The beds were like sleeping on very hard rocks and the pillows were much the same like sleeping with breeze blocks at times i thought i was on a building site with no work being done or no cerment being delivered............

On leaving the hotel the taxi drivers at the front of the hotel done nothing but hassel you shouting taxi taxi on saying no thank you they would all shout at once in indian at you then start laughing trying to intimerdate the guests in to getting a taxi.

I would then get a tuck tuck these guys are so much more politier.
We eat in the csm restaurant once when i say i mean looked really the food was not much the cups and glassers had lipstick marks all round them so we thought give that a miss and we eat in Lazydays across the road this was a very nive restaurant the food was lovley the waiters could not do enough for you they saved are holiday t be honest so thanks Lazydays.

You also got a mini bar in the room that you had to pay for daily and if you did not pay daily the reception was never of the phone to you asking for you to come to the reception now to pay mini bar bill 50 rupees about 30p when i asked could we just pay at the end of the holiday i was informed no............i then tryed not to drink out the mini bar if i could help it as it was to much hassel to pay daily. the room was cleaned every day. the garden was watered every day with dairty water so you had no chance of sitting out because the smell was that bad.

all the markets had been cancelled due to the mumbi attack as Goa is on red alert the beach shacks were all closed by 9 oclock. the hotel made no attempt to conpensate the guests in any way i.e putting entertanment on. so all in all a good holiday had by all who stayed in the csm i'm going back to Aproura next year

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alfieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

we are a group of 4 girls who travelled to csm in december 2008, we absolutely loved this hotel and couldnt fault it...
the location is second to none, most definately the closest hotel to the beach in baga and close enough to the resort centre (titos road)....
the rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday without fail, towels and bedding were whiter than white none of this grey that other people have been complaining about...fresh towels everyday. beds were really comfy, and air con was a god send and also free!
staff were so friendly and couldnt do enough for you peter the manager top guy...and the food was great really cheap and freshly cooked!
This was our first time in goa and we will definately be back...
really recommend fiesta restaurant on titos road, food was amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spicegirls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Had a fantastic stay at the CSM Baga Beach. Weather was perfect and will definitely be back to this friendly area again.
Only downside was flight out, the plane was very cramped and the staff couldn't speak english. We were delayed at Gatwick by hour and a half & once we landed in Goa, sat on the runway for about three quarters of an hour, with no-one telling us what was going on. We both suffered swollen ankles which had never happened before!
However, airport experience was not bad at all - better than we had expected having read other reviews, and transfer to hotel was fine.
Hotel itself was ok, had a few meals in the restaurant and staff were very friendly. Bar closed a bit early however. Rooms were basic but comfortable and cleaners made our day by making designs out of the towels - a different one for every day we were there from elephants to cows to crocodiles etc. We made them a money tree on our day of leaving which they liked!
We used Cookies beach shack, and were looked after exceptionally well by Stewart, Sunny, Thaw and the rest. Food was good but company was outstanding. We were treated like royalty. Very very cheap! We left feeling we were leaving real friends behind.
Did a couple of trips by taxi (we used Sebastian) and he was excellent, making sure we didn't miss anything. We went to a wildlife park and he met us half way through to make sure we had seen everything and knew where to go, and we also did a crocodile boat trip which he joined us on making sure we were getting photos etc.
Delayed by 12 hours coming home, but hey, it was an extra day in the sun and we were allowed to keep our rooms until it was time for the coach to pick us up, Flight back was excellent, different plane, and seemed to take half the time. Definitely will come again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PugseyAberporth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baga
0.8 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 116 in Calangute
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
3.2 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)

Address: Baga 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baga
#2 Spa Hotel in Baga
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Baga
Price Range: $73 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Beach Resort, also known as CSM Hotel or CSM Beach resort, is the premier Four Star resort on Baga beach of Calangute. The silver sand Baga beach is rightly touching the property. You do not have to go onto the main beach itself for the sun deck of the hotel is the rising green dune from where you get magnificent view of the Arabian sea and sun bathe without being hassled by the vendors on the beach. Our sea facing rooms and suites give you magnificent views from your balcony. The resort spread over four acres of spacious gardens is built in Portuguese style villas, each having six suites/rooms. Main beach is just couple of minutes walk even from the farthest room from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Santa Maria Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Goa
Colonia Santa Maria Baga Beach
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing